Connecting DOS Machine to LAN

Getting old software/games running on older hardware.

Connecting DOS Machine to LAN

Postby xDeathCon » 2017-12-11 @ 03:13

I recently acquired a Linksys ether 16 ISA card for use to connect to my network so I can transfer files or play multiplayer games. I need it for file transfer due to the fact that my CD-ROM drive is dead and my floppy drive is failing. It takes forever to get files onto the PC through floppy. I managed to get LAN Manager 2.2 on the computer. Now I'm having trouble configuring it to work.

The card is NE2000 or Compatible. My network uses DHCP. The router is also Linksys. A Linksys EA6500. I don't know what settings I have done wrong. Does anyone know how to configure this?

EDIT: I tried both LAN Manager and MS-Client. The error I keep getting on all the protocols is "unable to bind". All similar models are NE2000 Compatible. I choose this and everything seems to work except the protocols. I'll post some pictures of things that could help...

Some IRQ data and stuff...
Image

Some basic computer info...
Image

This " unable to bind" happens using both MS-Client and LAN Manager
Image
Last edited by xDeathCon on 2017-12-12 @ 02:58, edited 1 time in total.
xDeathCon
Newbie
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2017-11-23 @ 00:53

Re: Connecting DOS Machine to LAN

Postby dr.zeissler » 2017-12-11 @ 07:23

I always use the MS-Client 3.0.
Extract both Images and copy it to one disk.
If your Adapter is compatible it should work right out of the box.
Don't Forget to "add Protokoll" and choose "tcpip".
I delete the content the msclient copies in the autoexec.bat.
I creat a lan.bat and start this when I want to have a Network Connection.
CPU: PII 133-333 MOBO: SNI-D981 RAM: 512- FDD: Dualfloppy 3,5"HD/5,25"HD - 3,5"HD - 5,25"DD ISA-Catweasel HDD: 2x40GB - DVD
ISA(3): Audician32-S2Dreamblaster - GusACE PCI(3): Monster3D- Intel NW AGP(1): 3dfx V3-3000
dr.zeissler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1432
Joined: 2011-9-28 @ 15:33

Re: Connecting DOS Machine to LAN

Postby jheronimus » 2017-12-11 @ 08:41

I use Windows 3.11 + Microsoft TCP/IP-32 3.11b + Total Commander. Win 3.11 has drivers for my 3COM 3C509 built-in.

Files are hosted via FTP on my headless Intel NUC running Ubuntu and vsftpd.

The Win 3.11 PC is connected to $5 Asus router configured in repeater mode so that I can have Wi-Fi on my retro machine.
Socket 7: Pentium 166; 64MB RAM; Matrox Millenium+Voodoo 1; AWE32 PnP w/28MB + GUS PnP Pro w/8MB
Slot 1: Pentium III 500; 384MB RAM; Voodoo 5 5500 AGP; AWE64 Value w/8MB + Diamond Monster Sound MX300 + SoundBlaster Live!
User avatar
jheronimus
Oldbie
 
Posts: 825
Joined: 2015-12-10 @ 00:09
Location: Moscow

Re: Connecting DOS Machine to LAN

Postby Kubik » 2017-12-11 @ 09:53

There's also Brad Driver's boot floppy: http://www.netbootdisk.com
Kubik
Member
 
Posts: 141
Joined: 2017-11-06 @ 08:24

Re: Connecting DOS Machine to LAN

Postby keropi » 2017-12-11 @ 11:19

mTCP's FTPserver: http://www.brutman.com/mTCP
User avatar
keropi
l33t++
 
Posts: 6561
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 06:45
Location: Greece

Re: Connecting DOS Machine to LAN

Postby xDeathCon » 2017-12-11 @ 21:56

dr.zeissler wrote:I always use the MS-Client 3.0.
Extract both Images and copy it to one disk.
If your Adapter is compatible it should work right out of the box.
Don't Forget to "add Protokoll" and choose "tcpip".
I delete the content the msclient copies in the autoexec.bat.
I creat a lan.bat and start this when I want to have a Network Connection.

Does this client enable NetBIOS?

OK it does.
xDeathCon
Newbie
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2017-11-23 @ 00:53

Re: Connecting DOS Machine to LAN

Postby xDeathCon » 2017-12-12 @ 05:38

Edited main post. Still doesn't work.
xDeathCon
Newbie
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2017-11-23 @ 00:53

Re: Connecting DOS Machine to LAN

Postby dr.zeissler » 2017-12-12 @ 06:01

Get an EtherlinkIII and everything will be ok because you can configure it very simple.
CPU: PII 133-333 MOBO: SNI-D981 RAM: 512- FDD: Dualfloppy 3,5"HD/5,25"HD - 3,5"HD - 5,25"DD ISA-Catweasel HDD: 2x40GB - DVD
ISA(3): Audician32-S2Dreamblaster - GusACE PCI(3): Monster3D- Intel NW AGP(1): 3dfx V3-3000
dr.zeissler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1432
Joined: 2011-9-28 @ 15:33

Re: Connecting DOS Machine to LAN

Postby zyga64 » 2017-12-12 @ 10:21

xDeathCon wrote:Edited main post. Still doesn't work.


Try to find packet driver for you card. If you'll not be able to find driver for this particulal D-Link Card, try NE2000 one.

http://www.crynwr.com/drivers/
http://www.georgpotthast.de/sioux/packet.htm

If your card is PNP, you can check it's presence in Speedsys 4.78. Just run it, cancel tests and press 'I'
Maybe there is dedicated tool for your card which let's you configure the parameters. Most of the ISA/PCI network adapters have such a tool.
If I remember correctly for RTL8019 you can choose between NE2000 compatibility and native mode.

Check if card is properly detected. If it is, I have two proposals:
- setup ftp server somewhere in your lan (for windows FileZilla is the simplest one), and try ftp client built-in Necromancer DOS Navigator direct link for sfx archive
- if you have linux machine, try EtherDFS it works great (even if network share is not on FAT partition, just make sure to rename all files to 8+3 DOS limitation + all lowercase).
TC430HX / P200MMX / 64 MB / Virge DX / YMF718 / DOS / Win98
BX Master / P!!! 450 / 256MB / Diamond Viper V550 / AWE64 / DOS / Win98SE
775i65G / E2160 / 1GB / Ti4200 / YMF724 / DOS / Win98SE / XPSP1
zyga64
Newbie
 
Posts: 87
Joined: 2014-3-12 @ 14:38
Location: Poland

Re: Connecting DOS Machine to LAN

Postby xDeathCon » 2017-12-13 @ 02:43

zyga64 wrote:
xDeathCon wrote:Edited main post. Still doesn't work.


Try to find packet driver for you card. If you'll not be able to find driver for this particulal D-Link Card, try NE2000 one.

http://www.crynwr.com/drivers/
http://www.georgpotthast.de/sioux/packet.htm

If your card is PNP, you can check it's presence in Speedsys 4.78. Just run it, cancel tests and press 'I'
Maybe there is dedicated tool for your card which let's you configure the parameters. Most of the ISA/PCI network adapters have such a tool.
If I remember correctly for RTL8019 you can choose between NE2000 compatibility and native mode.

Check if card is properly detected. If it is, I have two proposals:
- setup ftp server somewhere in your lan (for windows FileZilla is the simplest one), and try ftp client built-in Necromancer DOS Navigator direct link for sfx archive
- if you have linux machine, try EtherDFS it works great (even if network share is not on FAT partition, just make sure to rename all files to 8+3 DOS limitation + all lowercase).

I tried that like you said. It didn't detect the card in PNP.
Image
If it's not detecting in PNP, what do I try?
xDeathCon
Newbie
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2017-11-23 @ 00:53

Re: Connecting DOS Machine to LAN

Postby zyga64 » 2017-12-13 @ 07:31

xDeathCon wrote:I tried that like you said. It didn't detect the card in PNP.
Image
If it's not detecting in PNP, what do I try?


Looks like this card isn't PNP. Somebody struggled with similar problem here in vogons: thread.
If this card is identical like in the mentioned thread - I can't see any jumpers here. So, only way to set it up is to run configuration program.
I would ask DoomGuy II for this program. There you could check/set IRQ, which should be reserved in BIOS as 'LEGACY ISA'.

After all, if the 'period correctness isn't required I would get one of those 'dirt chip' Realtek RTL8139 PCI adapters.
There are DOS driver for it even on Realtek site.
TC430HX / P200MMX / 64 MB / Virge DX / YMF718 / DOS / Win98
BX Master / P!!! 450 / 256MB / Diamond Viper V550 / AWE64 / DOS / Win98SE
775i65G / E2160 / 1GB / Ti4200 / YMF724 / DOS / Win98SE / XPSP1
zyga64
Newbie
 
Posts: 87
Joined: 2014-3-12 @ 14:38
Location: Poland

Re: Connecting DOS Machine to LAN

Postby zyga64 » 2017-12-13 @ 07:34

xDeathCon wrote:I tried that like you said. It didn't detect the card in PNP.
[...]
If it's not detecting in PNP, what do I try?


Looks like this card isn't PNP. Somebody struggled with similar problem here in vogons: thread.
If this card is identical like the one in the mentioned thread - I can't see any jumpers there. So, only way to set it up is to run configuration program.
I would ask DoomGuy II for this program. There you could check/set IRQ, which should be reserved in BIOS as 'LEGACY ISA'.

After all, if the 'period correctness' isn't required I would get one of those 'dirt chip' Realtek RTL8139 PCI adapters.
There are DOS drivers for it on Realtek site.
TC430HX / P200MMX / 64 MB / Virge DX / YMF718 / DOS / Win98
BX Master / P!!! 450 / 256MB / Diamond Viper V550 / AWE64 / DOS / Win98SE
775i65G / E2160 / 1GB / Ti4200 / YMF724 / DOS / Win98SE / XPSP1
zyga64
Newbie
 
Posts: 87
Joined: 2014-3-12 @ 14:38
Location: Poland

Re: Connecting DOS Machine to LAN

Postby xDeathCon » 2017-12-13 @ 16:19

zyga64 wrote:
xDeathCon wrote:I tried that like you said. It didn't detect the card in PNP.
[...]
If it's not detecting in PNP, what do I try?


Looks like this card isn't PNP. Somebody struggled with similar problem here in vogons: thread.
If this card is identical like the one in the mentioned thread - I can't see any jumpers there. So, only way to set it up is to run configuration program.
I would ask DoomGuy II for this program. There you could check/set IRQ, which should be reserved in BIOS as 'LEGACY ISA'.

After all, if the 'period correctness' isn't required I would get one of those 'dirt chip' Realtek RTL8139 PCI adapters.
There are DOS drivers for it on Realtek site.

The BIOS had been treating all ISA slots as PnP. I set it to auto now, but I don't know anything the card is using. I will try to contact DoomGuy II, but I read further down the post that the setup program might be for a later version card. I see an error now of the hardware not responding for it when MS-Client tries to load. It'd help a lot if I could figure out what the card uses.

Also, I'll mention that I do own a Gateway Windows 98 with a couple ISA slots. I don't know if it will change anything, but I can put it in there if I need to.
xDeathCon
Newbie
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2017-11-23 @ 00:53

Re: Connecting DOS Machine to LAN

Postby oeuvre » 2017-12-13 @ 23:35

Second mTCP FTP.... just nab that and an NE2000 packet driver and you're set. Grab the NE2000 one here; works well http://www.georgpotthast.de/sioux/packet.htm
Dell Optiplex GXa Pentium II 266MHz, 256MB, ATI Rage XL, IBM HD, SB16, DOS/3.11/98
i7 6700K, 32GB, EVGA GTX970, 256GB M.2 SSD + HD, Windows 10
Image
User avatar
oeuvre
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1829
Joined: 2015-3-31 @ 13:31
Location: USA

Re: Connecting DOS Machine to LAN

Postby xDeathCon » 2017-12-14 @ 01:05

oeuvre wrote:Second mTCP FTP.... just nab that and an NE2000 packet driver and you're set. Grab the NE2000 one here; works well http://www.georgpotthast.de/sioux/packet.htm

The card isn't plug and play and has no jumpers. I need to know the card's IRQ, interrupts, and I/O base. I can't just use that without the right settings.
xDeathCon
Newbie
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2017-11-23 @ 00:53

Re: Connecting DOS Machine to LAN

Postby zyga64 » 2017-12-14 @ 09:47

xDeathCon wrote:
oeuvre wrote:Second mTCP FTP.... just nab that and an NE2000 packet driver and you're set. Grab the NE2000 one here; works well http://www.georgpotthast.de/sioux/packet.htm

The card isn't plug and play and has no jumpers. I need to know the card's IRQ, interrupts, and I/O base. I can't just use that without the right settings.


In the past (circa 1998), I've been using unknown brand NE2000 card in my PC (PCChips M729, Celeron 266).
If I remember correctly it was running with typical IRQ/IO - IRQ10, 0x300.
Playing with jumpers using trial and error method allows me set it up to IRQ3 (after disabling COM2).

What comes to mind is to install Windows95/98 temporarily. It tries to detect PNP and nonPNP devices during installation.
You may check IRQ/IO in device manager then. (Unfortunatelly I don't remember if it shows resources if driver isn't installed).
TC430HX / P200MMX / 64 MB / Virge DX / YMF718 / DOS / Win98
BX Master / P!!! 450 / 256MB / Diamond Viper V550 / AWE64 / DOS / Win98SE
775i65G / E2160 / 1GB / Ti4200 / YMF724 / DOS / Win98SE / XPSP1
zyga64
Newbie
 
Posts: 87
Joined: 2014-3-12 @ 14:38
Location: Poland

Re: Connecting DOS Machine to LAN

Postby Kubik » 2017-12-14 @ 09:54

xDeathCon wrote:
oeuvre wrote:Second mTCP FTP.... just nab that and an NE2000 packet driver and you're set. Grab the NE2000 one here; works well http://www.georgpotthast.de/sioux/packet.htm

The card isn't plug and play and has no jumpers. I need to know the card's IRQ, interrupts, and I/O base. I can't just use that without the right settings.

Non-PnP cards without jumpers have their own config tool - did you look for that? I bet there's a small serial EEPROM (9346 or 25xx), and corresponding tool can modify its content to force the card use certain IO and IRQ.
Kubik
Member
 
Posts: 141
Joined: 2017-11-06 @ 08:24

Re: Connecting DOS Machine to LAN

Postby oeuvre » 2017-12-14 @ 14:13

maybe this thread will help viewtopic.php?t=30746

and 9x has built in NE2000 drivers
Dell Optiplex GXa Pentium II 266MHz, 256MB, ATI Rage XL, IBM HD, SB16, DOS/3.11/98
i7 6700K, 32GB, EVGA GTX970, 256GB M.2 SSD + HD, Windows 10
Image
User avatar
oeuvre
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1829
Joined: 2015-3-31 @ 13:31
Location: USA

Re: Connecting DOS Machine to LAN

Postby xDeathCon » 2017-12-14 @ 17:30

Kubik wrote:
xDeathCon wrote:
oeuvre wrote:Second mTCP FTP.... just nab that and an NE2000 packet driver and you're set. Grab the NE2000 one here; works well http://www.georgpotthast.de/sioux/packet.htm

The card isn't plug and play and has no jumpers. I need to know the card's IRQ, interrupts, and I/O base. I can't just use that without the right settings.

Non-PnP cards without jumpers have their own config tool - did you look for that? I bet there's a small serial EEPROM (9346 or 25xx), and corresponding tool can modify its content to force the card use certain IO and IRQ.

My issue lies in that my floppy drive is failing and the CD drive is broken. If I knew of the setup program it'd help a lot. I wish the card had come with the setup disk. I don't know if the card has previously been reprogrammed or not.
xDeathCon
Newbie
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2017-11-23 @ 00:53

Re: Connecting DOS Machine to LAN

Postby Kubik » 2017-12-14 @ 19:00

Not sure what machine are you using, but if it got full DOS 6.22, you can use interlnk/intersrv to exchange files with another computer. You can add CF card in CF-IDE adapter and copy necessary files to it using cheap USB card reader. You can remove the HDD and use USB-IDE bridge to copy files to it. You can use LapLink... etc etc.
Anyway - would you mind posting a good picture of your card so we can find out more?
Is it by any chance this one? https://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?f=46&t=42679
Kubik
Member
 
Posts: 141
Joined: 2017-11-06 @ 08:24

Next

Return to Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest