Getting GOG Quake image/sound working in W98

Getting old software/games running on older hardware.

Getting GOG Quake image/sound working in W98

Postby buckeye » 2019-3-05 @ 16:37

Most appropriate place for this one - I guess! Got the GOG Quake the Offering and wanted to burn the images for use on a separate Win98 system. Progress so far:

Burnt game.gog and game.cue to cd.
Installed Winquake on Win98 system
Updated with GLQuake

Graphics/sounds are working fine no problem there, but no music. Tried putting all variations of the soundtracks (wav,ogg, mp3) in a music directory below id1 to no avail. I've read forums everywhere and ideas are all over the place on this. Should I be seeing the sound track files on the burnt disc? I don't unless they're imbedded in the pak0/pak1.pak files. Doe the winmm.dll file have any bearing in W98? Any tips or what not would be welcome thanks.
Foxconn Q45M E8400 Core2 Duo 2GB DDR2 800 160GB BFG Geforce 7950GT 512MB 500W XP SP2
Asus P3B-F P3 850 512MB 40GB Hercules 3D Prophet II 64MB Voodoo2 SLI Aureal Vortex 2 400W 98SE
User avatar
buckeye
Oldbie
 
Posts: 535
Joined: 2015-11-04 @ 17:54
Location: Piney Grove, AL

Re: Getting GOG Quake image/sound working in W98

Postby jmarsh » 2019-3-05 @ 22:04

You shouldn't be able to see the sound track as files on the burnt disc, they were originally CD audio tracks.
jmarsh
Newbie
 
Posts: 90
Joined: 2014-1-04 @ 09:17

Re: Getting GOG Quake image/sound working in W98

Postby buckeye » 2019-3-05 @ 23:23

jmarsh wrote:You shouldn't be able to see the sound track as files on the burnt disc, they were originally CD audio tracks.


Ok but others have mentioned being to burn the music to a disc? Maybe I need to leave this "rabbit hole alone" and just play Quakespasm on XP.
Just wanted to see if I could transfer the game from the GOG files and play on my Win98 rig rather than buying the actual game disc on ebay.
Foxconn Q45M E8400 Core2 Duo 2GB DDR2 800 160GB BFG Geforce 7950GT 512MB 500W XP SP2
Asus P3B-F P3 850 512MB 40GB Hercules 3D Prophet II 64MB Voodoo2 SLI Aureal Vortex 2 400W 98SE
User avatar
buckeye
Oldbie
 
Posts: 535
Joined: 2015-11-04 @ 17:54
Location: Piney Grove, AL

Re: Getting GOG Quake image/sound working in W98

Postby leileilol » 2019-3-06 @ 01:28

Soundtrack FILES are all source port cruft implementations to substitute for the actual redbook audio. If you want to play the original quake with all of the original music, you're either going to have to burn, or find an original/shareware disc at least as that also has the music neccessary.
by the way, DOSBox is not for running Windows 9x
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 9614
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Re: Getting GOG Quake image/sound working in W98

Postby buckeye » 2019-3-06 @ 14:17

leileilol wrote:Soundtrack FILES are all source port cruft implementations to substitute for the actual redbook audio. If you want to play the original quake with all of the original music, you're either going to have to burn, or find an original/shareware disc at least as that also has the music neccessary.


Yep, it's been an "education" trying to get it to work but to no avail. Off to ebay/amazon to find a disc!
Foxconn Q45M E8400 Core2 Duo 2GB DDR2 800 160GB BFG Geforce 7950GT 512MB 500W XP SP2
Asus P3B-F P3 850 512MB 40GB Hercules 3D Prophet II 64MB Voodoo2 SLI Aureal Vortex 2 400W 98SE
User avatar
buckeye
Oldbie
 
Posts: 535
Joined: 2015-11-04 @ 17:54
Location: Piney Grove, AL

Re: Getting GOG Quake image/sound working in W98

Postby jmarsh » 2019-3-07 @ 01:30

Assuming they've just encoded the audio tracks to individual oggs (as GoG typically does), you'd need to decompress each track to a 44.1KHz wave file, edit the .cue file to switch each audio track to the new files, then burn a CD from that .cue.
jmarsh
Newbie
 
Posts: 90
Joined: 2014-1-04 @ 09:17

Re: Getting GOG Quake image/sound working in W98

Postby buckeye » 2019-3-07 @ 18:10

I gave up on this and switched gears. Now playing around with the dark places port, it's nice but for some reason looks better on my Xp rig than my work pc: i7 coffee lake with gtx 1080.
Have to tweak some settings for running at 1920x 1080, anyone have any tips on what settings to concentrate on?
Foxconn Q45M E8400 Core2 Duo 2GB DDR2 800 160GB BFG Geforce 7950GT 512MB 500W XP SP2
Asus P3B-F P3 850 512MB 40GB Hercules 3D Prophet II 64MB Voodoo2 SLI Aureal Vortex 2 400W 98SE
User avatar
buckeye
Oldbie
 
Posts: 535
Joined: 2015-11-04 @ 17:54
Location: Piney Grove, AL

Re: Getting GOG Quake image/sound working in W98

Postby Azarien » 2019-3-12 @ 07:30

I can't help with DarkPlaces, but for the CD Audio you need to find CD-burning software that can do mixed-mode CD. The first "audio" track on such disk is the game data, and then come audio tracks. Just putting ogg or wav files onto the filesystem won't work.

Here's how to burn such disc with CDBurnerXP:
https://cdburnerxp.se/help/miscellaneous/mixedmode
though it suggests the data track will be the last one, instead of the first one. I don't know if that will work. In any case, Quake never plays track 1, so you may need to add some dummy audio for track 1...

Expect some wasted discs. Or use an RW. Or use a virtual machine to test first.
Azarien
Oldbie
 
Posts: 593
Joined: 2015-5-14 @ 07:14

Re: Getting GOG Quake image/sound working in W98

Postby dr_st » 2019-3-12 @ 07:46

jmarsh wrote:Assuming they've just encoded the audio tracks to individual oggs (as GoG typically does), you'd need to decompress each track to a 44.1KHz wave file, edit the .cue file to switch each audio track to the new files, then burn a CD from that .cue.
Or use a burning program that can convert OGG to CD Audio on the fly. I think even older versions of Nero that run on Win98 have OGG plugins.
User avatar
dr_st
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1728
Joined: 2015-4-09 @ 07:18

Re: Getting GOG Quake image/sound working in W98

Postby leonardo » 2019-3-28 @ 17:15

buckeye wrote:Most appropriate place for this one - I guess! Got the GOG Quake the Offering and wanted to burn the images for use on a separate Win98 system. Progress so far:

Burnt game.gog and game.cue to cd.
Installed Winquake on Win98 system
Updated with GLQuake

Graphics/sounds are working fine no problem there, but no music. Tried putting all variations of the soundtracks (wav,ogg, mp3) in a music directory below id1 to no avail. I've read forums everywhere and ideas are all over the place on this. Should I be seeing the sound track files on the burnt disc? I don't unless they're imbedded in the pak0/pak1.pak files. Doe the winmm.dll file have any bearing in W98? Any tips or what not would be welcome thanks.


I ran into the same problem, received help and solved the problem here:
viewtopic.php?f=7&t=37966&start=60#p480282
My retro rigs
Methuselah, AMD K6-III+ 400 MHz, Voodoo 3 PCI, etc...
Longbottom, Pentium III 1 GHz, RivaTNT 2, Aureal Vortex 2 etc...
User avatar
leonardo
Newbie
 
Posts: 85
Joined: 2013-8-17 @ 14:42


Return to Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests