Harvester not running on anything.

Getting old software/games running on older hardware.

Harvester not running on anything.

Postby xplus93 » 2017-6-10 @ 07:36

I can't get this game to run. Every time I load it i get a "general protection fault" error. I read the readme and I should have my memory configured properly in my config.sys and autoexec.bat.

Code: Select all
@ECHO OFF
C:\DOS\MSCDEX.EXE /D:MSCD001 /l:D
SET SOUND=C:\SB16
SET BLASTER=A220 I5 D1 H5 P330 E620 T6
SET MIDI=SYNTH:1 MAP:E MODE:0
SET CTCM=C:\CTCM
C:\SB16\DIAGNOSE /S /W=C:\WINDOWS
C:\SB16\AWEUTIL /S
C:\SB16\MIXERSET /P /Q
C:\CTCM\CTCU /S /W=C:\WINDOWS
LH /L:0;1,45456 /S C:\DOS\SMARTDRV.EXE /X
PROMPT $p$g
PATH C:\WINDOWS;C:\DOS;C:\WIZ
SET TEMP=C:\DOS


Code: Select all
DEVICE=C:\DOS\HIMEM.SYS /testmem:off
DEVICE=C:\DOS\EMM386.EXE AUTO
BUFFERS=15,0
FILES=40
DOS=UMB
LASTDRIVE=E
FCBS=4,0
DEVICEHIGH /L:1,33760 =C:\DOS\CD1.SYS /D:MSCD001
DEVICE=C:\CTCM\CTCM.EXE
DEVICEHIGH /L:1,12048 =C:\DOS\SETVER.EXE
DOS=HIGH
FILES=30
DEVICEHIGH /L:1,4560 =C:\WINDOWS\IFSHLP.SYS
STACKS=9,256
XPS 466V|486-DX2|64MB|#9 GXE 1MB|SB32 PnP
Presario 4814|PMMX-233|128MB|Trio64
XPS R450|PII-450|384MB|TNT2 Pro| TB Montego
XPS B1000r|PIII-1GHz|512MB|GF2 PRO 64MB|SB Live!
XPS Gen2|P4 EE 3.4|2GB|GF 6800 GT OC|Audigy 2
User avatar
xplus93
Oldbie
 
Posts: 561
Joined: 2016-12-25 @ 22:56

Re: Harvester not running on anything.

Postby Jorpho » 2017-6-10 @ 16:21

First question: is this an original copy of the game installed from its original disks, or a version downloaded from some random place on the Internet?

I know the game is in Steam these days for use with current systems, but I don't know if that version can be easily transferred to authentic DOS hardware.
User avatar
Jorpho
l33t++
 
Posts: 7043
Joined: 2003-2-14 @ 19:50
Location: Canada

Re: Harvester not running on anything.

Postby xplus93 » 2017-6-11 @ 17:01

Jorpho wrote:First question: is this an original copy of the game installed from its original disks, or a version downloaded from some random place on the Internet?

I know the game is in Steam these days for use with current systems, but I don't know if that version can be easily transferred to authentic DOS hardware.


It's a download of what I think is original copies. It was 3 ISOs and has the proper DOS and win 3.1 installers on it.
XPS 466V|486-DX2|64MB|#9 GXE 1MB|SB32 PnP
Presario 4814|PMMX-233|128MB|Trio64
XPS R450|PII-450|384MB|TNT2 Pro| TB Montego
XPS B1000r|PIII-1GHz|512MB|GF2 PRO 64MB|SB Live!
XPS Gen2|P4 EE 3.4|2GB|GF 6800 GT OC|Audigy 2
User avatar
xplus93
Oldbie
 
Posts: 561
Joined: 2016-12-25 @ 22:56

Re: Harvester not running on anything.

Postby sf78 » 2017-6-12 @ 17:42

I installed my version of the original copy where the first disc is burned from an ISO as the original went missing. I had no problem installing or launching the game from Win95 DOS prompt. The specs are as follows:

Pentium 150
40 Mb RAM
ESS Audio Drive (from GUS MAX)

I didn't try it with real GUS, but had trouble trying to run the game on my 486/66 with SB16 (freezes on the intro vid). Might want to switch the sound card just to be sure.
sf78
Oldbie
 
Posts: 595
Joined: 2014-10-16 @ 15:05
Location: Finland


Return to Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AlessandroB and 2 guests