Running Dosbox under MSDOS, without Windows? I remember reading about this a while back..

Getting old software/games running on older hardware.

Running Dosbox under MSDOS, without Windows? I remember reading about this a while back..

Postby keenerb » 2017-8-30 @ 17:01

At some point I stumbled across a method for running Dosbox under actual MSDOS, using some sort of windows 32-bit console support library.

Is that actually possible, or did I hallucinate the whole thing?
keenerb
Oldbie
 
Posts: 624
Joined: 2006-11-13 @ 16:24

Re: Running Dosbox under MSDOS, without Windows? I remember reading about this a while back..

Postby mrau » 2017-8-30 @ 17:02

and the reason for this exercise would be what?
mrau
Oldbie
 
Posts: 804
Joined: 2015-11-28 @ 12:43

Re: Running Dosbox under MSDOS, without Windows? I remember reading about this a while back..

Postby Jade Falcon » 2017-8-30 @ 17:09

To Emu old hard ware on a new system? :confused: Or just for fun?

Anyway I have seen a *inux Live CD floating around on the net that uses DosBox as the use interface or something to that effect.


EDIT:
I have seen people install MS-DOS in dosbox
http://www.transmissionzero.co.uk/compu ... in-dosbox/
Last edited by Jade Falcon on 2017-10-10 @ 14:46, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Jade Falcon
l33t
 
Posts: 2857
Joined: 2016-5-08 @ 19:23
Location: Stuck in Silent Hill after bailing out of my Eyrie

Re: Running Dosbox under MSDOS, without Windows? I remember reading about this a while back..

Postby DosFreak » 2017-8-30 @ 17:23

You're looking for HXRT. Last time I tested a couple of years ago performance was pretty much the same in DOS as it was in Windows but this was a P166 so DOSBox was slow either way.

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=12035&p=82886&hilit=hxgui#p82886

Point would be to run games on the computer that are too fast on the host or if something about your hardware or software configuration prevented the game from running then DOSBox would work.
Game Acronym List
DosBox CVS Builds
DosBox Feature Request Thread
DosBox FAQ
PC Game Compatibility List
"Who's got time to read all the way down to the bottom of an email?"
User avatar
DosFreak
l33t++
 
Posts: 9465
Joined: 2002-6-30 @ 16:35
Location: Your Head

Re: Running Dosbox under MSDOS, without Windows? I remember reading about this a while back..

Postby keenerb » 2017-8-30 @ 17:34

mrau wrote:and the reason for this exercise would be what?


To see if it works?

I'm curious if my AMD 5x86/133 running DOSBOX could better approximate an old 8088 system than you can normally achieve simply by disabling cache/etc.
keenerb
Oldbie
 
Posts: 624
Joined: 2006-11-13 @ 16:24

Re: Running Dosbox under MSDOS, without Windows? I remember reading about this a while back..

Postby .legaCy » 2017-8-31 @ 00:44

mrau wrote:and the reason for this exercise would be what?

My P4 build that runs windows 98 has issues with SB16 emulation so dosbox serve the purpose of solving this issue.
Also for speed sensitive games, so my windows 98 has a "extended range" on retro gaming.
MAIN PC: ASUS P8H77-M|Intel Core i5 3570K @4.0GHZ|Corsair CX500M|8GB Patriot Viper 3|NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 TI
WinXP Gaming PC: ASUS P5KPL|Intel Core2Quad Q8300 2.5ghz|Generic 450w (real) PSU|4GB Kingston DDR2 800|GeForce GTX 550 TI
User avatar
.legaCy
Member
 
Posts: 174
Joined: 2016-4-08 @ 23:11
Location: Brazil

Re: Running Dosbox under MSDOS, without Windows? I remember reading about this a while back..

Postby DosFreak » 2017-10-07 @ 22:51

Did some tests with my compiled SVN of DOSBox (still a WIP)

viewtopic.php?f=31&t=55706&p=617752&hilit=guide#p617883
Game Acronym List
DosBox CVS Builds
DosBox Feature Request Thread
DosBox FAQ
PC Game Compatibility List
"Who's got time to read all the way down to the bottom of an email?"
User avatar
DosFreak
l33t++
 
Posts: 9465
Joined: 2002-6-30 @ 16:35
Location: Your Head

Re: Running Dosbox under MSDOS, without Windows? I remember reading about this a while back..

Postby keenerb » 2017-10-08 @ 19:11

DosFreak wrote:Did some tests with my compiled SVN of DOSBox (still a WIP)

viewtopic.php?f=31&t=55706&p=617752&hilit=guide#p617883


Excellent. I'll be looking at trying this out sometime soon.
keenerb
Oldbie
 
Posts: 624
Joined: 2006-11-13 @ 16:24

Re: Running Dosbox under MSDOS, without Windows? I remember reading about this a while back..

Postby Malik » 2017-10-09 @ 02:04

I'm not really interested in Dosbox running under pure DOS, unless I want to make any new modern computer behave like a DOS machine, by booting directly into DOS and Dosbox subsequently. But then, I could simply use the appropriate OS - Windows/Linux/OSX to do the same, by loading the respective native Dosbox build without unnecessary complications or headaches.

