Q3A crashing to desktop.

Getting old software/games running on older hardware.

Q3A crashing to desktop.

Postby Jade Falcon » 2017-7-26 @ 04:26

I can't seem to get quake 3 to work on my 9x box.

When it start the game I get a grey screen and the have crashes to the desktop a few seconds later
No error or blue console window. The desktops screen Rez is set to 640x480 after the game crashes.
I installed the games opengl driver but no go.


System is
400mhz celly slot1
64mb ram
440lx broad
Sb16
98se (clean install aside from sp3)
G400max and voodoo1

Does the game have a console log or anything?
Any idea?
Last edited by Jade Falcon on 2017-7-26 @ 17:32, edited 1 time in total.
Jade Falcon
BANNED
 
Posts: 3217
Joined: 2016-5-08 @ 19:23
Location: Nar Shaddaa.

Re: Q3A crashing to desktop.

Postby Putas » 2017-7-26 @ 11:06

The game should run with both of your cards, on the Voodoo only at 16 bit depth. Other OpenGL applications are working?

enable console logging 0=no log 1=buffered 2=continuous 3=append
User avatar
Putas
Oldbie
 
Posts: 785
Joined: 2010-11-21 @ 06:58
Location: q3dm6

Re: Q3A crashing to desktop.

Postby Jade Falcon » 2017-7-26 @ 14:47

Putas wrote:enable console logging 0=no log 1=buffered 2=continuous 3=append

Well the game will not even start, do I add that to the end of the EXE?

Putas wrote:The game should run with both of your cards, on the Voodoo only at 16 bit depth. Other OpenGL applications are working?


I don't know, I haven't tried any. Will do tonight.
Jade Falcon
BANNED
 
Posts: 3217
Joined: 2016-5-08 @ 19:23
Location: Nar Shaddaa.

Re: Q3A crashing to desktop.

Postby Jade Falcon » 2017-7-26 @ 21:24

Look like it's a OpenGL problem. Ut99 will not work in OpenGL ether
Jade Falcon
BANNED
 
Posts: 3217
Joined: 2016-5-08 @ 19:23
Location: Nar Shaddaa.

Re: Q3A crashing to desktop.

Postby Jade Falcon » 2017-7-26 @ 22:01

Installed the newest drivers for the g400max and the game crashes to the console with the fallowing error.

q_strncpyz: null src
Jade Falcon
BANNED
 
Posts: 3217
Joined: 2016-5-08 @ 19:23
Location: Nar Shaddaa.

Re: Q3A crashing to desktop.

Postby Jade Falcon » 2017-7-29 @ 21:43

Swapped out the g400 max for a gf3 and the game running, but at less then 1fps in the menu even.
Any advice?

Works fine on the voidoo1
Jade Falcon
BANNED
 
Posts: 3217
Joined: 2016-5-08 @ 19:23
Location: Nar Shaddaa.

Re: Q3A crashing to desktop.

Postby darry » 2017-7-30 @ 01:34

Do you have any opengl32.dll files other than the Microsoft Windows one lying around in your system path or in the affected games' directories ? If you do, they are probably copies of the 3Dfx miniGL driver, which would explain why (only) the Voodoo works .
darry
Member
 
Posts: 355
Joined: 2014-1-20 @ 06:27
Location: Canada


Return to Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Caluser2000 and 2 guests