Gold Rush! DOS game on IBM 5150... Insert Disk 1???

Getting old software/games running on older hardware.

Re: Gold Rush! DOS game on IBM 5150... Insert Disk 1???

Postby Great Hierophant » 2017-1-17 @ 13:57

I needed files=20 for Manhunter 2 to avoid the Insert Disk 1 error, even though the manual says you should use 30. The two Manhunter games, Gold Rush and the AGI version of King's Quest IV all use the same version of the AGI engine. It is crazy that the default files for MS-DOS, even as late as 6.22, is 8.
http://nerdlypleasures.blogspot.com/ - Nerdly Pleasures - My Retro Gaming, Computing & Tech Blog
User avatar
Great Hierophant
l33t
 
Posts: 2398
Joined: 2003-4-27 @ 08:20

Re: Gold Rush! DOS game on IBM 5150... Insert Disk 1???

Postby 95DosBox » 2017-5-23 @ 21:26

Interesting I thought you didn't run the install to hard drive program which was causing your "insert disk X issue"
Usually you have to run the install / setup program and direct it to the c: drive and it will copy each disk one at a time and merge them correctly.

Other Config.sys parameters you should use or at least there were the default ones back in the day.

Files=30
Buffers=30

Reducing buffers will work to save some conventional memory.

Files = 60 or 100 probably could also work and I don't believe it uses any more conventional memory.
Last edited by 95DosBox on 2017-5-24 @ 00:40, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
95DosBox
Member
 
Posts: 343
Joined: 2017-5-23 @ 09:34

Re: Gold Rush! DOS game on IBM 5150... Insert Disk 1???

Postby Great Hierophant » 2017-5-23 @ 23:51

95DosBox wrote:Interesting I though you didn't run the install to hard drive program which was causing your "insert disk X issue"
Usually you have to run the install / setup program and direct it to the c: drive and it will copy each disk one at a time and merge them correctly.

Other Config.sys parameters you should use or at least there were the default ones back in the day.

Files=30
Buffers=30

Reducing buffers will work to save some conventional memory.

Files = 60 or 100 probably could also work and I don't believe it uses any more conventional memory.


In my some of my systems there is no such thing as the high memory area, upper memory blocks or expanded memory managers. I would notice if a game required more than 20 or so on my 8088s and 286s.
http://nerdlypleasures.blogspot.com/ - Nerdly Pleasures - My Retro Gaming, Computing & Tech Blog
User avatar
Great Hierophant
l33t
 
Posts: 2398
Joined: 2003-4-27 @ 08:20

Re: Gold Rush! DOS game on IBM 5150... Insert Disk 1???

Postby 95DosBox » 2017-5-24 @ 00:42

Which of your systems specially don't have the HMA? I noticed it was either dropped or removed on Skylake.
User avatar
95DosBox
Member
 
Posts: 343
Joined: 2017-5-23 @ 09:34

Previous

Return to Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests