VOGONS


dgVoodoo 2.6.x and related WIP versions

Topic actions

Reply 140 of 256, by Deffnator

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

F22 Lightning 3(steam) still hates 1080P on ddraw mode using the final patch, the game sticks back to 1280 with polygon warp.
Jane's Fighters Anthology still has black flickering screen issues with the video, ingame and the menus
Tanktics has rainbow issues.

Reply 141 of 256, by willow

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
RaVeN-05 wrote on 2020-01-06, 16:15:

I have a little suggestion : Add FPS Limiter, i find out some games behave more nicely on low fps values.
For example Necrodome if Locked at 30 or less FPS suddenly start to support mouse =O

If ou have nvidia card, nvidia has added a fps limiter in the driver released today
https://www.nvidia.com/en-us/geforce/news/nvi … e-ready-driver/

You can adjust manually for each game.

For this moment, fps limiter doesn't work with fps less than 40fps. It's not perfect.

If you have a radeon card, you must hope that amd add the support. or Dege add the support in dgvoodoo.

Reply 142 of 256, by RaVeN-05

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Can't get it to work =( sorry. But what if i want limit to 20 fps, its not possible to vsync it to refresh rate 20 hz

https://hexenworld.org/forum/index.php (Heretic's & HeXen's forum)
https://www.youtube.com/user/whitemagicraven
https://go.twitch.tv/whitemagicraventv

Reply 143 of 256, by Dege

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Some bugfixes:

=========================
WIP70:
=========================

Changes compared to v2.63:

- Fixing DDraw texture parameter validation regression bug (Eurofighter Typhoon, Radeon's Ark, Zanzarah)
- Fixing D3D device enumeration that was incompatible with MS D3D (Tomb Raider 4/5)
- Minor improvement of D3D debug layer feedback
- Fixing minor DDraw incompatibility (Baldur's Gate Tales of the Sword Coast)
- Improving internals of D3D resolution scaling (Omikron - The Nomad Sould pathed version) *
- Fixing a minor D3D DXBC generator bug (Halo CE)

http://dege.fw.hu/temp/dgVoodooWIP70.zip
http://dege.fw.hu/temp/dgVoodooWIP70_dbg.zip

* The patch I made last time is not needed anymore. dgVoodoo can automatically handle the the resolution scaling.

Last edited by Dege on 2020-01-08, 18:42. Edited 1 time in total.

Reply 145 of 256, by ZellSF

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Dege wrote on 2020-01-08, 18:33:

FPS limiter's been a requested feature for a long while… One day I may implement it.

Nvidia has driver FPS limiter easily available in control panel for their supported cards now.

Of course for others, and to be less reliant on driver features it would still be nice to have in dgVoodoo.

Reply 146 of 256, by Deffnator

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
ZellSF wrote on 2020-01-08, 18:52:
Dege wrote on 2020-01-08, 18:33:

FPS limiter's been a requested feature for a long while… One day I may implement it.

Nvidia has driver FPS limiter easily available in control panel for their supported cards now.

Of course for others, and to be less reliant on driver features it would still be nice to have in dgVoodoo.

It doesnt work in older games, i tested it with Wing Commander II for Windows and the game still has framerate issues.

Reply 148 of 256, by willow

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
ZellSF wrote on 2020-01-08, 18:52:
Dege wrote on 2020-01-08, 18:33:

FPS limiter's been a requested feature for a long while… One day I may implement it.

Nvidia has driver FPS limiter easily available in control panel for their supported cards now.

Of course for others, and to be less reliant on driver features it would still be nice to have in dgVoodoo.

The frame rate limiter doesn't support fps limiter less than 40. It's a problem for old games that are broken with framerate superior to 30 fps.

The framerate limiter doesn't work with all game. for example, it doesn't work with screamer rally + dosbox ece + nglide or dgvoodoo2.

Reply 149 of 256, by lowenz

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
funkerwolf wrote on 2020-01-09, 13:42:
Dege wrote on 2020-01-08, 18:33:

FPS limiter's been a requested feature for a long while… One day I may implement it.

Add pls triple buffering to v-sync... And you can add DX12 mode¿

"Triple Buffering" (forcing) is OpenGL-only feature, in DirectX you can "emulate" that behaviour with a custom management of the frames queue but the designation is still wrong (I know many DX games use that 2 words nonetheless).

DX12? You know it's a massive request and.....DX12 / Vulkan are NOT good for "general purpose" applications (see how many problems has the DX12 path of Unreal Engine 4.x in Borderlands 3 for example) 'cause you CAN'T write a "good" VRAM/Graphic Memory general purpose" component in DX12.

Really, you can't for the "sake of performance". You kill stability.

Reply 150 of 256, by RaVeN-05

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

for necrodome old raven soft game limiting fps to 30 is working, console fixed, mouse fixed, camera rotation fixed/

https://hexenworld.org/forum/index.php (Heretic's & HeXen's forum)
https://www.youtube.com/user/whitemagicraven
https://go.twitch.tv/whitemagicraventv

Reply 153 of 256, by Dege

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

I forgot to release 2.63.1. 😀
Now I did it. It's the same as WIP70 with one bug fixed: when switching between fullscreen/windowed mode (including exiting the application) then the desktop video mode can change for a short period even when the scaling is done by dgVoodoo (instead of being kept at the current (native) resolution).

Reply 154 of 256, by rjhansen

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

In hardware T&L mode, Pac-Man: Adventures in Time has no shadows available. The drop down box is greyed out.

dgVoodoo's T&L driver works, where native Windows 10 T&L causes all sorts of black polys. T&L mode is what should enable shadows.

Also, in dgVoodoo, disabling the advanced->vsync checkbox, on my Gsync monitor (may not happen without Gsync), absolutely cripples the framerate. We're talking seconds-per-frame.

Using 2.63.1. Tested WIP70, too.

Reply 155 of 256, by lowenz

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
lowenz wrote on 2020-01-10, 12:03:

DX12? You know it's a massive request and.....DX12 / Vulkan are NOT good for "general purpose" applications (see how many problems has the DX12 path of Unreal Engine 4.x in Borderlands 3 for example) 'cause you CAN'T write a "good" VRAM/Graphic Memory general purpose" component in DX12.

Really, you can't for the "sake of performance". You kill stability.

About that, Dege, BIG NEWS!

https://www.geeks3d.com/forums/index.php?topic=6297.0

Reply 156 of 256, by stranno

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

That new sub-rectangle option will come handy for the absolutely horrendous aspect ratio of Heart of Darkness.

Even when the Gregory's Source Port is much better, but still not 100% polished.

Thank you Dege!

Reply 157 of 256, by Dege

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

I re-released 2.63.1 because I encountered a bug that can cause crash and resource (video memory) leak in DX modules (introduced with improved resolution scaling).
Only 2 days has elapsed since the last release so I didn't want to increment the version number.

Plz re-download it if you have the previous version!

Reply 158 of 256, by Dege

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
lowenz wrote on 2020-01-17, 23:47:
lowenz wrote on 2020-01-10, 12:03:

DX12? You know it's a massive request and.....DX12 / Vulkan are NOT good for "general purpose" applications (see how many problems has the DX12 path of Unreal Engine 4.x in Borderlands 3 for example) 'cause you CAN'T write a "good" VRAM/Graphic Memory general purpose" component in DX12.

Really, you can't for the "sake of performance". You kill stability.

About that, Dege, BIG NEWS!

https://www.geeks3d.com/forums/index.php?topic=6297.0

Thanks!
At this rate Windows will get opensourced. 🙁 Or it's just released because people in general don't know how to code against DX12 (bad reputation of DX12 in most of the games)?

From the blog:

What can you do with the code?
Make the move to D3D12 more quickly. Leverage the D3D12 Translation Layer library as-is in your game to port your existing work to D3D12 faster.

???? Why would replacing a DX11 layer with a DX11->12 wrapper be useful? I don't get it. It's basically the same as DX11 does internally, or worse.
(As far as I know, originally D3D11on12 was created for Direct2D for using that in DX12 applications.)

Last edited by Dege on 2020-01-19, 20:13. Edited 2 times in total.

Reply 159 of 256, by rjhansen

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Jeez. Firefox is now saying that the dgvoodoo2 download page is malware and discouraging me from visiting. I've also gotten false positives with Defender on some of the versions.

You'll have to talk to the Mozilla people, I think. Defender false positives tend to go away as they're in the cloud definitions.

Firefox also told me that the current version of 2.63.1 is straight up malware. Ugh.