And I believe most computers or laptops available today are able to run Dosbox comfortably, to run any speed-sensitive games more conveniently.

BUT, just wondering... so Dosbox in pure DOS can make use of any PCI or ISA sound card or on-board sound chip to produce sound? Like in Windows? If so, how does it do that? I thought Dosbox can only do this via Windows' API. Does Dosbox probe for sound devices in pure DOS? Or it behaves like a dos game itself, by detecting the drivers loaded? How about for machines that have the original SB/SBPro or Adlib cards, which do not need to load any drivers? And how about MIDI? can it detect and direct output to an attached MT-32 too?
User avatar
Malik
l33t
 
Posts: 2445
Joined: 2004-4-10 @ 14:37
Location: Malaysia

Re: Running Dosbox under MSDOS, without Windows? I remember reading about this a while back..

Postby DosFreak » 2017-10-09 @ 04:34

Nothing with DOSBox was modified to make it run in DOS, only the usage of HXRT makes it work.

SB16 and MIDI support are provided by HXRT.

Last year a modified build of HXRT was provided with Intel HDA and AC97 support.

Others benefits besides added game compatibility is the usage of scalers, screenshot, video recording, emulated sound and video cards. Also of course potentially 3rd party patches so pixel perfect, saved states etc.

Just discovered today that the mouse is unusable. Cursor stuck at top upper-left. Mouse buttons work fine though.
When I adjust the sensitivity with host ctmouse,dosbox settings or game settings I can get it slower but it's still unusable. Looks like this will require some coding skills that I lack.

It may be possible to use use djpp to make a DOS native DOSBox but that's beyond me and is possibly pointless since HXRT works. Would probably be great for learning though.

Just for kicks tried out MESA3D 7.5.1 and it works! Requires 32bit color and it's slow of course.
Game Acronym List
DosBox CVS Builds
DosBox Feature Request Thread
DosBox FAQ
PC Game Compatibility List
"Who's got time to read all the way down to the bottom of an email?"
User avatar
DosFreak
l33t++
 
Posts: 9465
Joined: 2002-6-30 @ 16:35
Location: Your Head

Re: Running Dosbox under MSDOS, without Windows? I remember reading about this a while back..

Postby gdjacobs » 2017-10-09 @ 23:57

DosFreak wrote:Last year a modified build of HXRT was provided with Intel HDA and AC97 support.


This is kind of amazing, but I still question how robust the support is. Plus, as Malik said, why not use a Linux build and avoid the limitations.
User avatar
gdjacobs
l33t
 
Posts: 4089
Joined: 2015-11-03 @ 05:51
Location: The Great White North

Re: Running Dosbox under MSDOS, without Windows? I remember reading about this a while back..

Postby retrogamerguy1997 » 2017-10-12 @ 02:06

What is HXRT? I see it mentioned in this thread a couple times.
retrogamerguy1997
Newbie
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 2017-9-16 @ 01:43

Re: Running Dosbox under MSDOS, without Windows? I remember reading about this a while back..

Postby Malik » 2017-10-12 @ 05:36

A quick Google search will lead to: ftp://retronn.de/dos/extender/hx/HXRT.TXT
User avatar
Malik
l33t
 
Posts: 2445
Joined: 2004-4-10 @ 14:37
Location: Malaysia

Re: Running Dosbox under MSDOS, without Windows? I remember reading about this a while back..

Postby Stiletto » 2017-10-12 @ 15:12

retrogamerguy1997 wrote:What is HXRT? I see it mentioned in this thread a couple times.


It lets you run a limited selection of Windows programs/utilities/games in DOS.
"I see a little silhouette-o of a man, Scaramouche, Scaramouche, will you
do the Fandango!" - Queen

Stiletto
User avatar
Stiletto
l33t
 
Posts: 3719
Joined: 2002-7-01 @ 21:57

Re: Running Dosbox under MSDOS, without Windows? I remember reading about this a while back..

Postby retrogamerguy1997 » 2017-10-14 @ 04:04

Malik wrote:A quick Google search will lead to: ftp://retronn.de/dos/extender/hx/HXRT.TXT


sadly when I try to look things up, I never find what I'm looking for. Thanks though

Stiletto wrote:
retrogamerguy1997 wrote:What is HXRT? I see it mentioned in this thread a couple times.


It lets you run a limited selection of Windows programs/utilities/games in DOS.


that seems pretty neat
retrogamerguy1997
Newbie
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 2017-9-16 @ 01:43

Re: Running Dosbox under MSDOS, without Windows? I remember reading about this a while back..

Postby Jo22 » 2017-10-15 @ 06:38

I don't know about you, but I would like to see a Win32s version of DOSBox somewhen.
Even if it would be just a proof-of-concept and with some restrictions,
to fit within the limits of Windows 3.1. :D
Jo22
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1761
Joined: 2009-12-13 @ 07:06


Return to Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest