WIP versions

General information and assistance with dgVoodoo.

Re: WIP versions

Postby lowenz » 2019-5-10 @ 17:35

Well, a DX10/10.1/11 passthrough in dgVoodoo2 would be helpful as hell for MSAA lovers :D

Same author of D9VK: https://github.com/Joshua-Ashton/dxup
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1150
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: WIP versions

Postby Wastelander121 » 2019-5-10 @ 19:17

Dege wrote: Fixed. It seems to be a cool game btw. This game is one of ones driving D3D9 API in a way that doesn't map well to D3D11.

That is awesome news, thank you so much. Now we just need Special K to fix the crashing/low fps bug and we'll be able to revitalise its modding scene! Brilliant work! :)
Wastelander121
Newbie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2019-3-17 @ 10:53

Re: WIP versions

Postby ZellSF » 2019-5-10 @ 22:42

Astebreed Definitive Edition freezes, last thing in log:
[248] [dgVoodoo] INFO: Direct3DDevice9 (09CFF238)::CreateTexture: Direct3DTexture9 (1388D030, IDirect3DTexture9 = 1388D088) is created.
[248] [dgVoodoo] ERROR: Direct3DDevice9 (09CFF238)::CreateTexture: Creating texture has failed.
Last thing in game log:
[ƒGƒ‰- #012](22:38:36) ƒeƒNƒXƒ`ƒƒ¶¬Ž¸”s[models/Object/Missile_S/Missile_S_Normal.dds]

êŠ:
..\src\IO\File\Resource\TGLTextureResource.cpp(85)
bool __thiscall TGL::TextureResource::Create(const class TGL::FileContents *)

Assert!!(0 - ƒeƒNƒXƒ`ƒƒ¶¬Ž¸”s[models/Object/Missile_S/Missile_S_Normal.dds])

Pathologic Classic HD works. Resolution forcing is dubious (black lines in skybox edges).
ZellSF
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1467
Joined: 2006-1-01 @ 18:19

Re: WIP versions

Postby Dege » 2019-5-11 @ 06:55

lowenz wrote:Same author of D9VK: https://github.com/Joshua-Ashton/dxup

Yes, I know. I had some chatting with him (and Doitsujin, DXVK author + others) on Discord back in some months ago.

lowenz wrote:Well, a DX10/10.1/11 passthrough in dgVoodoo2 would be helpful as hell for MSAA lovers :D

But why? I'm not too familiar with DX11 games, but I guess MSAA is not an option in most of them because it's a phasing out technology and postprocess AA methods were/are preferred instead?

Wastelander121 wrote:That is awesome news, thank you so much. Now we just need Special K to fix the crashing/low fps bug and we'll be able to revitalise its modding scene! Brilliant work! :)

I didn't yet experienced low fps. One crash though, during one of the cutscene movies, I don't know what caused it.
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1475
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

Re: WIP versions

Postby lowenz » 2019-5-11 @ 07:38

Dege wrote:But why? I'm not too familiar with DX11 games, but I guess MSAA is not an option in most of them because it's a phasing out technology and postprocess AA methods were/are preferred instead?

MSAA is always preferred by the gamers :D and it was a limitation back in the first days of deferred shading/rendering due to its massive overhead in that contest.
Postprocessing AA methods fail a lot the quality/fidelity yield in some areas (wire-like objects, etc.)
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1150
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: WIP versions

Postby willow » 2019-5-11 @ 08:24

lowenz wrote:
Dege wrote:But why? I'm not too familiar with DX11 games, but I guess MSAA is not an option in most of them because it's a phasing out technology and postprocess AA methods were/are preferred instead?

MSAA is always preferred by the gamers :D and it was a limitation back in the first days of deferred shading/rendering due to its massive overhead in that contest.
Postprocessing AA methods fail a lot the quality/fidelity yield in some areas (wire-like objects, etc.)

MSAA doesn't work even with some new directx 11 game.
The AA that works with all dx11 game is SSAA and not MSAA.
willow
Member
 
Posts: 118
Joined: 2012-1-07 @ 22:37

Re: WIP versions

Postby RoyBatty » 2019-5-11 @ 15:04

DX11 supports MSAA now with deferred rendering, and a few other newer techniques that aren't used yet. SMAA and FXAA are just inferior and I too would like MSAA, TAA/TSAA looks great for still images but looks like vaseline smeared across the monitor on moving ones.
User avatar
RoyBatty
Oldbie
 
Posts: 525
Joined: 2009-8-22 @ 11:37

Re: WIP versions

Postby lowenz » 2019-5-11 @ 16:08

RoyBatty wrote:DX11 supports MSAA now with deferred rendering, and a few other newer techniques that aren't used yet. SMAA and FXAA are just inferior and I too would like MSAA, TAA/TSAA looks great for still images but looks like vaseline smeared across the monitor on moving ones.

^
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1150
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: WIP versions

Postby Wastelander121 » 2019-5-12 @ 00:59

Dege wrote:
Wastelander121 wrote:That is awesome news, thank you so much. Now we just need Special K to fix the crashing/low fps bug and we'll be able to revitalise its modding scene! Brilliant work! :)

I didn't yet experienced low fps. One crash though, during one of the cutscene movies, I don't know what caused it.


Ah, sorry. It's an issue with Special K, it's not optimised for Unreal 3 D3D9 games, gives a memory error and crashes when injecting into just d3d11 (with dgvoodoo) and it has low fps if it injects into D3D9 as well as D3D11. It's not a problem with dgvoodoo as far as I can tell, it's just the optimisation needs work on the Special K side of things.
Wastelander121
Newbie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2019-3-17 @ 10:53

Re: WIP versions

Postby willow » 2019-5-12 @ 09:38

lowenz wrote:
RoyBatty wrote:DX11 supports MSAA now with deferred rendering, and a few other newer techniques that aren't used yet. SMAA and FXAA are just inferior and I too would like MSAA, TAA/TSAA looks great for still images but looks like vaseline smeared across the monitor on moving ones.

^

Support doesn't means that it works. All dx11 games doesn't offer msaa spport and force msaa in nvidia driver doesn't work with some dx11 games.
Force msaa with dgvoodoo 2 in dx11 game could mean possible bugs.
willow
Member
 
Posts: 118
Joined: 2012-1-07 @ 22:37

Re: WIP versions

Postby Melinda » 2019-5-12 @ 11:52

WSH303 wrote:Vindictus, hl2 based dx9 game seems to work:

https://imgur.com/NzTTLGG

Will check later if access to depth buffer is there too.

edit.

But there is an issue, mouse cursor is invisible.


How did you get it to work with Vindictus?
Melinda
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2019-5-12 @ 11:50

Re: WIP versions

Postby lowenz » 2019-5-12 @ 12:16

About ReShade's DB access.....a lot of times dgVoodoo2 D3D11-wrapping process completely block/destroy it in DX9 games.
No cure for that, right?
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1150
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: WIP versions

Postby lowenz » 2019-5-12 @ 12:22

Dege wrote:Unfortunately I had to make a little patching for SC3 to use it with dgVoodoo (crashing when setting display mode). Needed things cannot be implemented on the wrapper side.
http://dege.fw.hu/temp/SplinterCell3_1.05_dgVoodoo_patch.zip

No new version needed for this, right?

Ah, about SCCT patching.....can you enable higher resolutions for the soft shadows?
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1150
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: WIP versions

Postby WSH303 » 2019-5-12 @ 13:21

Melinda wrote:
How did you get it to work with Vindictus?


It just works for me. Well, there is this bug with invisible mouse cursor, sky in game is 100% white, and smudges in strange way, and also game crashes often during loading maps, but it more or less works. Reshade even can access depth buffer, but the output is zoomed in, so not really useful yet.
WSH303
Newbie
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 2016-5-13 @ 13:41

Re: WIP versions

Postby Melinda » 2019-5-12 @ 14:39

WSH303 wrote:
Melinda wrote:
How did you get it to work with Vindictus?


It just works for me. Well, there is this bug with invisible mouse cursor, sky in game is 100% white, and smudges in strange way, and also game crashes often during loading maps, but it more or less works. Reshade even can access depth buffer, but the output is zoomed in, so not really useful yet.


I couldn't even get dgVoodoo to load. Is it installed the usual way where you would just paste it in the main directory? Were there any special settings? I wanted to test it out to see if I would get different results. The depth buffer seems interesting since MXAO would work with it. Did you have to set it to DX8 ingame?
Melinda
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2019-5-12 @ 11:50

Re: WIP versions

Postby WSH303 » 2019-5-12 @ 14:52

I just copied D3D9.dll to 'vindictus\appdata\en-US' and added the game to DGVoodoo control panel. No other settings changed, dx9 enabled in game options.
WSH303
Newbie
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 2016-5-13 @ 13:41

Re: WIP versions

Postby Melinda » 2019-5-12 @ 14:56

Oh I see... I don't think I have the right dgVoodoo then. I only have D3D8. I can't find the one with D3D9. Can you post the link to the version you used?
Edit: Nvm, I got it to work. There's invisible textures as well as invisible cursor. It's really bad atm.
https://imgur.com/a/IXlEEpL
Melinda
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2019-5-12 @ 11:50

Re: WIP versions

Postby RoyBatty » 2019-5-12 @ 18:02

willow wrote:Support doesn't means that it works. All dx11 games doesn't offer msaa spport and force msaa in nvidia driver doesn't work with some dx11 games.
Force msaa with dgvoodoo 2 in dx11 game could mean possible bugs.


It does work, there are many demonstration videos of the various AA techniques.
User avatar
RoyBatty
Oldbie
 
Posts: 525
Joined: 2009-8-22 @ 11:37

Re: WIP versions

Postby lowenz » 2019-5-12 @ 19:51

Interesting and subtle errors (?) of dx9 implementation :D

Chaos Theory + SM3 *WITHOUT SOFT SHADOWS* (with soft shadows ON there's no problem!)

MS d3d9 + Nvidia drivers (correct rendering):
Image

dgVoodoo2 d3d9 + Nvidia drivers - NO forced MSAA (wrong rendering and a strange "dark silhouette" around the meshes)
Image

dgVoodoo2 d3d9 + Nvidia drivers - 4x forced MSAA (total bloom wreckage! :D )
Image
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1150
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: WIP versions

Postby Melinda » 2019-5-13 @ 00:35

WSH303 wrote:
Melinda wrote:
How did you get it to work with Vindictus?


It just works for me. Well, there is this bug with invisible mouse cursor, sky in game is 100% white, and smudges in strange way, and also game crashes often during loading maps, but it more or less works. Reshade even can access depth buffer, but the output is zoomed in, so not really useful yet.


When I swapped to Direct3D MS WARP, it worked perfectly fine, but I have 1 FPS sadly.
Melinda
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2019-5-12 @ 11:50

PreviousNext

Return to dgVoodoo General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests