Sacred Gold - sprite boxes

General information and assistance with dgVoodoo.

Sacred Gold - sprite boxes

Postby Psojed » 2017-8-16 @ 23:03

Hello,

I've been using dgVoodoo to resize and improve the graphics of Sacred. I'm very pleased with the results, but I have a question: some parts of the interface and game world start appearing as these "boxes". I assume those are the sprites that are used to create the background, but these boxes only become visible when using forced Antialiasing. I tried to fiddle with different settings, but I was unable to get rid of them except by disabling MSAA. Is there any way to keep MSAA and not the boxing effect?

Screenshot: https://imgur.com/a/V0aIT

The boxing effect is mostly visible on the rock in the upper part of the screen, but when looking carefully, you can see it on the roof of the house and other places.
Psojed
Newbie
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2012-10-15 @ 09:30

Re: Sacred Gold - sprite boxes

Postby ZellSF » 2017-8-17 @ 08:35

Have you considered using post-process antialiasing?
ZellSF
Oldbie
 
Posts: 908
Joined: 2006-1-01 @ 18:19

Re: Sacred Gold - sprite boxes

Postby ZellSF » 2017-8-18 @ 16:35

I've tried this. First if you want MSAA to work you need to stick to integer scales of the game's resolution. 1024x768,2048x1536,3072x2304, etc... Then it will work very nicely (for the most part, it will temporarily glitch out during zoom animation):
Sacred_2017_08_18_18_14_10_162.jpg
If you use the non-integer scale in your screenshot, which will also badly affect scrolling (if the entire background shimmering when you move, this is why), then your best choice is what I mentioned, post-processing AA. Here's ReShade's SMAA shader:
Sacred_2017_08_18_18_21_27_811.jpg
Here's the same scene with no antialiasing:
Sacred_2017_08_18_18_25_10_630.jpg
ZellSF
Oldbie
 
Posts: 908
Joined: 2006-1-01 @ 18:19

Re: Sacred Gold - sprite boxes

Postby Psojed » 2017-8-18 @ 19:41

Thanks for looking into this, however using integer scale resolution (2048x1536) didn't change anything for me.

boxing.jpg


Could it be caused by the Windowed mode? Your screenshot seems to be fullscreen, however I'm trying to work with a window. I leave the game's config in Fullscreen mode, and I set dgVoodoo to force windowed.
Psojed
Newbie
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2012-10-15 @ 09:30

Re: Sacred Gold - sprite boxes

Postby ZellSF » 2017-8-18 @ 20:15

Make sure you're not forcing any sort of texture filtering.
ZellSF
Oldbie
 
Posts: 908
Joined: 2006-1-01 @ 18:19

Re: Sacred Gold - sprite boxes

Postby lowenz » 2017-8-23 @ 09:14

It's the resolution forcing.
DO NOT use it with 2D elements-heavy game like Sacred :P
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 794
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: Sacred Gold - sprite boxes

Postby ZellSF » 2017-8-23 @ 09:21

lowenz wrote:It's the resolution forcing.
DO NOT use it with 2D elements-heavy game like Sacred :P

Uh? It works pretty well in this case and it makes for a noticeable quality increase for 3D models.
ZellSF
Oldbie
 
Posts: 908
Joined: 2006-1-01 @ 18:19

Re: Sacred Gold - sprite boxes

Postby lowenz » 2017-8-23 @ 11:57

Pretty well ending up with a "fence" of squares/tiles.
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 794
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: Sacred Gold - sprite boxes

Postby ZellSF » 2017-8-24 @ 18:02

lowenz wrote:Pretty well ending up with a "fence" of squares/tiles.

As mentioned, only in non-integer ratio scales and then only if you force antialiasing. See the screenshots I posted.
ZellSF
Oldbie
 
Posts: 908
Joined: 2006-1-01 @ 18:19

Re: Sacred Gold - sprite boxes

Postby lowenz » 2017-8-25 @ 05:57

The "and" is not true.
Sacred Gold @1440x1080 (from native 1024x768), with NO MSAA, start screen:

Image
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 794
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: Sacred Gold - sprite boxes

Postby ZellSF » 2017-8-29 @ 09:18

That's only the title screen and the character selection screen though.
ZellSF
Oldbie
 
Posts: 908
Joined: 2006-1-01 @ 18:19


Return to dgVoodoo General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest