Music Quest MPU clone cards, anyone interested in them?

Discussion about old sound cards, MIDI devices and sound related accessories.

Re: Music Quest MPU clone cards, anyone interested in them?

Postby ynari » 2016-9-21 @ 13:29

Damnit, didn't realise there was a final batch. Currently waiting on my amibay account being authorised..
ynari
Member
 
Posts: 343
Joined: 2014-5-29 @ 12:38
Location: Manchester, UK

Re: Music Quest MPU clone cards, anyone interested in them?

Postby Marmes » 2016-9-21 @ 22:32

It's authorized, and you got a PM there :)
User avatar
Marmes
Member
 
Posts: 181
Joined: 2015-2-18 @ 13:12

Re: Music Quest MPU clone cards, anyone interested in them?

Postby ynari » 2016-9-22 @ 08:40

Hurrah! One bought! :)

Two left for anyone else looking..
ynari
Member
 
Posts: 343
Joined: 2014-5-29 @ 12:38
Location: Manchester, UK

Re: Music Quest MPU clone cards, anyone interested in them?

Postby PhilsComputerLab » 2016-9-26 @ 19:10

I finally got around to reviewing this card :blush:

I tested all the "tricky" games requiring intelligent mode and IRQ 2 and they all worked of course.

Here is my video review of the MPU 401 MIDI card: https://youtu.be/WdfXdsN3fcU
User avatar
PhilsComputerLab
Hardware Mod
 
Posts: 6180
Joined: 2014-9-28 @ 03:33
Location: Western Australia

Re: Music Quest MPU clone cards, anyone interested in them?

Postby bjwil1991 » 2016-9-29 @ 04:41

Apparently, Amibay.com hates me right now. I couldn't remember my password and when I typed in the temporary password, it says that I have to retry in 15 minutes... Ugh!

I'm interested in the card itself, but in US currency, 110 Euros is $123.52 USD, and PayPal isn't an option, unless it's temporary.
C64, WheelWriter 10 Series II, Pack-Mate 28 Plus, K6-2/300, Pavilion N3350, iMac G3/600 Graphite, Socket 370, Pavilion 7955, Athlon 64, Dimension 4550, Dimension E510, ThinkPad R40, Presario C700, ASUS X54C, Raspberry Pi B+, 2-3, Custom FX-6300
User avatar
bjwil1991
Oldbie
 
Posts: 640
Joined: 2013-8-14 @ 03:10
Location: United States of America

Re: Music Quest MPU clone cards, anyone interested in them?

Postby Jonas-fr » 2017-1-18 @ 16:07

I see that the amibay thread is closed. Don't hesitate to let us know whenever another batch is coming, I'm interested!
Jonas-fr
Newbie
 
Posts: 32
Joined: 2016-6-27 @ 10:01

Re: Music Quest MPU clone cards, anyone interested in them?

Postby keropi » 2017-1-18 @ 16:22

There will be a final batch of 10 cards available very soon, after that it will be a while before more are made.
User avatar
keropi
l33t++
 
Posts: 5645
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 06:45
Location: Greece

Re: Music Quest MPU clone cards, anyone interested in them?

Postby Jonas-fr » 2017-2-04 @ 16:14

Ok cheers, will it be advertised here or on Amibay?
Jonas-fr
Newbie
 
Posts: 32
Joined: 2016-6-27 @ 10:01

Re: Music Quest MPU clone cards, anyone interested in them?

Postby keropi » 2017-2-04 @ 18:27

^ they are already on AmiBay since last week, 1 card left for now!
User avatar
keropi
l33t++
 
Posts: 5645
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 06:45
Location: Greece

Re: Music Quest MPU clone cards, anyone interested in them?

Postby Jonas-fr » 2017-2-07 @ 17:22

keropi wrote:^ they are already on AmiBay since last week, 1 card left for now!


Such a shame I was ready to buy you one :(
Jonas-fr
Newbie
 
Posts: 32
Joined: 2016-6-27 @ 10:01

Re: Music Quest MPU clone cards, anyone interested in them?

Postby keropi » 2017-2-07 @ 18:31

Don't worry , you will get one ;)
User avatar
keropi
l33t++
 
Posts: 5645
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 06:45
Location: Greece

Re: Music Quest MPU clone cards, anyone interested in them?

Postby Ar2r4eg » 2017-2-16 @ 09:05

Hello,
I got one of that card, it's perfect work in my Pentium 1 200MMX system with default settings (330, IRQ2)
Now I build new DX4-120 system, check vga, i/o, Awe32 for free irq2, but when start system and run mqdiag catch message "interface found but unable determine irq level"
On the IRQ line bottom i find that IRQ2 - free and enable. Anyone know whats is problem ?
Thanks
Ar2r4eg
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2016-5-09 @ 12:26

Re: Music Quest MPU clone cards, anyone interested in them?

Postby keropi » 2017-2-16 @ 09:44

This error is related to resource conflict, since IRQ2 is free like you say then it's port 330 - did you check that the AWE32 isn't configured to use it? Run it's setup to verify that AWE32 is using port 300
User avatar
keropi
l33t++
 
Posts: 5645
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 06:45
Location: Greece

Re: Music Quest MPU clone cards, anyone interested in them?

Postby Ar2r4eg » 2017-2-17 @ 08:40

I have CT2760 no pnp card. I setup it to 220, IRQ7 DMA1,5 and midi 300. Also i check multi i/o card and disable LPT port. MT-32 software works, but sysex not worked.
Today i set up pin on mpu to IRQ3 and all work perfectly, but as i know that not dafault IRQ for MPU :(

PS System is M912 ver:1.4 mobo with DX4-120 CPU
Ar2r4eg
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2016-5-09 @ 12:26

Re: Music Quest MPU clone cards, anyone interested in them?

Postby keropi » 2017-2-17 @ 09:54

Then something is hogging IRQ2 , I can see your motherboard is so called "Deep Green / "True" Green" - is there an ACPI option or something? If there is then turn it OFF since ACPI is hard-wired to IRQ2.
Else just fiddle with your BIOS settings, see if anything uses IRQ2 and change that or reserve it for "Legacy ISA" usage. You just need to find out what uses IRQ2 and either disable it or make it use another IRQ.
User avatar
keropi
l33t++
 
Posts: 5645
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 06:45
Location: Greece

Re: Music Quest MPU clone cards, anyone interested in them?

Postby Whiskey » 2017-2-17 @ 14:45

Any of these cards left? I'd be interested in getting one if there is. Nifty work Keropi.
Image
User avatar
Whiskey
Newbie
 
Posts: 58
Joined: 2016-7-28 @ 21:05
Location: Durham, UK

Re: Music Quest MPU clone cards, anyone interested in them?

Postby keropi » 2017-2-17 @ 16:37

^ sorry none left atm... just wait for the next fresh batch ;)
User avatar
keropi
l33t++
 
Posts: 5645
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 06:45
Location: Greece

Re: Music Quest MPU clone cards, anyone interested in them?

Postby Ar2r4eg » 2017-2-20 @ 09:48

keropi wrote:Then something is hogging IRQ2 , I can see your motherboard is so called "Deep Green / "True" Green" - is there an ACPI option or something? If there is then turn it OFF since ACPI is hard-wired to IRQ2.
Else just fiddle with your BIOS settings, see if anything uses IRQ2 and change that or reserve it for "Legacy ISA" usage. You just need to find out what uses IRQ2 and either disable it or make it use another IRQ.


Deep Green means present of "green mode" button on mobo. I don't know what he did and newer use it. Also in bios on this mobo not acpi support and any type of IRQ and DMA allocation. I think about change this mobo.
Ar2r4eg
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2016-5-09 @ 12:26

Re: Music Quest MPU clone cards, anyone interested in them?

Postby keropi » 2017-2-20 @ 10:27

Most likely that "green mode" is hardwired to IRQ2 - that's why it is occupied and the MPU does not work ... I don't see a jumper option to completely disable it so maybe the solution is indeed another mobo - or use another IRQ for mpu but there is a chance some old game is expecting to find IRQ2 and thus it won't work...
User avatar
keropi
l33t++
 
Posts: 5645
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 06:45
Location: Greece

Re: Music Quest MPU clone cards, anyone interested in them?

Postby Rackatack » 2017-4-04 @ 09:14

Hello,

Apparently I'm late again for your cards, are there any plans for another batch?
Rackatack
Newbie
 
Posts: 34
Joined: 2016-11-15 @ 22:14

PreviousNext

Return to Sound

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: carlostex and 4 guests