Quake Movement

Getting old software/games running on older hardware.

Quake Movement

Postby n-0rt » 2018-12-05 @ 19:40

I've recently gotten a Pentium 3 build up and running - P3 1Ghz, 256 meg RAM, GeForce2 etc - and I'm having a bit of an issue with the original boxed retail version of Quake. Movement speed seems very up and down - walking/running speed seems to fluctuate, and when I jump I'll either do a regular jump or my jump height will be cut in half, like I've abruptly smacked my head against a ceiling and sent right back down. This wouldn't happen to be one of those issues where my hardware is too fast for the game or something, would it?
n-0rt
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2018-11-21 @ 04:51

Re: Quake Movement

Postby Davros » 2018-12-05 @ 23:27

I've ran glquake on much faster hardware
Guardian of the Sacred Five Terabyte's of Gaming Goodness
User avatar
Davros
l33t
 
Posts: 2531
Joined: 2004-3-01 @ 03:08

Re: Quake Movement

Postby leileilol » 2018-12-06 @ 03:14

DOS Quake's timer breaks under Windows 9X.
Voodoo2s aren't 100mhz stock
Geforce256 isn't released as a beta on New Years '99 under the Quadro brand
DOS gaming isn't a bilinear 320x200 16:10
DOS PCs aren't better than the Macintosh
DOSBox is not for running Windows 9x
SGL != Glide
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 9457
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Re: Quake Movement

Postby n-0rt » 2018-12-06 @ 04:30

GLQuake does indeed work a whole lot better, besides the brightness issues and whatnot. I'll keep looking into those, but at least I can play it properly now!
n-0rt
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2018-11-21 @ 04:51


Return to Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest