Freeing enough Conv. Mem for TES:Arena? (Logs included)

Getting old software/games running on older hardware.

Freeing enough Conv. Mem for TES:Arena? (Logs included)

Postby infiniteclouds » 2017-5-27 @ 01:13

System is WIN98SE / K6 / AWE64 Gold / SB Pro 2
ARENA CD version

The troubleshooting guide that comes with the game says that Arena requires a whopping 603K of Conventional Memory. Currently I have 597K and while the game loads and plays I suspect that this might have something to do with the lock ups that occur when I select AWE 32 for music. They only occur when trying to go into the map in an outdoor area and only when I have that selected for music.

The guide's suggested resolution is to make a boot disk from the installer but that is impossible since selected "Make Boot Floppy" just brings up a blank screen with an ERROR in the top left.

Here's my /MEM logs:

Modules using memory below 1 MB:

Name Total Conventional Upper Memory
-------- ---------------- ---------------- ----------------
MSDOS 38,176 (37K) 38,176 (37K) 0 (0K)
HIMEM 1,168 (1K) 1,168 (1K) 0 (0K)
EMM386 4,320 (4K) 4,320 (4K) 0 (0K)
VIDECDD 5,056 (5K) 0 (0K) 5,056 (5K)
COMMAND 10,144 (10K) 0 (0K) 10,144 (10K)
MSCDEX 28,032 (27K) 0 (0K) 28,032 (27K)
CTMOUSE 3,328 (3K) 0 (0K) 3,328 (3K)
COMMAND 6,976 (7K) 0 (0K) 6,976 (7K)
Free 634,320 (619K) 611,488 (597K) 22,832 (22K)

Memory Summary:

Type of Memory Total Used Free
---------------- ----------- ----------- -----------
Conventional 655,360 43,872 611,488
Upper 76,368 53,536 22,832
Reserved 0 0 0
Extended (XMS)* 133,027,248 644,528 132,382,720
---------------- ----------- ----------- -----------
Total memory 133,758,976 741,936 133,017,040

Total under 1 MB 731,728 97,408 634,320

Total Expanded (EMS) 33,947,648 (32M)
Free Expanded (EMS)* 33,554,432 (32M)

* EMM386 is using XMS memory to simulate EMS memory as needed.
Free EMS memory may change as free XMS memory changes.

Largest executable program size 611,472 (597K)
Largest free upper memory block 22,576 (22K)
MS-DOS is resident in the high memory area.

Free Conventional Memory:

Segment Total
------- -----------------
00AA7 224 (0K)
00AB5 90,464 (88K)
020CB 521,024 (509K)

Total Free: 611,712 (597K)

Free Upper Memory:

Region Largest Free Total Free Total Size
------ -------------- -------------- --------------
1 22,576 (22K) 22,832 (22K) 76,368 (75K)
Conventional Memory Detail:

Segment Total Name Type
------- ---------------- ----------- --------
00000 1,024 (1K) Interrupt Vector
00040 256 (0K) ROM Communication Area
00050 512 (1K) DOS Communication Area
00070 1,424 (1K) IO System Data
CON System Device Driver
AUX System Device Driver
PRN System Device Driver
CLOCK$ System Device Driver
A: - C: System Device Driver
COM1 System Device Driver
LPT1 System Device Driver
LPT2 System Device Driver
LPT3 System Device Driver
CONFIG$ System Device Driver
COM2 System Device Driver
COM3 System Device Driver
COM4 System Device Driver
000C9 5,120 (5K) MSDOS System Data
00209 35,216 (34K) IO System Data
1,024 (1K) Relocated EBIOS data
1,152 (1K) XMSXXXX0 Installed Device=HIMEM
4,304 (4K) EMMXXXX0 Installed Device=EMM386
544 (1K) Sector buffer
464 (0K) Block device tables
2,080 (2K) FILES=40
256 (0K) FCBS=4
21,440 (21K) BUFFERS=40
704 (1K) LASTDRIVE=H
3,072 (3K) STACKS=9,256
00AA2 80 (0K) MSDOS System Program
00AA7 224 (0K) MEM Environment
00AB5 90,464 (88K) MEM Program
020CB 521,024 (509K) MSDOS -- Free --

Upper Memory Detail:

Segment Region Total Name Type
------- ------ ---------------- ----------- --------
0CD5C 1 5,040 (5K) IO System Data
5,008 (5K) OPTICAL Installed Device=VIDECDD
0CE97 1 8,624 (8K) COMMAND Program
0D0B2 1 80 (0K) COMMAND Data
0D0B7 1 1,440 (1K) COMMAND Environment
0D111 1 256 (0K) MSDOS -- Free --
0D121 1 28,032 (27K) MSCDEX Program
0D7F9 1 3,328 (3K) CTMOUSE Program
0D8C9 1 5,536 (5K) COMMAND Program
0DA23 1 1,440 (1K) COMMAND Environment
0DA7D 1 22,576 (22K) MSDOS -- Free --

Memory Summary:

Type of Memory Total Used Free
---------------- ----------- ----------- -----------
Conventional 655,360 43,872 611,488
Upper 76,368 53,536 22,832
Reserved 0 0 0
Extended (XMS)* 133,027,248 644,528 132,382,720
---------------- ----------- ----------- -----------
Total memory 133,758,976 741,936 133,017,040

Total under 1 MB 731,728 97,408 634,320


Handle EMS Name Size
------- -------- ------
0 060000

Total Expanded (EMS) 33,947,648 (32M)
Free Expanded (EMS)* 33,554,432 (32M)

* EMM386 is using XMS memory to simulate EMS memory as needed.
Free EMS memory may change as free XMS memory changes.

Memory accessible using Int 15h 0 (0K)
Largest executable program size 611,472 (597K)
Largest free upper memory block 22,576 (22K)
MS-DOS is resident in the high memory area.

XMS version 3.00; driver version 3.95
EMS version 4.00



My AUTOEXEC

@ECHO OFF
SET BLASTER=A240 I5 D0 H6 P330 E640 T6
SET SOUND=C:\SB16
LH C:\SB16\CTCM
LH C:\SB16\DIAGNOSE /S
LH C:\SB16\MIXERSET /P
LH C:\SB16\AWEUTIL /S

GoTo %config%
:EMC
:XMC
:CMC
LH C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\MSCDEX.EXE /D:OPTICAL
:EM
:XM
:CM
LH C:\DRIVERS\CTMOUSE.EXE /R2
:E
:X
:C
IF EXIST C:\WINDOWS\DOSSTART.BAT CALL C:\WINDOWS\DOSSTART.BAT
REM
REM The following lines have been created by Windows. Do not modify them.
REM
C:
CD C:\
CALL C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND.COM
C:\WINDOWS\WIN.COM /WX


and my CONFIG

DOS=SINGLE
[COMMON]
DOS=HIGH,UMB,NOAUTO
FILES=40
BUFFERS=40
LASTDRIVE=H

[menu]
menuitem=EMC, Expanded memory + Mouse + CD-ROM
menuitem=XMC, Extended memory + Mouse + CD-ROM
menuitem=CMC, Conventional Memory only + Mouse + CD-ROM
menuitem=EM, Expanded memory + Mouse
menuitem=XM, Extended memory + Mouse
menuitem=CM, Conventional memory only + Mouse
menuitem=E, Expanded memory
menuitem=X, Extended memory
menuitem=C, Conventional memory only

menudefault=EMC,10

[EMC]
DEVICE=C:\WINDOWS\HIMEM.SYS /TESTMEM:OFF
DEVICE=C:\WINDOWS\EMM386.EXE RAM
DEVICEHIGH=C:\DRIVERS\VIDECDD.SYS /D:OPTICAL

[XMC]
DEVICE=C:\WINDOWS\HIMEM.SYS /TESTMEM:OFF
DEVICEHIGH=C:\DRIVERS\VIDECDD.SYS /D:OPTICAL

[CMC]
DEVICEHIGH=C:\DRIVERS\VIDECDD.SYS /D:OPTICAL

[EM]
DEVICE=C:\WINDOWS\HIMEM.SYS /TESTMEM:OFF
DEVICE=C:\WINDOWS\EMM386.EXE RAM

[XM]
DEVICE=C:\WINDOWS\HIMEM.SYS /TESTMEM:OFF

[CM]

[E]
DEVICE=C:\WINDOWS\HIMEM.SYS /TESTMEM:OFF
DEVICE=C:\WINDOWS\EMM386.EXE RAM

[X]
DEVICE=C:\WINDOWS\HIMEM.SYS /TESTMEM:OFF

[C]



With MS-DOS at 37K that pretty much means I would need nothing else drawing from conventional memory to still have 603K. The only other things that are taking conventional memory are HIMEM.SYS and EMM386.EXE. The MEM debug shows 32MB available EMS .... Arena's box just says 2MB EMS -- not sure if that helps it how to maneuver stuff around. I've read several posts around here mentioning MEMMAKER but WIN98SE's DOS does not come with that and I can't find it for download anywhere.

The guide also suggests the following

add "i=b000 - b7ff" to the end of "device=c:\...\emm386.exe" in the config.sys

change all device= to devicehigh= .... I already have this in there for drivers and I don't think devicehigh= for HIMEM.SYS or EMM386 lines do anything as opposed to using device=

change FILES=20 to FILES=50

adding LH to... (yeah already have this)
infiniteclouds
Oldbie
 
Posts: 524
Joined: 2013-6-08 @ 19:43

Re: Freeing enough Conv. Mem for TES:Arena? (Logs included)

Postby krcroft » 2017-5-27 @ 13:58

Check out umbpci under this guide: http://www.mdgx.com/umb.htm

Freedos's udvd driver and uide cache manager:
http://help.fdos.org/en/hhstndrd/base/udvd.htm

And a nice canned config.sys and autoexec: http://www.mdgx.com/mem6.htm
User avatar
krcroft
Member
 
Posts: 250
Joined: 2017-4-29 @ 15:07
Location: Ogden's Retreat

Re: Freeing enough Conv. Mem for TES:Arena? (Logs included)

Postby konc » 2017-5-27 @ 15:27

The ~40K of MSDOS is indeed your problem, it's big and all in conventional.
-remove NOAUTO from your DOS=HIGH,UMB line. That should load a part of MDSOS in upper
-your BUFFERS=40 line increases MSDOS allocation by a whopping 10K !!!
User avatar
konc
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1139
Joined: 2013-1-14 @ 15:09
Location: Greece

Re: Freeing enough Conv. Mem for TES:Arena? (Logs included)

Postby infiniteclouds » 2017-5-28 @ 00:13

Thansk Konc -- that was a quick fix.

Krcroft, I looked into that guide and will try out UMBPCI -- it seems appealing to me because I'd like to try to use SMARTDRV since ARENA has to constantly read from the CD during play However UMBPCI can't replace EMM386 for me since I still need the EMS.
Last edited by infiniteclouds on 2017-5-28 @ 00:55, edited 2 times in total.
infiniteclouds
Oldbie
 
Posts: 524
Joined: 2013-6-08 @ 19:43

Re: Freeing enough Conv. Mem for TES:Arena? (Logs included)

Postby krcroft » 2017-5-28 @ 00:37

Good catch, it looks like you still need emm386, but you load it after umbpci.

Search for 'If you DO need EMS' on this page.
http://www.mdgx.com/umb.htm
He provides the relevant chunk of config.sys.

As for logging all of autoexec.bat, probably not - however you could redirect relevant commands one at a time inside autoexec. For example:

Command1 > c:\logs\command1.log
User avatar
krcroft
Member
 
Posts: 250
Joined: 2017-4-29 @ 15:07
Location: Ogden's Retreat

Re: Freeing enough Conv. Mem for TES:Arena? (Logs included)

Postby Jorpho » 2017-5-28 @ 00:50

infiniteclouds wrote:it seems appealing to me because I'd like to try to use SMARTDRV since ARENA has to constantly read from the CD during play.
If you have enough hard drive space, and if Arena doesn't use CD-audio, then you can make a BIN/CUE of the CD and use SHSUCDHD.

(I wonder why MDGX is still using MSCDEX when SHSUCDEX uses much less RAM?)
User avatar
Jorpho
l33t++
 
Posts: 7043
Joined: 2003-2-14 @ 19:50
Location: Canada

Re: Freeing enough Conv. Mem for TES:Arena? (Logs included)

Postby infiniteclouds » 2017-5-28 @ 00:57

krcroft wrote:Good catch, it looks like you still need emm386, but you load it after umbpci.

Search for 'If you DO need EMS' on this page.
http://www.mdgx.com/umb.htm
He provides the relevant chunk of config.sys.

As for logging all of autoexec.bat, probably not - however you could redirect relevant commands one at a time inside autoexec. For example:

Command1 > c:\logs\command1.log


.. it's pretty confusing. I basically copied the
DEVICE=C:\UMBPCI\UMBPCI.SYS /I=D800-EFFF
DEVICE=C:\WINDOWS\EMM386.EXE X=D800-EFFF X=B800-C7FF I=C800-D7FF I=B000-B7FF RAM M3 D=256 AUTO


lines out of there and stuck them in my config -- directly after HIMEM.SYS. The guide states, however that EMM386 has to go directly after UMBPCI.SYS... but then also states that LOWDMA.SYS needs to directly follow UMBPCI.SYS... so I'm not sure which.


Jorpho wrote:
infiniteclouds wrote:it seems appealing to me because I'd like to try to use SMARTDRV since ARENA has to constantly read from the CD during play.
If you have enough hard drive space, and if Arena doesn't use CD-audio, then you can make a BIN/CUE of the CD and use SHSUCDHD.

(I wonder why MDGX is still using MSCDEX when SHSUCDEX uses much less RAM?)


This would be great especially since the loading time has become so much worse since lowering the BUFFERS= line in config.sys -- I'll look into SHSUCDHD -- I was under the impression that there was no 'virtual CD' program that worked for DOS.
infiniteclouds
Oldbie
 
Posts: 524
Joined: 2013-6-08 @ 19:43

Re: Freeing enough Conv. Mem for TES:Arena? (Logs included)

Postby Jorpho » 2017-5-28 @ 06:06

infiniteclouds wrote:lines out of there and stuck them in my config -- directly after HIMEM.SYS. The guide states, however that EMM386 has to go directly after UMBPCI.SYS... but then also states that LOWDMA.SYS needs to directly follow UMBPCI.SYS... so I'm not sure which.
I think the important part is that LOWDMA.SYS needs to be loaded before SMARTDRV.


Jorpho wrote:I was under the impression that there was no 'virtual CD' program that worked for DOS.
The pivotal distinction is that SHSUCDHD cannot be used for games that require CD audio; that would be quite impossible outside of a proper multitasking environment.
User avatar
Jorpho
l33t++
 
Posts: 7043
Joined: 2003-2-14 @ 19:50
Location: Canada

Re: Freeing enough Conv. Mem for TES:Arena? (Logs included)

Postby infiniteclouds » 2017-5-28 @ 08:16

I must be doing something wrong because my access/load times in Arena are noticeably longer than before I did any tinkering from my original config/autoexec which didn't even have smartdrv going -- I'll post my updated exec/config later after I experiment some more.
infiniteclouds
Oldbie
 
Posts: 524
Joined: 2013-6-08 @ 19:43

Re: Freeing enough Conv. Mem for TES:Arena? (Logs included)

Postby CkRtech » 2017-5-28 @ 09:23

What does your MSDOS module size look like in memory right now after NOAUTO has been removed?

I haven't done menus in CONFIG.SYS before, but I don't think this one is built properly. In order for DOS to load HIGH,UMB, HIMEM must already be loaded. The common section is going to execute DOS=HIGH,UMB prior to HIMEM.SYS - heck, prior to anything. MSDOS should only take up somewhere around 9k-13k conventional.

Also - Why do you need so many configurations? I could see a case for EMS vs NOEMS. However, with mouse and CDROM sys file loaded into UMB, they are out of the way of conventional memory and rather harmless. Even MSCDEX is loaded into UMB.

I don't know why Windows needs "CALL C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND.COM." in there. That is just chewing up more memory. Do you normally boot Windows or DOS?
User avatar
CkRtech
Oldbie
 
Posts: 604
Joined: 2014-8-23 @ 00:54
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: Freeing enough Conv. Mem for TES:Arena? (Logs included)

Postby konc » 2017-5-28 @ 10:36

CkRtech wrote: In order for DOS to load HIGH,UMB, HIMEM must already be loaded.

I was about to propose OP to move his DOS= line below HIMEM & EMM386, but I tried it beforehand and it just works as-is. My whole life was also a lie :lol: But this applies for DOS 7.1, maybe what we remember was indeed required for 6.22. And now I have to check and clarify this!
User avatar
konc
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1139
Joined: 2013-1-14 @ 15:09
Location: Greece

Re: Freeing enough Conv. Mem for TES:Arena? (Logs included)

Postby CkRtech » 2017-5-28 @ 10:48

If DOS is loaded HIGH,UMB properly, I don't think his MSDOS allocation should be anywhere near 37K. Even if BUFFERS adds 10K to MSDOS (Does it really do that?), 27K is still way too high if DOS is HIGH,UMB. I would probably just omit or significantly lower BUFFERS if SMARTDRV is going to be used.
User avatar
CkRtech
Oldbie
 
Posts: 604
Joined: 2014-8-23 @ 00:54
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: Freeing enough Conv. Mem for TES:Arena? (Logs included)

Postby dr_st » 2017-5-28 @ 11:06

It makes sense that with DOS 7.1 you don't need to load HIMEM.SYS before DOS=HIGH,UMB, because in the automatic setting, it will already load HIMEM.SYS by default.

Also, with DOS 7.1 you should be able to use BUFFERSHIGH / FILESHIGH / LASTDRIVEHIGH, but according to the documentation, using DOS=AUTO (or just not using DOS=NOAUTO) already takes care of that.

So I think the DOS=NOAUTO is actually your biggest problem. Remove it. And you don't need UMBPCI. My configuration is quite similar to yours + Smartdrive, and I get ~620K of free conventional memory with the Config/Autoexec below:

CONFIG.SYS
DOS=HIGH,UMB
DEVICEHIGH=C:\DOSW\HIMEM.SYS
DEVICEHIGH=C:\DOSW\EMM386.EXE RAM I=B400-B7FF I=CA00-CBFF AUTO
BUFFERS=20
FILES=60
LASTDRIVE=Z
STACKS=9,128
BREAK=ON
SHELL=C:\COMMAND.COM /E:512 /P
DEVICEHIGH=C:\CDROM\VIDECDD.SYS /D:IDECDROM

AUTOEXEC.BAT

@ECHO OFF
LH C:\DOSW\MSCDEX.EXE /D:IDECDROM /E
LH C:\DOSW\SMARTDRV.EXE /X /B:1024
LH C:\DOSW\DOSKEY.COM /INSERT
LH C:\MOUSE\CTMOUSE.EXE /R33 /3
SET COMSPEC=C:\COMMAND.COM
SET COPYCMD=/-Y
SET DIRCMD=/P/O:GEN/A
SET PATH=C:\BATCH;C:\DOSW;G:\WINDOWS;G:\WINDOWS\COMMAND;C:\NC5;C:\NAV;C:\XTG;C:\CDROM;C:\PV;C:\ARCHIVE;C:\MOUSE;C:\DOSUTIL;C:\SB;C:\NETDRV
SET PROMPT=$P$G
SET TEMP=C:\TEMP
SET SOUND=C:\SB
SET MIDI=SYNTH:1 MAP:E MODE:0
SET BLASTER=A220 I5 D1 H5 P330 E620 T6
C:\SB\CTCME.EXE
C:\SB\AWEUTIL.COM /S
C:\SB\MIXERSET.EXE /P /Q
C:\DOSUTIL\FASTKEYS.COM
C:
CD\
CLS


Note the extra I= switches after EMM386. They provide a lot of extra memory blocks, but may cause incompatibility with certain games. If you do not need Smartdrive (~30K) and Doskey (~8K I think), you may be fine without them.
User avatar
dr_st
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1899
Joined: 2015-4-09 @ 07:18

Re: Freeing enough Conv. Mem for TES:Arena? (Logs included)

Postby konc » 2017-5-28 @ 12:22

CkRtech wrote:If DOS is loaded HIGH,UMB properly, I don't think his MSDOS allocation should be anywhere near 37K. Even if BUFFERS adds 10K to MSDOS (Does it really do that?), 27K is still way too high if DOS is HIGH,UMB. I would probably just omit or significantly lower BUFFERS if SMARTDRV is going to be used.

Loading DOS high is solved, in my first post I suggested removing NOAUTO which loads everything >10KB in upper. How much MSDOS weights has nothing to do with DOS being "properly loaded high", but what is added to its allocation like files/buffers/stacks/lastdrive/display.sys etc. Actually you don't even care as long as all the rest are in upper. Play around with some values if you want, I was surprised as well that large values for buffers add so much.


dr_st wrote:It makes sense that with DOS 7.1 you don't need to load HIMEM.SYS before DOS=HIGH,UMB, because in the automatic setting, it will already load HIMEM.SYS by default.

Exactly, the AUTO/NOAUTO is missing from 6.22 which is why the order matters.
User avatar
konc
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1139
Joined: 2013-1-14 @ 15:09
Location: Greece

Re: Freeing enough Conv. Mem for TES:Arena? (Logs included)

Postby CkRtech » 2017-5-28 @ 19:45

I must have picked it up the habit at some point earlier - MSDOS 5, maybe? It has been awhile!

As for the "properly loaded take" - My concern was more for the UMB part of the line rather than the HIGH part of it. So the conventional memory weight of MSDOS does matter if you don't get the rest into UMB. I haven't used NOAUTO and just continued explicitly after Windows 9x came out.

Fun stuff. Thanks for elaborating on it a bit.

For the OP - Personally, I would take out the lines that Windows added to get rid of that extra COMMAND that is hogging conventional as well.
User avatar
CkRtech
Oldbie
 
Posts: 604
Joined: 2014-8-23 @ 00:54
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: Freeing enough Conv. Mem for TES:Arena? (Logs included)

Postby infiniteclouds » 2017-5-29 @ 01:38

I made some changes -- MSDOS doesn't even show in my memory list anymore but instead shows as "SYSTEM" .. I GUESS this is the same? Not sure why this happened.

Here's my new MEM read-out:

Name Total Conventional Upper Memory
-------- ---------------- ---------------- ----------------
SYSTEM 29,264 (29K) 10,640 (10K) 18,624 (18K)
HIMEM 1,168 (1K) 1,168 (1K) 0 (0K)
UMBPCI 176 (0K) 176 (0K) 0 (0K)
EMM386 4,320 (4K) 4,320 (4K) 0 (0K)
LOWDMA 688 (1K) 688 (1K) 0 (0K)
DBLBUFF 2,976 (3K) 2,976 (3K) 0 (0K)
COMMAND 10,144 (10K) 0 (0K) 10,144 (10K)
CTMOUSE 3,328 (3K) 0 (0K) 3,328 (3K)
COMMAND 6,976 (7K) 0 (0K) 6,976 (7K)
VIDECDD 5,024 (5K) 0 (0K) 5,024 (5K)
IFSHLP 2,864 (3K) 0 (0K) 2,864 (3K)
SOFTMPU 8,496 (8K) 0 (0K) 8,496 (8K)
MSCDEX 28,032 (27K) 0 (0K) 28,032 (27K)
Free 677,232 (661K) 635,200 (620K) 42,032 (41K)

Memory Summary:

Type of Memory Total Used Free
---------------- ----------- ----------- -----------
Conventional 655,360 20,160 635,200
Upper 125,520 83,488 42,032
Reserved 0 0 0
Extended (XMS)* 132,978,096 775,600 132,202,496
---------------- ----------- ----------- -----------
Total memory 133,758,976 879,248 132,879,728

Total under 1 MB 780,880 103,648 677,232

Total Expanded (EMS) 33,947,648 (32M)
Free Expanded (EMS)* 33,554,432 (32M)

* EMM386 is using XMS memory to simulate EMS memory as needed.
Free EMS memory may change as free XMS memory changes.

Largest executable program size 635,184 (620K)
Largest free upper memory block 35,296 (34K)
MS-DOS is resident in the high memory area.


Sorry about the format -- I copied it straight out of a .txt dump and the spacing looks fine in the preview.

Assuming SYSTEM = MSDOS it's only taking 10K now.

My AUTOEXEC

@ECHO OFF
SET BLASTER=A240 I5 D0 H6 P330 E640 T6
SET SOUND=C:\SB16
LH C:\SB16\CTCM
LH C:\SB16\DIAGNOSE /S
LH C:\SB16\MIXERSET /P
LH C:\SB16\AWEUTIL /S
LH C:\SOFTMPU\SOFTMPU.EXE /SB:240 /IRQ:5 /MPU:330
SET BLASTER=A220 I7 D1 T4

GoTo %config%
:EMC
:XMC
:CMC
LH C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\MSCDEX.EXE /D:OPTICAL
:EM
:XM
:CM
LH C:\DRIVERS\CTMOUSE.EXE /R2
:E
:X
:C
IF EXIST C:\WINDOWS\DOSSTART.BAT CALL C:\WINDOWS\DOSSTART.BAT
REM
REM The following lines have been created by Windows. Do not modify them.
REM
C:
CD C:\
CALL C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND.COM
C:\WINDOWS\WIN.COM /WX

((note: the first SET BLASTER= is for my AWE64 and the 2nd is for my SBP2.0 and putting the 2nd SET BLASTER helps with some games which throw an error when H= P= and E= values are included in the line))
and CONFIG

DOS=SINGLE
[COMMON]
DOS=HIGH,UMB
FILES=60
BUFFERS=20
LASTDRIVE=H

[menu]
menuitem=EMC, Expanded memory + Mouse + CD-ROM
menuitem=XMC, Extended memory + Mouse + CD-ROM
menuitem=CMC, Conventional Memory only + Mouse + CD-ROM
menuitem=EM, Expanded memory + Mouse
menuitem=XM, Extended memory + Mouse
menuitem=CM, Conventional memory only + Mouse
menuitem=E, Expanded memory
menuitem=X, Extended memory
menuitem=C, Conventional memory only

menudefault=EMC,10

[EMC]
DEVICE=C:\WINDOWS\HIMEM.SYS /TESTMEM:OFF
DEVICE=C:\UMBPCI\UMBPCI.SYS /I=D800-EFFF
DEVICE=C:\WINDOWS\EMM386.EXE X=D800-EFFF X=B800-C7FF I=C800-D7FF I=B000-B7FF RAM M3 D=256 AUTO
DEVICE=C:\UMBPCI\LOWDMA.SYS
DEVICEHIGH=C:\DRIVERS\VIDECDD.SYS /D:OPTICAL

[XMC]
DEVICE=C:\WINDOWS\HIMEM.SYS /TESTMEM:OFF
DEVICEHIGH=C:\DRIVERS\VIDECDD.SYS /D:OPTICAL

[CMC]
DEVICEHIGH=C:\DRIVERS\VIDECDD.SYS /D:OPTICAL

[EM]
DEVICE=C:\WINDOWS\HIMEM.SYS /TESTMEM:OFF
DEVICE=C:\WINDOWS\EMM386.EXE RAM

[XM]
DEVICE=C:\WINDOWS\HIMEM.SYS /TESTMEM:OFF

[CM]

[E]
DEVICE=C:\WINDOWS\HIMEM.SYS /TESTMEM:OFF
DEVICE=C:\WINDOWS\EMM386.EXE RAM

[X]
DEVICE=C:\WINDOWS\HIMEM.SYS /TESTMEM:OFF

[C]


I have absolutely no idea about the strings after EMM386 and UMBPCI I just copy-pasta'd them from mdgx.com.

CkRtech wrote:
Also - Why do you need so many configurations? I could see a case for EMS vs NOEMS. However, with mouse and CDROM sys file loaded into UMB, they are out of the way of conventional memory and rather harmless. Even MSCDEX is loaded into UMB.

I don't know why Windows needs "CALL C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND.COM." in there. That is just chewing up more memory. Do you normally boot Windows or DOS?


I'm new to DOS and I just used Phil's .pif file from his website, which includes all these configurations. Yes I boot to both Windows 98 and DOS on this machine.

dr_st wrote:So I think the DOS=NOAUTO is actually your biggest problem. Remove it.

It definitely was.

And you don't need UMBPCI. My configuration is quite similar to yours + Smartdrive, and I get ~620K of free conventional memory with the Config/Autoexec below:


STACKS= ? I don't have whatever this is -- MDGX's config has 0,0 .. should I set this to 9, 128 as you have?
BREAK= ON -- I looked this up ... it just lets you use CTRL+PAUSE/BREAK to stop a prompt from running ?

SHELL= I don't need?

Also curious about SET MIDI= line since I don't use it and my SC-55 is detected and plays just fine?

I'd really like to try SMARTDRV to speed things up but it didn't seem to do anything for me.

MDGX.com seemed to suggest these settings...

LH SMARTDRV 2048 16 /B:4096 /E:4096 /L in autoexec and also in the config

INSTALLHIGH=C:\WINDOWS\SMARTDRV.EXE 2048 16 /B:4096 /E:4096 /L -- installhigh doesn't seem to fit with everything else I've seen in there -- which is DEVICEHIGH=

I tried some of these but it didn't seem to speed anything up.


Thanks very much for all of the sharing -- I appreciate the help.
infiniteclouds
Oldbie
 
Posts: 524
Joined: 2013-6-08 @ 19:43

Re: Freeing enough Conv. Mem for TES:Arena? (Logs included)

Postby Jorpho » 2017-5-29 @ 02:09

I'm new to DOS and I just used Phil's .pif file from his website, which includes all these configurations.
While it might be nice to see that many options, you really won't have much use for most of them.

Did you try SHSUCDHD already?

As noted above, the FreeDOS UIDE.SYS can also cache data and might be a better idea than messing with Smartdrv.

The SHELL line is unlikely to do any harm; the SET MIDI line is only used for Sound Blaste cards. If I'm not mistaken, INSTALLHIGH can be used in the config.sys to load programs normally loaded in autoexec.bat.
User avatar
Jorpho
l33t++
 
Posts: 7043
Joined: 2003-2-14 @ 19:50
Location: Canada

Re: Freeing enough Conv. Mem for TES:Arena? (Logs included)

Postby infiniteclouds » 2017-5-29 @ 04:12

I haven't tried it yet -- where/which version should I download? Some of them say a replacement for MSCDEX which I don't want since I'll need that for my real CDs (audio CD), yes? Also I don't see mention of UIDE.SYS here... is it on the UMBPCI page?
infiniteclouds
Oldbie
 
Posts: 524
Joined: 2013-6-08 @ 19:43

Re: Freeing enough Conv. Mem for TES:Arena? (Logs included)

Postby gdjacobs » 2017-5-29 @ 04:18

Curious why COMMAND.COM is being loaded twice. Also, IFSHLP and DBLBUF can potentially be excluded depending on what programs you run from command line. To do so, you would need HIMEM.SYS loaded prior to DOS=HIGH,UMB, then you can include NOAUTO, so DOS=HIGH,UMB,NOAUTO should work.

SHSUCDX is an MSCDEX replacement. I haven't had any problems with audio CDs or anything else working after the change, although I think some people have had troubles with esoteric CD drivers not being compatible.
User avatar
gdjacobs
l33t++
 
Posts: 6434
Joined: 2015-11-03 @ 05:51
Location: The Great White North

Re: Freeing enough Conv. Mem for TES:Arena? (Logs included)

Postby infiniteclouds » 2017-5-29 @ 04:45

gdjacobs wrote:Curious why COMMAND.COM is being loaded twice.


Not sure. Also not sure why MS-DOS reads 'SYSTEM' now.
Also, IFSHLP and DBLBUF can potentially be excluded depending on what programs you run from command line. To do so, you would need HIMEM.SYS loaded prior to DOS=HIGH,UMB, then you can include NOAUTO, so DOS=HIGH,UMB,NOAUTO should work.


I just tried DEVICE=C:\WINDOWS\HIMEM.SYS /TESTMEM:OFF right underneath DOS=SINGLE and before DOS=HIGH,UMB,NOAUTO and it reverted "SYSTEM" back to "MS-DOS" and increased the conventional memory usage from ~10K to ~28K. I think NOAUTO needs to remain off.

SHSUCDX is an MSCDEX replacement. I haven't had any problems with audio CDs or anything else working after the change, although I think some people have had troubles with esoteric CD drivers not being compatible.


Where should I get this? I'm concerned about the version since I found a post on Vogons from 2011 where it was stated:

No mixed-mode cd support, anything with CDA is not playing correctly.
SHSUCDX is not 100% compatible with mscdex.


Also, I tried REMarking "CALL C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND.COM" and when I rebooted the moment the autoexec finished loading it restarted my computer again and went straight to Windows 98. When I returned to MS-DOS mode it was unremarked -- so this needs to not be messed with either, it seems.
Last edited by infiniteclouds on 2017-5-29 @ 05:01, edited 1 time in total.
infiniteclouds
Oldbie
 
Posts: 524
Joined: 2013-6-08 @ 19:43

Next

Return to Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests