DgVoodoo 1 Discussion Thread

General information and assistance with dgVoodoo.

Re: A glide wrapper for DOS programs - part deux (dgVoodoo)

Postby DosFreak » 2007-11-04 @ 02:08

Windows Vista will not allow DOS programs which require graphics modes fullscreen access because of the new video driver model. (WDDM) You have to install the XP video drivers in Windows Vista for fullscreen.

I believe you can use VDOS32 to play TR1 in Windows Vista but you may have to pay.

Also AFAIK VdmSound doesn't work in Windows Vista so you'll have to use Vista's POS SB emulation.

Again VDOS32 fixes these problems or you can play TR1 in DosBox.
Game Acronym List
DosBox CVS Builds
DosBox Feature Request Thread
DosBox FAQ
PC Game Compatibility List
"People like coldplay and voted for the nazis, you can't trust people."
User avatar
DosFreak
l33t++
 
Posts: 9386
Joined: 2002-6-30 @ 16:35
Location: Your Head

Re: A glide wrapper for DOS programs - part deux (dgVoodoo)

Postby gidierre » 2007-11-04 @ 16:15

DosFreak wrote:Also AFAIK VdmSound doesn't work in Windows Vista


or does it
Attachments
VDDLoaded.jpg
VDDLoaded.jpg (38.97 KiB) Viewed 7614 times
User avatar
gidierre
Member
 
Posts: 383
Joined: 2002-10-10 @ 00:15

Re: A glide wrapper for DOS programs - part deux (dgVoodoo)

Postby wd » 2007-11-04 @ 18:06

DosFreak didn't say "it doesn't load".
wd
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10818
Joined: 2003-12-03 @ 21:23

Re: A glide wrapper for DOS programs - part deux (dgVoodoo)

Postby gidierre » 2007-11-04 @ 18:18

Well, I say it works.
It gives me sound effects via sb emulation (footsteps, shots etc.) running Tomb raider 1 under Vista.
User avatar
gidierre
Member
 
Posts: 383
Joined: 2002-10-10 @ 00:15

Re: A glide wrapper for DOS programs - part deux (dgVoodoo)

Postby wd » 2007-11-04 @ 18:33

can't judge that from the screenshot posted, and according to reports
it depends on both the pc configuration as well as drivers
wd
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10818
Joined: 2003-12-03 @ 21:23

Re: A glide wrapper for DOS programs - part deux (dgVoodoo)

Postby collector » 2007-11-04 @ 21:02

gidierre wrote:Well, I say it works.
It gives me sound effects via sb emulation (footsteps, shots etc.) running Tomb raider 1 under Vista.

As DosFreak said:
DosFreak wrote:Also AFAIK VdmSound doesn't work in Windows Vista so you'll have to use Vista's POS SB emulation.

Just because you hear sound does not mean that VDMS is working. It is probably using "Vista's POS SB emulation."
User avatar
collector
l33t
 
Posts: 3936
Joined: 2003-1-15 @ 10:39

Re: A glide wrapper for DOS programs - part deux (dgVoodoo)

Postby gidierre » 2007-11-04 @ 21:48

collector wrote:Just because you hear sound does not mean that VDMS is working. It is probably using "Vista's POS SB emulation."


OK, but how would you explain this :
as far as yesterday there was no sound at all, right ? I launched it via dgVoodoosetup.
Today I just go
dosdrv
at cmd prompt and it has sound. How's that ?
Please note that, yesterday like today, following the tip in dege's readme_eng.txt I made sure vddloader.dll was moved to \windows\sytem32, so what has changed after all ?

What I think is, it (VDMsound) was working yesterday too, but as it started it was the no fullscreen failure that knocked it out, so to speak, and I had no way of knowing whether it was loaded\working or not, and assumed it wasn't. Today, just dosdrv (before calling dgvesa) lets it remain "hooked" and as dgvesa as I see doesn't crash and makes it to fullscreen, then the game can get started.

Besides, since this thread is about dgVoodoo, I hope nobody gets hurt if I take the liberty of quoting dege himself when he writes :

- Vista is disposed to load any VDD only from Windows\system32, I think this is because of a security-crap or something like that. The point is that keep your Glide2x.dll there if you want to run any DOS stuff. Actually, it's important NOT to have any Glide2x.dll in the folder of DOS app because the DOS driver notices it in this case and wants Vista to load that instance. And Vista's respond is dismissive.
(This behavior should be avoided by some development as well as getting setup to search for Glide2x.dll instances in Windows\system32.)
You have to do the same with VDMSound, just copy its vddloader.dll into System32, and voila, it works like a charm.

I sure am no authority here, but I think dege's words matter.

What is your comment ?
User avatar
gidierre
Member
 
Posts: 383
Joined: 2002-10-10 @ 00:15

Re: A glide wrapper for DOS programs - part deux (dgVoodoo)

Postby wd » 2007-11-04 @ 21:57

nice it works at your combo
wd
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10818
Joined: 2003-12-03 @ 21:23

Re: A glide wrapper for DOS programs - part deux (dgVoodoo)

Postby gidierre » 2007-11-05 @ 15:19

erm..
made a little test I could well have thought of before.

Rebooted, typed just

dgvesa
sapucdex ( also, no sapucdex, it's the same)
tomb

without dosdrv that is, game runs normally, except there's no sound at all !

Reboot, go

dgvesa
dosdrv
sapucdex
tomb

sound effects are back (no music anyway though).

I guess this ought to sort of prove it's vdmsound that's really working, right ?

Btw, has anyone been able to have sapucdex work with Vista yet ?

TIA
User avatar
gidierre
Member
 
Posts: 383
Joined: 2002-10-10 @ 00:15

Re: A glide wrapper for DOS programs - part deux (dgVoodoo)

Postby MiniMax » 2007-11-05 @ 15:29

I hope gidierre and some of the previous posters in this thread will be able to help each other figuring out what works, and what doesn't work.
DOSBox 0.73 ReadMe | DOSBox Wiki | DOSBox 60 seconds guide | How to ask questions
_________________
Lenovo M58p | Core 2 Quad Q8400 @ 2.66 GHz | Radeon R7 240 | LG HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GH40N | Win 10 Pro
User avatar
MiniMax
Moderator
 
Posts: 5128
Joined: 2004-1-18 @ 04:15
Location: Stockholm, Sweden, Europe, Earth Interests: Old games & young women

Re: A glide wrapper for DOS programs - part deux (dgVoodoo)

Postby DosFreak » 2007-11-05 @ 15:42

I personally have no interest in testing NTVDM in Vista (wasted too much time on it as it is).....so I won't be helping to clear things up. :)


GliDOS perhaps would be the best source of info for TR1 and Vista.
Game Acronym List
DosBox CVS Builds
DosBox Feature Request Thread
DosBox FAQ
PC Game Compatibility List
"People like coldplay and voted for the nazis, you can't trust people."
User avatar
DosFreak
l33t++
 
Posts: 9386
Joined: 2002-6-30 @ 16:35
Location: Your Head

Re: A glide wrapper for DOS programs - part deux (dgVoodoo)

Postby Dege » 2007-11-22 @ 11:18

A veryveryvery late respond again, don't know if someone is reading this. :dead:

So, I've just had a look into the source of dgvsetup and found that the vertical positions of those buttons (actually the window they reside on) are hardcoded. What I don't understand is that the main setup dialog is resized to larger size than the default in your case, how can it be? That dialog isn't resizeable. I tried to fiddle with window-appearance by changing the font size in the control panel, etc., that might have an effect on this, but that affected only the nonclient area of the windows, as expected. :neutral:
This needs more investigation. :blush:
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 925
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

Re: A glide wrapper for DOS programs - part deux (dgVoodoo)

Postby Dege » 2007-11-22 @ 11:21

Well, VESA works with an emulator like dgVesa, VDMSound works from command prompt. Sapucdex doesn't work because MS have dropped the support of playing CD audio at IOCTL level. :depressed:
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 925
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

Re: A glide wrapper for DOS programs - part deux (dgVoodoo)

Postby gidierre » 2007-11-22 @ 16:16

To streamline the sequence I've been using for this:

after VDMSound 2.1.0 and dgVoodoo are installed, then vddloader.dll copied and glide2x.dll moved to \windows\system32,
then in dgvoodoosetup it's platform=dos, language=English :wink:
glide dll to be searched for in system32 dir, vesa tab: use vesa support
in cmd window type
dosdrv
dgvesa
and there you go, see attached screenshot of VVV sign

now for instance to play Tomb Raider 1, you don't want to use the vlp shortcut, just go ahead at the prompt launching the exe and it runs fullscreen with fmv's and sound and all (except for music).

You can either use dgVoodoo v1.40 or v1.50 with Direct3D9.
Attachments
Vista Vesa Visa.jpg
Vista Vesa Visa.jpg (41.38 KiB) Viewed 7311 times
Last edited by gidierre on 2009-1-10 @ 20:44, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
gidierre
Member
 
Posts: 383
Joined: 2002-10-10 @ 00:15

Re: A glide wrapper for DOS programs - part deux (dgVoodoo)

Postby daan » 2008-4-20 @ 10:32

I was trying to play Carmageddon 1 on XP with VDMSound and using dgvoodoo 1.40 and 1.50beta. When I'm starting a new race after choosing position, game freezes, screen goes black. I can only reset PC. I have Radeon 9700 and newest catalyst 8.3. Can you help me?
daan
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2008-4-19 @ 21:07

Re: A glide wrapper for DOS programs - part deux (dgVoodoo)

Postby Nil » 2008-6-09 @ 14:05

Hi!
DgVoodoo allows to run Dos games in Vista, but not all. DeDe, Maybe you would have improved the VGA modes(and VGA X)? if not almost all games (except Blood) paints a bad picture. Here's an example: Redguard
I use DgVoodoo 1.50b2
Attachments
Redguard.jpg
Redguard.jpg (13.14 KiB) Viewed 6251 times
Nil
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2008-6-09 @ 13:18

Re: A glide wrapper for DOS programs - part deux (dgVoodoo)

Postby Dege » 2008-10-16 @ 10:07

Just a thought after a long silence...

I don't really know what the situation is as to glide wappers nowadays. Are they still used by the retro gamer community, and would be cool to develop them, or, theirs era is getting over now with win Vista and 64bit systems?

Speaking about dgVoodoo and having look at this thread I can see a lot of unsolved problems and unanswered questions. They aren't going to be solved and answered since I haven't put any effort into dgv for a long time.
It's just gathering dust.

So, my question (now, in 2008 :happyhappy:): is/are there anybody here who are a 'fanatic' :happyhappy: and (still) being interested in developing it further? If so, I would open its source, and simply speaking, good luck with it. (of course, I could give explanations if required.) :happy:

(Altough I should revamp it a little bit before that, I mean, clear and comment the source, etc., but I think it wouldn't be that big problem.)
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 925
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

Re: A glide wrapper for DOS programs - part deux (dgVoodoo)

Postby DosFreak » 2008-10-16 @ 10:17

Well old games are getting any more compatible that's for sure. I do use dgvoodoo alot in my compatibility list. (Although admittedly I use Zeckensack more so it works more often).

The best part of DgVoodoo is the glide support for DOS games which of course Zeckensack doesn't support.

I bet the dev of GliDOS would be interested in the code. Not sure if he's working on both OpenGlide and PSVoodoo or just PSVoodoo now.


Now if we could just get the Zeckensack source......
Game Acronym List
DosBox CVS Builds
DosBox Feature Request Thread
DosBox FAQ
PC Game Compatibility List
"People like coldplay and voted for the nazis, you can't trust people."
User avatar
DosFreak
l33t++
 
Posts: 9386
Joined: 2002-6-30 @ 16:35
Location: Your Head

Re: A glide wrapper for DOS programs - part deux (dgVoodoo)

Postby Rekrul » 2008-10-16 @ 16:17

gidierre wrote:now for instance to play Tomb Raider 1, you don't want to use the vlp shortcut, just go ahead at the prompt launching the exe and it runs fullscreen with fmv's and sound and all (except for music).


I know this is pretty late, but I wanted to offer a suggestion.

I may be way off-base since I've never used VDMSound and never run TR under anything other than 98, but as I recall, the music is stored as tracks on the CD. You need the CD in whatever drive is designated as the default CD audio drive in the multimedia prefs. When I first played TR, the main menu was silent, but I didn't realize anything was wrong until I got to the FMV with Larson(?), which was obviously supposed to have dialog, but didn't. After changing which drive the CD was in, the audio suddenly played. It was then that I discovered that Windows has a prefs setting for which drive is used for CD audio. If it's not the drive that the TR CD is in, the music doesn't play.
Rekrul
Member
 
Posts: 308
Joined: 2005-2-10 @ 23:14

Re: A glide wrapper for DOS programs - part deux (dgVoodoo)

Postby DosFreak » 2008-10-16 @ 16:28

It's not Windows. It's the game. Alot of older games only look for the game CD in the first CDROM since they don't expect there to be more than 1 CDROM in a system.
Game Acronym List
DosBox CVS Builds
DosBox Feature Request Thread
DosBox FAQ
PC Game Compatibility List
"People like coldplay and voted for the nazis, you can't trust people."
User avatar
DosFreak
l33t++
 
Posts: 9386
Joined: 2002-6-30 @ 16:35
Location: Your Head

PreviousNext

Return to dgVoodoo General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests