VOGONS

First post, by Jupiter-18

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank

Hello!
So I have gotten a pretty good grasp of the ins and outs of basic retro PC hardware, but in terms of software, I am again at a loss. I have my first machine effectively finished:
K6-3+/450
Asus P5A
32 (soon to be 512) MB PC133 SDRAM
Matrox G400 Max GPU
Yamaha Audician 32+
Generic 120GB IDE Hard drive
Generic CD-ROM Drive (No DVD-ROM)
1.44MB Floppy drive

And i got Windows 98se running and all, but man, i still am very confused about drivers and DOS and such, and i'm wondering what software optimization i can or should do or what options i should choose to best set it up. This is my first time setting up 98se, and i just want to get the best out of it.
For example, I wasn't able to use the latest G400 Max drivers. I had to use older ones. I just want to get all I can out of my software and hardware, so any tips/tricks/guides are appreciated!

Reply 1 of 8, by jesolo

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

If you want to set up a dedicated DOS session(s), create a start up (boot) menu - How to create a boot (start up) menu under Windows 9x/ME.
Just remember that under "real" DOS, you need drivers for your mouse, CD-ROM, memory manager, etc.

Reply 2 of 8, by dr_st

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Before you do anything like configuring DOS menus, setting up drivers and such - answer this question: do you currently have DOS games that do not work (or do not work well) if you just run them from inside Windows 98 SE?

https://cloakedthargoid.wordpress.com/ - Random content on hardware, software, games and toys

Reply 4 of 8, by jesolo

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

For Windows 98SE, I always install the Unofficial Windows 98SE Service Pack 2.1a (which basically includes a combination of all the official Microsoft patches). Installing the later Service Packs adds features that were not officially released by Microsoft.