VOGONS


Dos 6 conventional memory tricks

Topic actions

Reply 260 of 287, by dr_st

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
Joseph_Joestar wrote on 2021-09-27, 07:29:

BTW, for testing purposes, I just reverted all of the tweaks that I added manually (including the EMM386 line listed previously) and let MEMMAKER.EXE work its magic on the unmodified AUTOEXEC.BAT and CONFIG.SYS. Surprisingly, it achieved an even better result, giving me 614 KB of free conventional memory. And this is without using any of those memory ranges and without HIGHSCAN.

I think I'm good with that and will likely keep this setup.

Could you share your current Config/Autoexec? I'm curious what exactly MemMaker did here. Others can learn from it too, I'm sure. 😀

https://cloakedthargoid.wordpress.com/ - Random content on hardware, software, games and toys

Reply 261 of 287, by Joseph_Joestar

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
dr_st wrote on 2021-09-27, 08:05:

Could you share your current Config/Autoexec? I'm curious what exactly MemMaker did here. Others can learn from it too, I'm sure. 😀

Sure thing. For reference, the files are from this rig running DOS 6.22 + Win 3.11. Note that I'm deliberately using the bloated Microsoft mouse driver v9 because of this issue with my BIOS, but MEMMAKER somehow manages to load it high.

AUTOEXEC.BAT

@ECHO OFF
SET SOUND16=C:\OPTI930
C:\OPTI930\sndinit /b
SET BLASTER=A220 I5 D1 H5 P300 E620 T6
SET SOUND=C:\SB16
SET MIDI=SYNTH:1 MAP:E MODE:0
SET CTCM=C:\CTCM
C:\SB16\DIAGNOSE /S
C:\SB16\AWEUTIL /S
C:\SB16\MIXERSET /P /Q
C:\CTCM\CTCU /S
LH /L:1,23024 C:\DOS\MSCDEX.EXE /E /D:OPTICAL /L:D
LH /L:0;1,25168 /S C:\DOS\MSM9\MOUSE.EXE
PROMPT $p$g
PATH C:\DOS;C:\DOS\BAT;C:\WINDOWS;C:\OPTI930
SET TEMP=C:\TEMP
SET DIRCMD=/A/O:GEN
SET SST_RGAMMA=1.0
SET SST_GGAMMA=1.0
SET SST_BGAMMA=1.0
SET SST_SCREENREFRESH=85
SET SST_FX_GLIDE_SWAPINTERVAL=0
SET SST_GRXCLK=50

CONFIG.SYS

DEVICE=C:\DOS\HIMEM.SYS /TESTMEM:OFF
DEVICE=C:\DOS\EMM386.EXE RAM
BUFFERS=40,0
FILES=60
DOS=UMB
LASTDRIVE=E
FCBS=4,0
SHELL=C:\DOS\COMMAND.COM /P /E:512
DEVICE=C:\OPTI930\cdsetup.sys /T:X
DEVICE=C:\CTCM\CTCM.EXE
DEVICEHIGH /L:1,12048 =C:\DOS\SETVER.EXE
DOS=HIGH
DEVICEHIGH /L:1,11360 =C:\DOS\VIDECDD.SYS /D:OPTICAL
STACKS=9,256

MEM.EXE /a /c /p

Modules using memory below 1 MB:

Name Total = Conventional + Upper Memory
-------- ---------------- ---------------- ----------------
MSDOS 17,213 (17K) 17,213 (17K) 0 (0K)
HIMEM 1,168 (1K) 1,168 (1K) 0 (0K)
EMM386 4,144 (4K) 4,144 (4K) 0 (0K)
COMMAND 3,184 (3K) 3,184 (3K) 0 (0K)
MOUSE 25,440 (25K) 272 (0K) 25,168 (25K)
SETVER 512 (1K) 0 (0K) 512 (1K)
VIDECDD 5,056 (5K) 0 (0K) 5,056 (5K)
MSCDEX 15,712 (15K) 0 (0K) 15,712 (15K)
Free 675,616 (660K) 629,008 (614K) 46,608 (46K)

Memory Summary:

Type of Memory Total = Used + Free
---------------- ---------- ---------- ----------
Conventional 655,360 26,352 629,008
Upper 93,056 46,448 46,608
Reserved 393,216 393,216 0
Extended (XMS)* 65,967,232 578,688 65,388,544
---------------- ---------- ---------- ----------
Press any key to continue . . .
Total memory 67,108,864 1,044,704 66,064,160

Total under 1 MB 748,416 72,800 675,616

Total Expanded (EMS) 33,947,648 (33,152K
Free Expanded (EMS)* 33,538,048 (32,752K

* EMM386 is using XMS memory to simulate EMS memory as needed.
Free EMS memory may change as free XMS memory changes.

Largest executable program size 628,704 (614K)
Largest free upper memory block 46,400 (45K)
Available space in High Memory Area 928 (1K)
MS-DOS is resident in the high memory area.

PC#1: Pentium MMX 166 / Soyo SY-5BT / S3 Trio64V+ / Voodoo1 / OPTi 82C930 / AWE64 Gold / SC-155
PC#2: AthlonXP 1700+ / Abit KT7A / Voodoo3 / Audigy1 / Vortex2
PC#3: Athlon64 3400+ / Asus K8V-MX / 5900XT / Audigy1
PC#4: i5-3550P / MSI Z77A-G43 / GTX 650Ti / X-Fi

Reply 262 of 287, by dr_st

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
Joseph_Joestar wrote on 2021-09-27, 08:32:

Sure thing. For reference, the files are from this rig running DOS 6.22 + Win 3.11. Note that I'm deliberately using the bloated Microsoft mouse driver v9 because of this issue with my BIOS, but MEMMAKER somehow manages to load it high.

Thanks! I was going to ask about that MOUSE thing. 😁

Comparing to my startup files over there, it seems like the difference with all these EMM386 switches only amounts to ~8K of UMBs on my system. I guess EMM's default heuristics do a pretty good job finding free UMBs, while MEMMAKER does a great job utilizing them. Your free UMBs are all in one 46K chunk, thanks to the /L /S switches. You could even fit SMARTDRV in there, and a few other goodies, like DOSKEY.

I see the main difference in free conventional memory is that on my setup, COMMAND and parts of DOS are loaded in the high memory, while on your system they are all loaded low according to MEM/C/P. Part of it is probably due to DOS 7 vs DOS 6 (DOS 7 can load more stuff HIGH by default), but maybe it also has to do with the relatively late positioning of DOS=HIGH in your CONFIG.SYS? I don't remember if it has any effect.

https://cloakedthargoid.wordpress.com/ - Random content on hardware, software, games and toys

Reply 263 of 287, by Joseph_Joestar

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
dr_st wrote on 2021-09-27, 18:07:

You could even fit SMARTDRV in there, and a few other goodies, like DOSKEY.

I do use SMARTDRV on physical hard disks, but I don't see much benefit from it on a CF card, which is what my DOS 6.22 system is running on.

but maybe it also has to do with the relatively late positioning of DOS=HIGH in your CONFIG.SYS? I don't remember if it has any effect.

Originally, I had a single line with DOS=HIGH,UMB near the top of my CONFIG.SYS. For some reason, MEMMAKER split that into two lines and changed the position. I have no idea why.

PC#1: Pentium MMX 166 / Soyo SY-5BT / S3 Trio64V+ / Voodoo1 / OPTi 82C930 / AWE64 Gold / SC-155
PC#2: AthlonXP 1700+ / Abit KT7A / Voodoo3 / Audigy1 / Vortex2
PC#3: Athlon64 3400+ / Asus K8V-MX / 5900XT / Audigy1
PC#4: i5-3550P / MSI Z77A-G43 / GTX 650Ti / X-Fi

Reply 264 of 287, by Rawit

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Joseph_Joestar wrote on 2021-09-27, 08:32:

Note that I'm deliberately using the bloated Microsoft mouse driver v9 because of this issue with my BIOS, but MEMMAKER somehow manages to load it high.

I came here for memory tricks but ended up with a new mouse driver. The Microsoft mouse driver v9 fixes a few things on my Cyrix MediaGX1 system. I noticed with CuteMouse Windows wouldn't load and only version 2 gave me what I thought was OK performance. Apparently some delays in software (for example FastTracker 2 not keeping tempo) were caused by CuteMouse and are now solved!

YouTube

Reply 265 of 287, by Nemo1985

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Rawit wrote on 2021-12-15, 08:25:
Joseph_Joestar wrote on 2021-09-27, 08:32:

Note that I'm deliberately using the bloated Microsoft mouse driver v9 because of this issue with my BIOS, but MEMMAKER somehow manages to load it high.

I came here for memory tricks but ended up with a new mouse driver. The Microsoft mouse driver v9 fixes a few things on my Cyrix MediaGX1 system. I noticed with CuteMouse Windows wouldn't load and only version 2 gave me what I thought was OK performance. Apparently some delays in software (for example FastTracker 2 not keeping tempo) were caused by CuteMouse and are now solved!

That's interesting, did you try to load windows without cutemouse? A boot menu with multiple voices it's the best thing.

Reply 267 of 287, by Nemo1985

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Rawit wrote on 2021-12-15, 14:51:

Yes, I made a bat to unload CuteMouse on start of Windows 3.11 to circumvent this issue. With CuteMouse loaded it wouldn't start or would start without a mouse.

Sorry, I thought you were talking about windows 98.

I use cutemouse and windows 3.11 on my 486 build, but I haven't those issues.

Reply 268 of 287, by servicepack2

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Joseph_Joestar wrote on 2021-09-27, 18:26:

You could even fit SMARTDRV in there, and a few other goodies, like DOSKEY.

Could you correct me ? And does "set RAM=" actually work ?

DEVICE=HImem.SYS DEVICE=emm386.EXE set ram=104528 BUFFERS=20,0 FILES=40 DOS=UMB lastdrive=Y FCBS=1,0 DOS=HIGH devicehigh=gcdro […]
Show full quote

DEVICE=HImem.SYS
DEVICE=emm386.EXE
set ram=104528
BUFFERS=20,0
FILES=40
DOS=UMB
lastdrive=Y
FCBS=1,0
DOS=HIGH
devicehigh=gcdrom.sys /d:dvdram

Reply 269 of 287, by Joseph_Joestar

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
servicepack2 wrote on 2022-02-13, 17:13:

Could you correct me ? And does "set RAM=" actually work ?

Do you mean the RAM parameter of EMM386.EXE? That specifies a range of segment addresses to be used for UMBs and is not invoked with SET.

Regarding your setup, I'm not that knowledgeable about manually tweaking DOS conventional memory settings. The last time I tried, I barely got around 590 KB free. Reverting all of my tweaks and then letting MEMMAKER.EXE do its job gave me a much better result. Maybe someone who's more familiar with the subject can give you some tips for manual adjustments.

PC#1: Pentium MMX 166 / Soyo SY-5BT / S3 Trio64V+ / Voodoo1 / OPTi 82C930 / AWE64 Gold / SC-155
PC#2: AthlonXP 1700+ / Abit KT7A / Voodoo3 / Audigy1 / Vortex2
PC#3: Athlon64 3400+ / Asus K8V-MX / 5900XT / Audigy1
PC#4: i5-3550P / MSI Z77A-G43 / GTX 650Ti / X-Fi

Reply 272 of 287, by jheronimus

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

I've had an issue with CuteMouse where Win 3.11 tried to set it up as a Logitech mouse by default (and it wouldn't boot with that). Switching to Microsoft in Windows setup fixed that.

It happened on an ISA8 PS/2 adapter, the mouse is actually a Microsoft Intellimouse using PS/2 to USB converter dongle

MR BIOS upgrades catalog
Unicore Award upgrades catalog

Reply 274 of 287, by ynopot

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Google translator

Greetings. I created a config for DOS. If it has a SmartDrive, then the system will stop at a random place while playing Carmageddon.

autoexec

Spoiler
@ECHO OFF
PROMPT $P$G
PATH C:\DOS;C:\WINDOWS
MODE CON CODEPAGE PREPARE=((866) C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\EGA3.CPI)
MODE CON CODEPAGE SELECT=866
GOTO %CONFIG%

:DOS
SET CTCM=C:\DOS\AWE64
SET SOUND=C:\DOS\AWE64
SET MIDI=SYNTH:1 MAP:E MODE:0
SET BLASTER=A220 I5 D1 H5 P330 E620 T6
C:\DOS\AWE64\AWEUTIL.COM /S /R:20 /C:15
C:\DOS\AWE64\MIXERSET.EXE /P /Q
C:\DOS\DRIVERS\CTMOUSE.EXE /R2
C:\DOS\SHSUCD\SHSUCDX.COM /D:OPTICAL,E
REM C:\DOS\SHSUCD\SMARTCDX.EXE 1024 1024
C:\DOS\MSKVBEF7\MSKVBEF7.COM
GOTO DONE

:WIN
C:\WINDOWS\WIN.COM

:DONE
C:\DOS\VC\VC

config

Spoiler
[menu]
MENUITEM=WIN, WINDOWS 98 SE
MENUITEM=DOS, MS-DOS 7.10
MENUDEFAULT=WIN,10

[DOS]
LASTDRIVEHIGH=H
FILESHIGH=30
FCBSHIGH=1,0
BUFFERSHIGH=30
STACKSHIGH=9,256
NUMLOCK=OFF
BREAK=ON
SWITCHES=/F
DOS=HIGH,UMB,NOAUTO
DEVICEHIGH=C:\WINDOWS\HIMEM.SYS /TESTMEM:ON
DEVICEHIGH=C:\WINDOWS\EMM386.EXE RAM /MIN=0 I=B000-B7FF I=F000-F7FF
DEVICEHIGH=C:\DOS\AWE64\CTCM.EXE
DEVICEHIGH=C:\DOS\DRIVERS\VIDECDD.SYS /D:OPTICAL

[WIN]
DOS=HIGH

[COMMON]
DEVICEHIGH=C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\DISPLAY.SYS CON=(EGA,,1)
COUNTRY=007,866,C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\COUNTRY.SYS

mem /c > file.txt

Spoiler
  SYSTEM      32 832   (32K)     11 280   (11K)     21 552   (21K)
HIMEM 1 120 (1K) 1 120 (1K) 0 (0K)
EMM386 4 256 (4K) 4 256 (4K) 0 (0K)
COMMAND 10 144 (10K) 80 (0K) 10 064 (10K)
VC 832 (1K) 832 (1K) 0 (0K)
MSKVBEF7 352 (0K) 352 (0K) 0 (0K)
SHSUCDX 6 160 (6K) 0 (0K) 6 160 (6K)
COMMAND 6 976 (7K) 0 (0K) 6 976 (7K)
VIDECDD 5 024 (5K) 0 (0K) 5 024 (5K)
DISPLAY 8 304 (8K) 0 (0K) 8 304 (8K)
CTMOUSE 3 328 (3K) 0 (0K) 3 328 (3K)
‘ў®Ў®¤­® 684 704 (669K) 637 120 (622K) 47 584 (46K)

Reply 276 of 287, by iraito

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

I need help to free up some memory, i'm using VGA240 and it's taking way too much conventional memory (87kb)

AUTOEXEC

LH MSCDEX /D:MSCD001 /L:E
C:\AZT1008\AZTPNP.EXE /D:C:\DRIVERS\AZT1008 /DEFOPT
C:\AZT1008\DOSMIXER.EXE /AUTO
LH C:\mouse\mouse.com
LH C:\dosgames\VGA240.exe /install
mode con codepage prepare=((850) C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\ega.cpi)
mode con codepage select=850
keyb it,,C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\keyboard.sys
Rem added for soundblaster
Rem Added for Voodoo2
set SST_GRXCLK=90
set SST_FT_CLK_DEL=0x4
set SST_TF0_CLK_DEL=0x6
set SST_TF1_CLK_DEL=0x6
set SST_VIN_CLKDEL=0x1
set SST_VOUT_CLKDEL=0x0
set SST_TMUMEM_SIZE=2

CONFIG

device=C:\WINDOWS\HIMEM.SYS /M:1
device=C:\WINDOWS\EMM386.EXE RAM auto HIGHSCAN I=B700-B7FF D=64 H=255
files=100
buffers=20
dos=HIGH,UMB
shell=C:\windows\command.com C:\windows\ /E:1024 /P
devicehigh=C:\cdrom\oakcdrom.sys /D:mscd001
DEVICEHIGH=C:\mouse\mouse.sys
devicehigh=C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\display.sys con=(ega,,1)
Country=039,850,C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\country.sys

new.png?v=1633617160
If you wanna check a blue ball playing retro PC games

Reply 277 of 287, by Jura Tastatura

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I'd use CTMouse instead mouse.sys and SHSUCDX instead of MSCDEX. Never had any compatibility problems with it.
Also, do you really need that display.sys and country.sys lines? I like to not use that and leave default code page so ASCII and ANSI art doesn't look like rubbish.
Oakcdrom.sys is ok, but somewhat big in size, there are smaller alternatives to it.

Reply 278 of 287, by iraito

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
Jura Tastatura wrote on 2022-08-27, 10:49:

I'd use CTMouse instead mouse.sys and SHSUCDX instead of MSCDEX. Never had any compatibility problems with it.
Also, do you really need that display.sys and country.sys lines? I like to not use that and leave default code page so ASCII and ANSI art doesn't look like rubbish.
Oakcdrom.sys is ok, but somewhat big in size, there are smaller alternatives to it.

I need the country one because otherwise i get a messy keyboard layout in DOS, i guess i can leave out the display one, is the mouse and cdrom enough to keep at bay the size of that bigass VGA240?

new.png?v=1633617160
If you wanna check a blue ball playing retro PC games