Gabriel Knight CD Changing my SB AWE64 Mixer settings on Quit

Getting old software/games running on older hardware.

Gabriel Knight CD Changing my SB AWE64 Mixer settings on Quit

Postby Leoprime » 2017-12-06 @ 05:28

Was playing GKCD with General MIDI out to my SC-55 on my retro K6-III+ 400 setup, but everytime I quit the game my mixsettings are set to a weird default with my line in set completely to the bottom. I have to reset my mixer settings in MIXERSET.EXE every time I play the game, but no other game I have does this. Anyway to prevent this?
Leoprime
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2017-12-06 @ 05:21

Re: Gabriel Knight CD Changing my SB AWE64 Mixer settings on Quit

Postby jesolo » 2017-12-06 @ 07:29

You could try to create a small batch file (like "sound.bat" or "vol.bat") and insert the mixerset command line in there with the relevant parameters.
Once you exit the game, just type in whatever you called your batch file.

You could also try a specific batch file for your game by inserting the game executable first and then the mixerset command line.
Once you exit the game, it can then run the mixerset command line automatically but, I'm not sure whether this will always work.
Back in the day, I used a "menu" program that enabled me to insert custom command lines for my games (menu items).
User avatar
jesolo
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1314
Joined: 2014-6-24 @ 19:04
Location: South Africa

Re: Gabriel Knight CD Changing my SB AWE64 Mixer settings on Quit

Postby Leoprime » 2017-12-06 @ 15:50

The game has its own batch file to check for the CD so I just edited that, added MIXERSET.EXE /P /Q and it worked like a charm. Thanks for the idea!
Leoprime
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2017-12-06 @ 05:21

Re: Gabriel Knight CD Changing my SB AWE64 Mixer settings on Quit

Postby clueless1 » 2017-12-06 @ 16:34

Does the 1.0B patch do the same thing? I just glanced at it and saw it was related to the SET command.
http://www.sierrahelp.com/Patches-Updat ... dates.html
The more I learn, the more I realize how much I don't know.
Let's benchmark our systems with cache disabled
DOS PCI Graphics Card Benchmarks
User avatar
clueless1
l33t
 
Posts: 3578
Joined: 2015-12-22 @ 17:43
Location: Midwest US

Re: Gabriel Knight CD Changing my SB AWE64 Mixer settings on Quit

Postby Leoprime » 2017-12-07 @ 18:18

Before implementing this change I tried the patch and still had the same issue, so it doesn't fix it. I think the patch has something to do with the game's IRQ settings, which isn't related to the Mixer settings to my knowledge.
Leoprime
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2017-12-06 @ 05:21


Return to Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests