Q3A looks a tad shitty on w2k help

Getting old software/games running on older hardware.

Q3A looks a tad shitty on w2k help

Postby greasemonkey90s » 2017-1-18 @ 18:52

Athlon xp 2600+
Voodoo 3 3000 agp
1gb pc2700 hynix ram
Amigamerlin 2.5 w2k/xp driver

Just seeing how my v3 runs with the cpu not being a bottleneck and well first time trying out w2k.

Well quake 3 runs great but wow the textures look like shit why. Playing on w98 it looks great run good as well.
greasemonkey90s
Member
 
Posts: 119
Joined: 2016-4-13 @ 08:31

Re: Q3A looks a tad shitty on w2k help

Postby kixs » 2017-1-18 @ 18:56

I'd think Voodoo3 is the limiting factor here.

Try different drivers. Maybe even reference ones from 3dfx.
My Amibay: SALE | BUY - Updated on 2019-09-26
User avatar
kixs
l33t
 
Posts: 2361
Joined: 2013-1-31 @ 02:08
Location: Slovenia, EU

Re: Q3A looks a tad shitty on w2k help

Postby greasemonkey90s » 2017-1-18 @ 19:10

kixs wrote:I'd think Voodoo3 is the limiting factor here.

Try different drivers. Maybe even reference ones from 3dfx.


So far i tried all the amigmerlin drivers 3dhq betas ones and same thing. Like i said runs great no problems if anything i get slight tearing because sometimes it goes past 85fps at 1024x768. Ill try some of the refrence ones as well.

I wanted to try the voodoo3 on w2k because they have more current 3rd party driver support on that os.

So you have to enable 3dnow extensions as well?. Like with a k6-2?
greasemonkey90s
Member
 
Posts: 119
Joined: 2016-4-13 @ 08:31

Re: Q3A looks a tad shitty on w2k help

Postby Davros » 2017-1-18 @ 19:30

greasemonkey90s wrote:
Well quake 3 runs great but wow the textures look like shit why.

The voodoo 3 supports a max texture size of 256x256
Guardian of the Sacred Five Terabyte's of Gaming Goodness
User avatar
Davros
l33t
 
Posts: 2634
Joined: 2004-3-01 @ 03:08

Re: Q3A looks a tad shitty on w2k help

Postby greasemonkey90s » 2017-1-18 @ 19:35

I agree but on w98 its looks great at the same res just on w2k it doesnt. Only difference is it runs faster since im going from a p3 667 to athlon xp. Its just look like testures are missing looks bland
greasemonkey90s
Member
 
Posts: 119
Joined: 2016-4-13 @ 08:31

Re: Q3A looks a tad shitty on w2k help

Postby leileilol » 2017-1-19 @ 00:06

r_picmip 0
r_vertexlight 0

3dnow! extensions are used videodriver-side and are automatically used where available
by the way, DOSBox is not for running Windows 9x
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 9808
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Re: Q3A looks a tad shitty on w2k help

Postby collector » 2017-1-19 @ 01:47

Ask old hardware questions in Marvin. This is for Windows games on modern systems.
User avatar
collector
l33t
 
Posts: 4387
Joined: 2003-1-15 @ 10:39

Re: Q3A looks a tad shitty on w2k help

Postby greasemonkey90s » 2017-1-19 @ 16:13

Will do sorry.
greasemonkey90s
Member
 
Posts: 119
Joined: 2016-4-13 @ 08:31

Re: Q3A looks a tad shitty on w2k help

Postby greasemonkey90s » 2017-1-20 @ 15:50

leileilol wrote:r_picmip 0
r_vertexlight 0

3dnow! extensions are used videodriver-side and are automatically used where available


Googled and i found that on v1.32 they released some .dll's that gave athlon xp users a boost. Im still in v1.11.
greasemonkey90s
Member
 
Posts: 119
Joined: 2016-4-13 @ 08:31

Re: Q3A looks a tad shitty on w2k help

Postby leileilol » 2017-1-21 @ 00:12

Those DLLs are out-of-date unsupported curiosity experiments. Update to v1.27g at least (1.30 adds some bloat)
by the way, DOSBox is not for running Windows 9x
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 9808
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03


Return to Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests