VOGONS


First post, by csqn

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I am having problems running Tropico 2: Pirate Cove, screenshots and descriptions below. Tropico 1 could also be affected, since they share the same engine, but I cannot verify it ATM. Will post my findings about Tropico 1 tomorrow.

Using the latest GOG version and dgVoodoo 2.63.2. Dg config is default, lest for the watermark disabled and stretching mode set to 'stretched_4_3'. The graphics card is a Vega 56, but I can also confirm the same corruption happens on a Ryzen 2400G APU (Vega 11).

2020.05.23-23.36_01.png
Filename
2020.05.23-23.36_01.png
File size
292.86 KiB
Views
135 views
File comment
main menu
File license
Public domain

This a screenshot of the main menu. A video should be playing as the background, but it is extremely corrupted. Menu text apparently renders fine.

2020.05.23-23.36.png
Filename
2020.05.23-23.36.png
File size
1.82 MiB
Views
135 views
File comment
main game screen
File license
Public domain

Sadly that is not all. This is a screenshot of the main game screen. The map of the island appears to render fine. However, certain menu elements are also corrupted and unusable.

In a few hours or tomorrow I will be able to test Tropico 1 and share my findings here. I suspect the results to be similar. If anyone has any ideas how to fix this, they are very welcome (I haven't fiddled with the conf yet, as the options are pretty meaningless to me). Should anyone be willing to test Tropico 2 with a different brand GPU (nVidia or Intel), I would be most happy, as I suspect this could be an AMD problem.

Edit: changed post title to include Tropico 1.

Last edited by csqn on 2020-05-25, 02:14. Edited 1 time in total.

Reply 1 of 3, by csqn

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

OK, Tropico 1 is even worse. First of all, it won't even scale at stretched_4_3 (throws a ddraw error).

ddraw.png
Filename
ddraw.png
File size
5.34 KiB
Views
117 views
File comment
Tropico 1 DDraw error 4:3
File license
Public domain

Reverted to the default 'unspecified'. So the config is default except for the watermark.

2020.05.25-04.06.png
Filename
2020.05.25-04.06.png
File size
4.28 KiB
Views
117 views
File comment
Tropico 1 main menu
File license
Public domain
2020.05.25-04.07_01.png
Filename
2020.05.25-04.07_01.png
File size
20.81 KiB
Views
117 views
File comment
Tropico 1 game screen
File license
Public domain

Reply 2 of 3, by ZellSF

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

I suspect this is the AMD problem, because Tropico worked fine last I checked it. try the D3D12 WIP:
D3D12 backend for dgVoodoo (report specific problems here)
Or WARP rendering, which isn't playable but should tell you if the problem is GPU drivers.

Reply 3 of 3, by csqn

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Thanks for your link. DX12 version did not help me solve my problem, but a post in that topic did since it pointed to version 2.54 being more compatible with AMD cards.

Now I can indeed confirm that this is an AMD issue and that:
-WIP DX12 version doesn't work yet (crash at start).
-Vers. 2.62.3 and 2.55 present the aforementioned graphical corruption.
-2.54 appears to work fine.

Until this AMD issue is fixed or DX12 becomes more stable I will now try to use 2.54 for my GOG games.