VOGONS


First post, by squelch41

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Hi,

I am trying find a decent, compatible doom launcher for DOS. PC spec in signature at the bottom (486 133MHz)
I've been trying Zdoom but it only offer 320x200 which displays as strecthed widescreen on my tft which is annoying and there are some sound glitches.

What do others use? There seem to be loads out there but it is quite overwhelming working out when ports switched to windows, which actually work, etc etc!
Any help with sifting would be appreciated!!!

V4P895P3 VLB Motherboard and AMD 486 133MHz CPU
64mb RAM, CF 4Gb Hard disk,
Realtek 8019 ethernet + XT-IDE bios extension ROM, ES1869 soundcard, Unknown brand VLB multi-io card with Cirrus Logic GD5428 1mb VGA on it.

Reply 1 of 16, by The Serpent Rider

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

FastDoom. A new Doom port for DOS, optimized to be as fast as possible for 386/486 personal computers!

Get up, come on get down with the sickness
Open up your hate, and let it flow into me

Reply 2 of 16, by BinaryDemon

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

There are a bunch of source ports that support 640x400 resolution, most forked from Chocolate Doom. I'd take a look at this one - Doom MBF (Doom 'MBF' for DOS, Maintenance release 2.04) ,

Check out DOSBox Distro:

https://sites.google.com/site/dosboxdistro/ [*]

a lightweight Linux distro (tinycore) which boots off a usb flash drive and goes straight to DOSBox.

Make your dos retrogaming experience portable!

Reply 3 of 16, by squelch41

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Thanks, problem is neither fastdoom or doomMBF support free looking - can only look from left to right with the mouse.

I had tried zdoom-dos 1.17c which is good except that there are quite a few audio glitches and no music (at least for me!) and again, only supports 320x200

V4P895P3 VLB Motherboard and AMD 486 133MHz CPU
64mb RAM, CF 4Gb Hard disk,
Realtek 8019 ethernet + XT-IDE bios extension ROM, ES1869 soundcard, Unknown brand VLB multi-io card with Cirrus Logic GD5428 1mb VGA on it.

Reply 5 of 16, by dr_st

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

It seems like you are trying to solve different problems at once.

320x200 stretched on widescreen TFT has nothing to do with DOOM or with any port; it will look the same in every game, unless you set up the screen properly.

There are many DOOM ports indeed. The DOS ports are not nearly as maintained or feature-rich as Windows ones, but some of them are good.

For a good looking port supporting some advanced features, but still mostly true to the original experience - MBF, due to the high resolution and BOOM compatibility.

Looking up and down is not a feature that original DOOM is designed for, but if it's important to you - then DOSDOOM, DOOM Legacy and ZDOOM all support that + higher resolutions. The DOS version of ZDOOM has no music support, though, as far as I recall.

https://cloakedthargoid.wordpress.com/ - Random content on hardware, software, games and toys

Reply 6 of 16, by The Serpent Rider

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

The thing is, you can't properly play Doom on resolutions higher than standard 320x200 Mode X unless you'll jump all the way up to 640x400. Pixel scaling is completely wrong on sub-SVGA resolutions, except weird 320x400 mode. But unfortunately it would be slideshow on 486 133 with Cirrus Logic GD5428 VLB card. That system is barely enough to play Doom as it is.

Get up, come on get down with the sickness
Open up your hate, and let it flow into me

Reply 7 of 16, by leileilol

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
The Serpent Rider wrote on 2020-10-24, 23:46:

That system is barely enough to play Doom as it is.

Those specs are borderline excessive for Doom, it'll certainly handle all the Zdooms prior to the FmodEx audio backend.

apsosig.png

Reply 8 of 16, by squelch41

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I'll give dosdoom a go.
PC runs 'stock' doom and doom 2 fine.

DoomMBF runs nicely but no freelook
ZDoomDos 1.17c runs well but sound glitches and no music (and lets face it, the music is a bit part of doom!)
DoomLegacy has freelook, music but runs slowly!
FastDOOM runs well but doesnt have freelook

Know the scaling issue is my monitor but it is the monitor I have so have to work around it - was hoping could find a launcher that would offer eg 320x240 which my monitor does scale to 4:3 but that might just to too much to ask for 😉
Running 640x480 is certainly going to be a slide show!

(Just as an idea, Duke3d runs pretty well at 320x200 and quake is 486-playable at 320x240)

V4P895P3 VLB Motherboard and AMD 486 133MHz CPU
64mb RAM, CF 4Gb Hard disk,
Realtek 8019 ethernet + XT-IDE bios extension ROM, ES1869 soundcard, Unknown brand VLB multi-io card with Cirrus Logic GD5428 1mb VGA on it.

Reply 9 of 16, by MAZter

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Did you tried one of this?

Doom Plus (SVGA, crouching/jumping, mlook with up/down shooting, new statusbar):
http://www.doomworld.com/3ddownloads/ports/dplus06.zip

Boom:
http://www.gamers.org/pub/idgames/themes/Team … oom/boom202.zip

Doom is what you want (c) MAZter

Reply 10 of 16, by dr_st

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
MAZter wrote on 2020-10-25, 13:27:

MBF is BOOM + highres + a few extra tweaks, making the original BOOM pretty much irrelevant. Besides, it also has no freelook, which is important to OP.

https://cloakedthargoid.wordpress.com/ - Random content on hardware, software, games and toys

Reply 11 of 16, by squelch41

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

DosDoom is looking very promising!
Allowed for 320x240 resolution so scales to 4:3 on my TFT (400x300 also works but starts to get a bit choppy on framerate)

Looks like should allow midi music but cant quite get that working currently - the instruction text file isnt exactly clear on how to enable it!
Dont suppose anyone knows how?
Text file says:
"-New music and sound code
Support for MUS, MOD and MP3 music files (see music.htm)" but music.htm doesnt exist in the docs folder

and

" -MIDI support is now in DosDoom - just use the midi file in place of the
mus file"

but as far as I know, the music is contained within the wad?

Thanks!

V4P895P3 VLB Motherboard and AMD 486 133MHz CPU
64mb RAM, CF 4Gb Hard disk,
Realtek 8019 ethernet + XT-IDE bios extension ROM, ES1869 soundcard, Unknown brand VLB multi-io card with Cirrus Logic GD5428 1mb VGA on it.

Reply 12 of 16, by dr_st

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Yes, there are MUS files in the WAD, and FWIW, DOSDOOM plays them just fine without me having to tweak anything as I recall.

I'm attaching my DOSDOOM DOCS folder; looks like it has MUSIC.HTM and perhaps some other files you are missing.

Attachments

https://cloakedthargoid.wordpress.com/ - Random content on hardware, software, games and toys

Reply 13 of 16, by squelch41

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
dr_st wrote on 2020-10-25, 19:10:

Yes, there are MUS files in the WAD, and FWIW, DOSDOOM plays them just fine without me having to tweak anything as I recall.

I'm attaching my DOSDOOM DOCS folder; looks like it has MUSIC.HTM and perhaps some other files you are missing.

That's very kind - thanks!

V4P895P3 VLB Motherboard and AMD 486 133MHz CPU
64mb RAM, CF 4Gb Hard disk,
Realtek 8019 ethernet + XT-IDE bios extension ROM, ES1869 soundcard, Unknown brand VLB multi-io card with Cirrus Logic GD5428 1mb VGA on it.

Reply 14 of 16, by squelch41

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Yep, that's done it!
Needed to create the dosdoom.cfg file with the sound card parameters for midi and works like a charm!

So there you go - if you need a dos-based doom source port with free mouse look, multiple resolution choices, decent speed and working music, DosDoom 0.653 + a bit of config work is the way to go

Thanks all!

V4P895P3 VLB Motherboard and AMD 486 133MHz CPU
64mb RAM, CF 4Gb Hard disk,
Realtek 8019 ethernet + XT-IDE bios extension ROM, ES1869 soundcard, Unknown brand VLB multi-io card with Cirrus Logic GD5428 1mb VGA on it.

Reply 15 of 16, by Cyberdyne

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

If you want to play original Doom, then use version 1.1 in my old experience, it was bit faster than 1.2 and those 1.6+ Doom2 added code executables. Thath 1.9 added episode Thy Flesh Consumed is more or less unplayable on a slower 486 anyway.

I am aroused about any X86 motherboard that has full functional ISA slot. I think i have problem. Not really into that original (Turbo) XT,286,386 and CGA/EGA stuff. So just a DOS nut.

Reply 16 of 16, by dr_st

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Well, the problem with 1.1 is that it's too old with many bugs and missing features. It's only redeeming quality is that -left and -right support.

https://cloakedthargoid.wordpress.com/ - Random content on hardware, software, games and toys