Need winzip and winrar for DOS ?

Getting old software/games running on older hardware.

Need winzip and winrar for DOS ?

Postby Intel486dx33 » 2019-6-30 @ 04:16

Need winzip and winrar for DOS 6.22 ?
Intel486dx33
l33t
 
Posts: 2173
Joined: 2018-5-17 @ 01:17
Location: U.S.A.

Re: Need winzip and winrar for DOS ?

Postby Caluser2000 » 2019-6-30 @ 04:32

They are windows programs and will not run in Dos. What are you trying to do?
There's a glitch in the matrix.
User avatar
Caluser2000
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1381
Joined: 2014-10-21 @ 05:34

Re: Need winzip and winrar for DOS ?

Postby Byrd » 2019-6-30 @ 04:49

Searched? PKUNZIP and PKZIP are your friends. UNRAR might also help.
Byrd
Newbie
 
Posts: 45
Joined: 2018-1-06 @ 06:52
Location: Australia

Re: Need winzip and winrar for DOS ?

Postby jmarsh » 2019-6-30 @ 04:58

What do you think the WIN in the name stands for?
jmarsh
Member
 
Posts: 332
Joined: 2014-1-04 @ 09:17


Re: Need winzip and winrar for DOS ?

Postby Caluser2000 » 2019-6-30 @ 08:23

Also to get ahead of the ball game here's a zip file of same Dos disk imaging and creation software
imgutils.zip
(96.33 KiB) Downloaded 4 times
There's a glitch in the matrix.
User avatar
Caluser2000
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1381
Joined: 2014-10-21 @ 05:34

Re: Need winzip and winrar for DOS ?

Postby root42 » 2019-6-30 @ 09:17

DJGPP might contain a version of zip/unzip that somehow deals with long filenames. But I don't think it has an unrar port. Otherwise I would just stick with the aforementioned pkunzip.
Soldering, retro game reviews and more on YouTube and Bonus videos
80386DX@25 MHz, 8 MiB RAM, Tseng ET4000 1 MiB, Jazz16, PC MIDI Card + SC55MkII + MT32, XT CF Lite, OSSC 1.6
User avatar
root42
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1280
Joined: 2018-1-27 @ 13:23

Re: Need winzip and winrar for DOS ?

Postby Jo22 » 2019-6-30 @ 10:22

Also have a look at FreeDOS project. It contains some compression/decompression tools, too.
"Time, it seems, doesn't flow. For some it's fast, for some it's slow.
In what to one race is no time at all, another race can rise and fall..." - The Minstrel

//My video channel//
User avatar
Jo22
l33t
 
Posts: 3983
Joined: 2009-12-13 @ 07:06
Location: Europe

Re: Need winzip and winrar for DOS ?

Postby oeuvre » 2019-6-30 @ 13:48

mmm PKZip
HP Z420 Workstation Intel Xeon E5-1620, 32GB, AMD FirePro V7900 2GB, SSD + HD, XP/7
Image
User avatar
oeuvre
l33t
 
Posts: 3169
Joined: 2015-3-31 @ 13:31
Location: USA

Re: Need winzip and winrar for DOS ?

Postby dr_st » 2019-6-30 @ 16:58

It's not a DOS system if it doesn't have ARJ.
User avatar
dr_st
l33t
 
Posts: 2077
Joined: 2015-4-09 @ 07:18

Re: Need winzip and winrar for DOS ?

Postby Zup » 2019-6-30 @ 17:02

Maybe you could try a modern rar.exe using HX extender, but even if it works you'll get no GUI.

Better use a DOS version of rar... you'll get a GUI reminiscent of Norton Commander and it was my default compressor at last days of DOS.
I have traveled across the universe and through the years to find Her.
Sometimes going all the way is just a start...

I'm selling some stuff!
User avatar
Zup
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1291
Joined: 2003-10-04 @ 12:16


Re: Need winzip and winrar for DOS ?

Postby Jo22 » 2019-7-01 @ 05:32

dr_st wrote:It's not a DOS system if it doesn't have ARJ.

And LHA (& ARC) ! :)
"Time, it seems, doesn't flow. For some it's fast, for some it's slow.
In what to one race is no time at all, another race can rise and fall..." - The Minstrel

//My video channel//
User avatar
Jo22
l33t
 
Posts: 3983
Joined: 2009-12-13 @ 07:06
Location: Europe

Re: Need winzip and winrar for DOS ?

Postby gdjacobs » 2019-7-01 @ 21:30

Jo22 wrote:
dr_st wrote:It's not a DOS system if it doesn't have ARJ.

And LHA (& ARC) ! :)

ZOO files?
User avatar
gdjacobs
l33t++
 
Posts: 6754
Joined: 2015-11-03 @ 05:51
Location: The Great White North

Re: Need winzip and winrar for DOS ?

Postby root42 » 2019-7-01 @ 21:36

Excuse me while I am busy compressing all my executables with lzexe. Should save some more diskspace together with DoubleSpace.
Soldering, retro game reviews and more on YouTube and Bonus videos
80386DX@25 MHz, 8 MiB RAM, Tseng ET4000 1 MiB, Jazz16, PC MIDI Card + SC55MkII + MT32, XT CF Lite, OSSC 1.6
User avatar
root42
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1280
Joined: 2018-1-27 @ 13:23

Re: Need winzip and winrar for DOS ?

Postby leileilol » 2019-7-01 @ 22:23

LZH all the way.
by the way, DOSBox is not for running Windows 9x
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 9848
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Re: Need winzip and winrar for DOS ?

Postby gdjacobs » 2019-7-02 @ 03:06

leileilol wrote:LZH all the way.


Use them all, right? Right?
User avatar
gdjacobs
l33t++
 
Posts: 6754
Joined: 2015-11-03 @ 05:51
Location: The Great White North

Re: Need winzip and winrar for DOS ?

Postby Shagittarius » 2019-7-02 @ 05:01

Send them to me with Zmodem? (I'll start at the newest protocol I can remember).
User avatar
Shagittarius
Oldbie
 
Posts: 624
Joined: 2007-12-20 @ 06:49
Location: California, USA

Re: Need winzip and winrar for DOS ?

Postby Grzyb » 2019-7-02 @ 09:12

I usually use Info-ZIP - http://infozip.sourceforge.net/
Probably the second most portable piece of software, the first being the "Hello World" :D
And it still allows extraction of modern archives on vintage systems.

The last version of RAR for DOS (3.93) can't extract archives created using modern RAR versions.
Grzyb
Member
 
Posts: 334
Joined: 2019-5-08 @ 13:47
Location: Poland

Re: Need winzip and winrar for DOS ?

Postby BloodyCactus » 2019-7-02 @ 11:55

hap+pah and ha! and uc2!
--/\-[ Stu : Bloody Cactus :: http://kråketær.com :: http://mega-tokyo.com ]-/\--
User avatar
BloodyCactus
Oldbie
 
Posts: 945
Joined: 2016-2-03 @ 13:34
Location: Lexington VA

Next

Return to Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jmarsh and 3 guests