SCP - Containment Breach "buffer does not exist" error

General information and assistance with dgVoodoo.

SCP - Containment Breach "buffer does not exist" error

Postby Expack3 » 2018-1-01 @ 23:25

Using dgVoodoo WIP41 and my laptop's integrated Intel HD Graphics 620, I attempted to play SCP - Containment Breach, which uses the pre-DX8 (e.g. fixed function) Blitz3D game engine. Whenever I try to start a new game, or otherwise enter a scene with 3D geometry, I get an error log like the follow:
Code: Select all
An error occured in SCP - Containment Breach!
Version: 1.3.9
Save compatible version: 1.3.9
Date and time: 01 Jan 2018 at 17:46:32
Total video memory (MB): 1024
Available video memory (MB): 902
Global memory status: 1023 MB/1023 MB (1048575 KB/1048575 KB)
Triangles rendered: 0
Active textures: 333

Error(s):
Uncaught (FillRoom) ***************
SetBuffer: Buffer does not exist
LoadRMesh ***************
SetBuffer: Buffer does not exist
SetBuffer: Buffer does not exist
Expack3
Member
 
Posts: 158
Joined: 2015-5-24 @ 23:18

Re: SCP - Containment Breach "buffer does not exist" error

Postby Dege » 2018-1-03 @ 19:58

This game works for me with WIP41 (didn't try with another version).

Could you plz. attach a debug log of dgVoodoo?
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1245
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

Re: SCP - Containment Breach "buffer does not exist" error

Postby Expack3 » 2018-1-03 @ 20:25

See attachment for debug log.

FYI, I had to use DebugView++ as regular DebugView wasn't receiving any debug events on Windows 10 Fall Creators Update (v1709)
Attachments
SCP_dgVoodooErrorLog.txt
Debug error log
(18.64 KiB) Downloaded 6 times
Expack3
Member
 
Posts: 158
Joined: 2015-5-24 @ 23:18

Re: SCP - Containment Breach "buffer does not exist" error

Postby Expack3 » 2018-1-03 @ 20:44

Attached is a better representation of the problem. The error I initially posted was when I was telling the game to use my Intel GPU, which dgVoodoo2 then 'preempted' (not the right word, but since the dgVoodoo2 watermark was being displayed, my Intel GPU wasn't being directly used).

Now, when running the game with dgVoodoo2 as the actual GPU, the game crashes with a "memory access violation" error, but generates no error log.
Attachments
SCP_dgVoodooErrorLog2.txt
Error log with dgVoodoo device actually selected
(505.57 KiB) Downloaded 4 times
Expack3
Member
 
Posts: 158
Joined: 2015-5-24 @ 23:18

Re: SCP - Containment Breach "buffer does not exist" error

Postby Dege » 2018-2-28 @ 20:55

Expack, could you attach a full log with the latest WIP for this game plz?
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1245
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

Re: SCP - Containment Breach "buffer does not exist" error

Postby Expack3 » 2018-3-01 @ 14:48

See attached. While the game no longer suffers from the original error, it's quite slow (even though it's 60+ FPS on my integrated GPU).
Attachments
dgv_debug_312018.txt
(2.38 MiB) Downloaded 4 times
Expack3
Member
 
Posts: 158
Joined: 2015-5-24 @ 23:18


Return to dgVoodoo General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: FulValBot and 3 guests