HL 1 on pentium 133 :)

Getting old software/games running on older hardware.

HL 1 on pentium 133 :)

Postby viktorcech » 2017-7-30 @ 14:35

pretty fast..

https://youtu.be/fisb1sr7_Rk

dtk pam-0056l, 128 mb edo ram, s3 virge-dx/gx pci (375/385), CF hdd 8gb
viktorcech
Newbie
 
Posts: 53
Joined: 2014-5-18 @ 17:40

Re: HL 1 on pentium 133 :)

Postby F2bnp » 2017-7-30 @ 16:50

Minimum System requirements in the 90's usually just meant that you'd be able to run the .exe and nothing more. :lol:
User avatar
F2bnp
l33t
 
Posts: 3496
Joined: 2007-9-23 @ 10:19

Re: HL 1 on pentium 133 :)

Postby stranno » 2017-7-30 @ 18:06

I've seen more impressive things.

Like Doom 3 running on voodoo sli (through glide to opengl wrapper OC) or Crysis running at 20FPS in a crappy Intel Atom Z3735G.
User avatar
stranno
Newbie
 
Posts: 99
Joined: 2016-2-28 @ 19:55

Re: HL 1 on pentium 133 :)

Postby Davros » 2017-7-30 @ 19:57

Whats special about HL1 on a p133

I. MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS
Windows(r) 95, Windows 98 or Windows NT 4.0
Pentium 133+, 24 MB RAM
SVGA, high color (16-bit)
Guardian of the Sacred Five Terabyte's of Gaming Goodness
User avatar
Davros
l33t
 
Posts: 2504
Joined: 2004-3-01 @ 03:08

Re: HL 1 on pentium 133 :)

Postby leileilol » 2017-7-30 @ 20:11

Technically you can "play" Half-Life on a 486DX2.... not recommended of course ;)
Voodoo2s aren't 100mhz stock
Geforce256 isn't released as a beta on New Years '99 under the Quadro brand
DOS gaming isn't a bilinear 320x200 16:10
DOS PCs aren't better than the Macintosh
DOSBox is not for running Windows 9x
SGL != Glide
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 9365
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Re: HL 1 on pentium 133 :)

Postby Rekrul » 2017-7-31 @ 01:38

viktorcech wrote:pretty fast..

https://youtu.be/fisb1sr7_Rk

dtk pam-0056l, 128 mb edo ram, s3 virge-dx/gx pci (375/385), CF hdd 8gb

I had the Half-Life: Day One demo on my old P233 system with a Voodoo Banshee graphics card and 64MB of RAM. It played fine (smoother than in that video), until I started getting into firefights with the military. Then the framerate went down the toilet when there was too much action on the screen.
Rekrul
Member
 
Posts: 324
Joined: 2005-2-10 @ 23:14

Re: HL 1 on pentium 133 :)

Postby Azarien » 2017-7-31 @ 10:08

stranno wrote:Doom 3 running on voodoo sli (through glide to opengl wrapper OC)


I think you mean OpenGL to Glide wrapper.
Azarien
Oldbie
 
Posts: 561
Joined: 2015-5-14 @ 07:14

Re: HL 1 on pentium 133 :)

Postby collector » 2017-7-31 @ 12:09

Ask old hardware and driver/configuration questions in Marvin. This forum is for old Windows games on modern systems.
User avatar
collector
l33t
 
Posts: 4229
Joined: 2003-1-15 @ 10:39

Re: HL 1 on pentium 133 :)

Postby stranno » 2017-7-31 @ 14:20

Azarien wrote:
stranno wrote:Doom 3 running on voodoo sli (through glide to opengl wrapper OC)


I think you mean OpenGL to Glide wrapper.

Yes :-P
User avatar
stranno
Newbie
 
Posts: 99
Joined: 2016-2-28 @ 19:55

Re: HL 1 on pentium 133 :)

Postby thepirategamerboy12 » 2017-8-06 @ 13:24

I managed to run Half-Life 1 on my NEC Ready 7022 (Pentium 100 40mb ram and 1mb vram,) actually. It's much worse than in viktorcech's video, as I'd kinda expect. For some reason I still think it's neat that it runs at all on a machine this old (1995.) I played up to when the accident occurs, and I swear that took at least 40 minutes to get to because the framerate was so low and there was actually quite a pause between everyone's sentences. Maybe I could post a quick video of that someday, although I already uninstalled the game to free up space and I also hate Sierra Utilites.
User avatar
thepirategamerboy12
Member
 
Posts: 133
Joined: 2015-3-20 @ 14:53

Re: HL 1 on pentium 133 :)

Postby TheGouldFish » 2017-11-18 @ 20:54

I used to play HL1 on a P133, with only 32mb of ram It did have a voodoo 1 card :)
But it used to play much better then that video, as I completed it a few times and used to enjoy making maps as well.
User avatar
TheGouldFish
Newbie
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 2017-11-18 @ 20:44

Re: HL 1 on pentium 133 :)

Postby BeginnerGuy » 2017-11-18 @ 22:28

This reminds me of the first time I played Doom.. "low quality", smallest possible screen size, couple frames per week, enjoyed the entire game :cool:
Sup. I like computers. Are you a computer?
User avatar
BeginnerGuy
Oldbie
 
Posts: 614
Joined: 2016-12-19 @ 08:32
Location: North Carolina, US

Re: HL 1 on pentium 133 :)

Postby r.cade » 2017-11-19 @ 04:18

BeginnerGuy wrote:This reminds me of the first time I played Doom.. "low quality", smallest possible screen size, couple frames per week, enjoyed the entire game :cool:


Did it run on a 286 or 386sx like that or something? I thought by the time this was released, 486 was cheap and plentiful... :)

Or maybe I just missed the early days- I switched from Amiga to PC in mid to late 1994.
r.cade
Newbie
 
Posts: 99
Joined: 2014-7-22 @ 14:32

Re: HL 1 on pentium 133 :)

Postby vandenabeele andries » 2017-11-20 @ 17:16

HL 1 ... ugh ... the hours lost on that game.
Impulse 101 is engraved in my soul.
Ran HL1 first time on my MMX. Did play better than this.
User avatar
vandenabeele andries
Newbie
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 2017-11-18 @ 16:18
Location: Flemish fields

Re: HL 1 on pentium 133 :)

Postby BeginnerGuy » 2017-11-20 @ 17:38

r.cade wrote:
BeginnerGuy wrote:This reminds me of the first time I played Doom.. "low quality", smallest possible screen size, couple frames per week, enjoyed the entire game :cool:


Did it run on a 286 or 386sx like that or something? I thought by the time this was released, 486 was cheap and plentiful... :)

Or maybe I just missed the early days- I switched from Amiga to PC in mid to late 1994.


I wish, in April of 1994 it was still $2000 to walk out of the store with a DX2 66 with 8mb ram and a 14 inch CRT. $2500 for a DX4 100. HP Vectras with 486SX33 were getting affordable (around $1000). A pentium 66 went for $5000+. I just checked Infoworld April 1994 for those prices :lol:

I played it on a 386DX 25 or 33 (can't remember which, my dad upgraded my 286 with parts he brought home from work). My father had a 486DX33 that ran it nicely (based on my memory, which would be pretty slow today). Was still fun playing it over the home network he had setup to separate rooms in the house. No skewed memory though, I remember it running annoyingly slow on the 386.
Sup. I like computers. Are you a computer?
User avatar
BeginnerGuy
Oldbie
 
Posts: 614
Joined: 2016-12-19 @ 08:32
Location: North Carolina, US

Re: HL 1 on pentium 133 :)

Postby mcobit » 2017-11-26 @ 10:19

Try 320x240 in software mode. Should run fine.
mcobit
Member
 
Posts: 130
Joined: 2017-11-15 @ 18:45

Re: HL 1 on pentium 133 :)

Postby .legaCy » 2017-11-26 @ 15:40

I really don't think so, maybe with one voodoo 2 you might be able to run the game almost playable.
back in the day i had problems running hl1 in software mode at 640x480 on a celeron 333mhz(almost unplayable)
User avatar
.legaCy
Member
 
Posts: 480
Joined: 2016-4-08 @ 23:11
Location: Brazil

Re: HL 1 on pentium 133 :)

Postby mwdmeyer » 2018-1-25 @ 05:10

I played HL1 on a Pentium 133 overclocked to 166 with TNT2 M64 PCI (yes the video card was very overkill for the computer).

In small areas 1024x768 ran okay, but as soon as any real action happened even 640x480 was very slow.

It was hard to finish the game on the Pentium 1. I later upgraded to a Duron 800 and that resolved the issues :D

I heard HL1 likes MMX, I should do some benchmarking to compare in future.....
Vogons Wiki - http://vogonswiki.com
User avatar
mwdmeyer
Member
 
Posts: 308
Joined: 2012-3-06 @ 11:35
Location: Sydney, Australia


Return to Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest