WIP versions

General information and assistance with dgVoodoo.

Re: WIP versions

Postby Dege » 2019-2-08 @ 18:29

Daninthemix wrote:Is there anyway to get borderless windowed fullscreen? I can use the borderless, alwaysontop flags to get a 4:3 window on top in the center of the screen, but would be great if dgvoodoo could fill in the 16:9 screen space with a black border.

This is for Nuclear Strike, and I suppose any 4:3 game. In fullscreen it has a nasty habit of locking up the desktop, I lose all icons and mouse control, and have to ctrl+alt+del log out and back in to regain control. Windowed is just plain safer, and a window that fills the screen aka true borderless windowed fullscreen would be great for 4:3 games.

This feature is planned. But it raises some questions so it needs some design.
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1482
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

Re: WIP versions

Postby Dege » 2019-2-08 @ 18:31

ZellSF wrote:Dragon Age: Origins goes ingame know, pretty sure you knew that. Resolution forcing gives mouse issues. Also looks really ugly, but that's just because no shader model 3.0.
DAOrigins 2019-01-15 20-17-26-73.jpg


I don't understand how it works for you. This game appears in pinkish colors for me through dgVoodoo. :D
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1482
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

Re: WIP versions

Postby djc5166 » 2019-2-08 @ 18:47

Dege wrote:Sorry for being inactive here, I think I gave myself up to coding.

I have a new WIP:

=========================
WIP57:
=========================

- Support for D3D9 Shader Model 3
* ps_3_0 full feature set
* vs_3_0 full feature set - TEXLDL (texture sampling) is not yet implemented for sw execution of the shader
- Stream source step rate + instanced drawing is implemented
- Format A2R10G10B10 (HDR) is now supported for display modes and textures/surfaces (D3D9, ATI tech demos)
- Support for non-standard DF16/DF24 depth buffers - but they don't yet work properly :DD (D3D9, ATI tech demos)
- Wrapper version is raised to 2.6
- New option 'DirectXExt\AdapterIDType' for cosily defining an nVidia, AMD or Intel driver-type information
to the applications (unfortunately some games rely on them)
- New option 'GeneralExt\DesktopBitDepth' to override the real bit depth reported by dgVoodoo
- Various shader/sw vertex processing/other bugs I encountered are fixed
- Some internal things are also changed so I may also screwed up something


http://dege.fw.hu/temp/dgVoodooWIP57.zip
http://dege.fw.hu/temp/dgVoodooWIP57_dbg.zip

(I may protect them by a password later, if *** Google comes with their AV crap squawk again)

I must emphasize that I must screw something up because I did more internal changes in the wrapper than the usual.
Also, still there are known issues, so I wouldn't say this release is perfect.
(this time I only did a quick test on some games... now I rather focused on scene/tech demos)

Also, shader input/output signatures are changed… I guess it will probably be a problem for VorPX wrapping. :(


File not found.
djc5166
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2018-5-15 @ 15:11

Re: WIP versions

Postby Dege » 2019-2-08 @ 19:29

Sorry, my host provider moved the site content onto a new server.
Reuplodaded, now it's available.
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1482
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

Re: WIP versions

Postby lowenz » 2019-2-08 @ 19:32

SM3? Man, you're a gift to mankind! :D
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: WIP versions

Postby lowenz » 2019-2-08 @ 20:04

The beauty of UT3 finally MSAAliased (4x) :D without driver hacks.
And all the elements seem rendering fine this time! (no more missing/altered textures/shaders)

Imagephoto hosting
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: WIP versions

Postby lowenz » 2019-2-08 @ 20:22

Did you change something about the resolution handling?
'cause (modded to load B3D9.dll) Aquamark 3 seems to have some problems about resolution switching (starting from 1600x900):

Image
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: WIP versions

Postby Dege » 2019-2-08 @ 20:39

Yes, some minor changes were made because of A2R10G10B10.
But it's weird, Aquamark 3 works for me, is able to change resolutions.
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1482
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

Re: WIP versions

Postby Expack3 » 2019-2-08 @ 20:43

Downwell (Twitch Prime) - Does not launch, no debug info generated by either dgVoodoo2 debug or by game.

RimWorld (x64, Steam) - Is not loaded.

Legend of Grimrock 1 (GOG) - Shadowing glictches out as more and more game time elapses. (see attachment)

Mount & Blade (GOG, DX9) - Character transparancies are messed-up in menus; otherwise runs flawlessly

Oxenfree (x64?, GOG) - Is not loaded.
Attachments
Grimrock_WIP56_debug.7z
(2.35 MiB) Downloaded 8 times
Expack3
Member
 
Posts: 195
Joined: 2015-5-24 @ 23:18

Re: WIP versions

Postby Expack3 » 2019-2-08 @ 22:11

Shadowrun Returns: Dragonfall - Director's Cut (Steam)
Works flawlessly without AA enabled in-game; otherwise, freezes when attempting to load a scene (see attachment) with 2 GB RAM for the virtual 3D card.

EDIT: Forcing AA via dgVoodoo2 config file seems to do nothing.
Attachments
Dragonfall_WIP56_AAon.txt
(757.14 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
Last edited by Expack3 on 2019-2-08 @ 22:20, edited 1 time in total.
Expack3
Member
 
Posts: 195
Joined: 2015-5-24 @ 23:18

Re: WIP versions

Postby ZellSF » 2019-2-08 @ 22:13

Call of Cthulhu: Dark Corners of the Earth
Raiden III
Still broken.

Bionic Commando: Rearmed
Works, resolution forcing doesn't work (too many glitches).
bcr 2019-02-08 22-09-37-60.jpg
Crysis
Works at medium detail, High detail just gives a flickering screen. Resolution forcing doesn't work but would be pointless anyway. Some obvious glitches in the scenery here.
Crysis 2019-02-08 21-43-05-10.jpg
Deus Ex: Human Revolution: Director's Cut
Works, some graphical effects seems to be missing (no bloom). Resolution forcing seems to work too. This might seem like something you would actually want to play, but performance was unplayable.
DXHRDC 2019-02-08 21-23-11-90.jpg
Ikaruga
Works, didn't try resolution forcing as it would be pointless. Like Supreme Commander it has problems with the difference between 59hz and 60hz. Native D3D9 does not have this problem.
game 2019-02-08 22-23-35-39.jpg
Supreme Commander
Works, resolution forcing gives mouse issues. Both resolution forcing and antialiasing creates some minor UI issues. Performance wasn't great.
SupremeCommander 2019-02-08 22-50-41-75.jpg
Dege wrote:
ZellSF wrote:Dragon Age: Origins goes ingame know, pretty sure you knew that. Resolution forcing gives mouse issues. Also looks really ugly, but that's just because no shader model 3.0.

I don't understand how it works for you. This game appears in pinkish colors for me through dgVoodoo. :D

That's the game's framebuffer effects, if you disable those it looks like my screenshot. Though framebuffer effects are important for the game to look decent.
ZellSF
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1473
Joined: 2006-1-01 @ 18:19

Re: WIP versions

Postby lowenz » 2019-2-08 @ 22:38

Dege wrote:Yes, some minor changes were made because of A2R10G10B10.
But it's weird, Aquamark 3 works for me, is able to change resolutions.

Widescreen ones too? Try with some custom resolutions in the resolution list maybe (declared in NVCP or Adrenaline panel) !
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: WIP versions

Postby lowenz » 2019-2-08 @ 22:42

ZellSF wrote:Deus Ex: Human Revolution: Director's Cut
Works, some graphical effects seems to be missing (no bloom). Resolution forcing seems to work too. This might seem like something you would actually want to play, but performance was unplayable.

No bloom would be a NICE feature :D considering how bad the bloom implementation is in DXHRDC (it uses a low resolution kernel).
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: WIP versions

Postby sambow23 » 2019-2-09 @ 00:24

Dege wrote:Sorry for being inactive here, I think I gave myself up to coding.

I have a new WIP:

=========================
WIP57:
=========================

- Support for D3D9 Shader Model 3
* ps_3_0 full feature set
* vs_3_0 full feature set - TEXLDL (texture sampling) is not yet implemented for sw execution of the shader
- Stream source step rate + instanced drawing is implemented
- Format A2R10G10B10 (HDR) is now supported for display modes and textures/surfaces (D3D9, ATI tech demos)
- Support for non-standard DF16/DF24 depth buffers - but they don't yet work properly :DD (D3D9, ATI tech demos)
- Wrapper version is raised to 2.6
- New option 'DirectXExt\AdapterIDType' for cosily defining an nVidia, AMD or Intel driver-type information
to the applications (unfortunately some games rely on them)
- New option 'GeneralExt\DesktopBitDepth' to override the real bit depth reported by dgVoodoo
- Various shader/sw vertex processing/other bugs I encountered are fixed
- Some internal things are also changed so I may also have screwed up something


http://dege.fw.hu/temp/dgVoodooWIP57.zip
http://dege.fw.hu/temp/dgVoodooWIP57_dbg.zip

(I may protect them by a password later, if *** Google comes with their AV crap squawk again)

I must emphasize that I may have screw something up because I did more internal changes in the wrapper than the usual.
Also, still there are known issues, so I wouldn't say this release is perfect.
(this time I only did a quick test on some games... now I rather focused on scene/tech demos)

Also, shader input/output signatures are changed… I guess it will probably be a problem for VorPX wrapping. :(


Could you provide x64 DLLs?
sambow23
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2019-2-09 @ 00:23

Re: WIP versions

Postby teleguy » 2019-2-09 @ 10:49

Drakensang now crashes at launch. I tried both lowest and highest settings.

Drakensang The River of Time works with highest settings (SM 3.0) apart from the intro.

Dark Messiah of Might and Magic seems to work flawlessly, apart from intro and mouse cursor not displaying.

Darkstar One working fine with highest setting. On AMD there's the usual menu corruption.

Dead Space shows an error that the videocard doesn't meet requirements.
teleguy
Member
 
Posts: 434
Joined: 2004-2-28 @ 18:54

Re: WIP versions

Postby ZellSF » 2019-2-09 @ 12:42

DuckTales Remastered
Strania - The Stella Machine
Both don't render anything (just black screen). Pretty new games so might both need some feature dgVoodoo doesn't support.

Dragon Age: Origins
Medium quality lightning is obviously wrong.
DAOrigins 2019-02-08 22-12-33-68.jpg
Pac-Man Museum - Pac-Man Championship Edition
Maze is rendered wrong.
PACMuseum 2019-02-09 12-55-42-91.jpg
PPSSPP
Obviously, don't use dgVoodoo2 for this. I got it working for Tom Clancy's EndWar, but Valkyria Chronicles 2 just gave a black screen.
PPSSPPWindows 2019-02-09 13-35-39-66.jpg
Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing
Works, but antialiasing gives lightning issues and performance is terrible.
Sonic & SEGA All-Stars Racing 2019-02-09 12-54-25-57.jpg
Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing Transformed
2D graphics flicker heavily. No 3D graphics are rendered. More importantly by default it crashes silently because it thinks my monitor doesn't support 1280x720@60 unless I specifically add it to ExtraEnumeratedResolutions.

Valiant Hearts
Works, but resolution changing doesn't (common issue with this game). Resolution forcing works, but gives the same minor issue that running the game natively at high resolution does.
Valiant Hearts 2019-02-09 13-07-20-66.jpg
ZellSF
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1473
Joined: 2006-1-01 @ 18:19

Re: WIP versions

Postby RJ8 » 2019-2-09 @ 17:05

@Dege

Thanks for the WIP.
Indeed we had propbems earlier with the shader signatures, but as long any older wrapper version can be downloaded
and we explicitely mention the wrapper version thats been used for the game everything should work fine.
May be the default VorpX profile cant be used anymore but ill check that and report back.

RJ
RJ8
Member
 
Posts: 136
Joined: 2016-4-14 @ 15:56
Location: Germany

Re: WIP versions

Postby Dege » 2019-2-09 @ 17:40

lowenz wrote:Widescreen ones too? Try with some custom resolutions in the resolution list maybe (declared in NVCP or Adrenaline panel) !

Yes, I tried widescreen ones. But not custom ones, I'll give them a go.
BTW, what are the exact steps to get Aqua3 to crash? Is it enough to start it and just change resolution in Options (one or more times)?

sambow23 wrote:Could you provide x64 DLLs?

You mean x64 version of D3D9? Or maybe all of the DX dlls for purposes like redirecting DX from a virtual machine to their host x64 counterparts?
(Like Kjliew does it with Glide in QEmu?)

RJ8 wrote:@Dege

Thanks for the WIP.
Indeed we had propbems earlier with the shader signatures, but as long any older wrapper version can be downloaded
and we explicitely mention the wrapper version thats been used for the game everything should work fine.
May be the default VorpX profile cant be used anymore but ill check that and report back.

RJ

When I was working on D3D11 shaders, I was also thinking on whether dgVoodoo could help third party stuffs somehow in shader identification and/or substituting them.
Could I attach any metadata to D3D11 shaders (in form of private resource data) that would be useful?
Like information to trace back a D3D8/9 (application) shader from a D3D11 one or something like that?

I think this question has importance because I was also thinking on introducing a new (optional) D3D11 feature level (11.0) to be able to compile for sm 5.0.
dgVoodoo now compiles all its stuff to sm 4.0 but there are some 5.0-only instructions/features that would be useful for more optimal code.

But I guess it would mean a shader-hell for VorPX so I haven't yet done that.
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1482
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

Re: WIP versions

Postby Expack3 » 2019-2-09 @ 17:44

Dege wrote:
sambow23 wrote:Could you provide x64 DLLs?

You mean x64 version of D3D9? Or maybe all of the DX dlls for purposes like redirecting DX from a virtual machine to their host x64 counterparts?
(Like Kjliew does it with Glide in QEmu?)

He means providing dgVoodoo 2 D3D9 DLLs compatible with 64-bit games (64-bit exclusive or otherwise), such as Rimworld or Oxenfree.
Expack3
Member
 
Posts: 195
Joined: 2015-5-24 @ 23:18

Re: WIP versions

Postby RJ8 » 2019-2-09 @ 17:50

@Dege

Quickly checked a few games and it seems therent working anymore.

Ill write a PN to you because this may become a bit difficult to discuss here.

RJ
RJ8
Member
 
Posts: 136
Joined: 2016-4-14 @ 15:56
Location: Germany

PreviousNext

Return to dgVoodoo General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests