Interwave GUS PnP Clone Ultrasound 32 Pro / STB Soundrage 32 Pro not working :-(

Discussion about old sound cards, MIDI devices and sound related accessories.

Interwave GUS PnP Clone Ultrasound 32 Pro / STB Soundrage 32 Pro not working :-(

Postby Predator99 » 2017-1-16 @ 12:58

Today I received my Compaq Ultrasound 32 Pro / STB Soundrage 32 Pro (Interwave) from a dealer in used condition. It was packaged very well and there was no damage on the box.

I paid a lot of money for it, most probably more than its worth. 80$ for the card, 60$ shipping around the world and 25€ custom fee. Alltogether around 170€ :-(

Plugged into my PC...and nothing. My other Interwave cards (MED3201 & GUS Pnp) are already regongnized by the BIOS (tested this today again)...but with the new STB clone nothing happens.

The card does also not respond to iwinit.exe or the iweeprom tools.

There is no obvious damage on the card.

I already removed the jumper and the SIMM and tried another ISA slot.

Does anybode have an idea? Sending it back is no option as I assume I have to pay again 60$ for the shipment to get back 80$ for the card :-( :-( :-(

MED3201 Bios message
IMG_2508.JPG


STB front
IMG_2496.JPG


STB back
IMG_2498.JPG
Predator99
Member
 
Posts: 179
Joined: 2016-12-28 @ 19:09

Re: Interwave GUS PnP Clone Ultrasound 32 Pro / STB Soundrage 32 Pro not working :-(

Postby shock__ » 2017-1-16 @ 14:52

Where does "iwinit -v9" fail?
Tried running the card without RAM?
User avatar
shock__
Oldbie
 
Posts: 725
Joined: 2010-12-22 @ 01:53
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: Interwave GUS PnP Clone Ultrasound 32 Pro / STB Soundrage 32 Pro not working :-(

Postby Predator99 » 2017-1-16 @ 15:02

Yes I removed the RAM. The card seems to be complete dead...

IMG_2510.JPG
Predator99
Member
 
Posts: 179
Joined: 2016-12-28 @ 19:09

Re: Interwave GUS PnP Clone Ultrasound 32 Pro / STB Soundrage 32 Pro not working :-(

Postby shock__ » 2017-1-16 @ 15:14

Yup ... seems completely dead indeed.

Do you have a scope? I've had a GUS clone with a dead 74F373 (latch for ram/rom adressing) which seemed completely dead at first as well, but worked after I replaced that chip - yours look like they ran a bit hot at one point (can be normal tho). Depending on the defect it can also block access to the EEPROM with the PNP config causing the card to fail to initialize.

If you don't think you can do that repair yourself, I might give it a shot. I'm located in Germany.
User avatar
shock__
Oldbie
 
Posts: 725
Joined: 2010-12-22 @ 01:53
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: Interwave GUS PnP Clone Ultrasound 32 Pro / STB Soundrage 32 Pro not working :-(

Postby Predator99 » 2017-1-16 @ 15:35

Thank you :-) See PM
Predator99
Member
 
Posts: 179
Joined: 2016-12-28 @ 19:09

Re: Interwave GUS PnP Clone Ultrasound 32 Pro / STB Soundrage 32 Pro not working :-(

Postby peklop » 2017-1-16 @ 18:02

Imho this Compaq/STB card still listed as Sound Rage 32 Pro is not a Sound Rage 32 Pro.
SR32 Pro has same PCB as classic SR32 with 512kB memory onboard and no SIMM slot.
User avatar
peklop
Member
 
Posts: 156
Joined: 2016-11-17 @ 02:38
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Interwave GUS PnP Clone Ultrasound 32 Pro / STB Soundrage 32 Pro not working :-(

Postby moturimi1 » 2017-1-16 @ 19:34

Strange your Boards detects the PnP Resources of the GUS!
I have a STB Soundrage 32. I also was not able to initialise the card until I updated the BIOS of the GUS.
Check it out here: https://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?f=46&t=31998
moturimi1
Newbie
 
Posts: 99
Joined: 2014-6-01 @ 16:45

Re: Interwave GUS PnP Clone Ultrasound 32 Pro / STB Soundrage 32 Pro not working :-(

Postby Predator99 » 2017-1-16 @ 20:47

Yes Peklop, according to Wiki you are right!

No, the first Screenshot of the PnP detection is with the MED3201 installed. The STB shows nothing at this stage. I flashed the ROM from Gravis on the MED3201 long time ago to be able to use the Gravis drivers. However, its of limited use as the MED3201 has no RAM.
Predator99
Member
 
Posts: 179
Joined: 2016-12-28 @ 19:09

Re: Interwave GUS PnP Clone Ultrasound 32 Pro / STB Soundrage 32 Pro not working :-(

Postby peklop » 2017-1-22 @ 23:41

Predator99 wrote:Yes Peklop, according to Wiki you are right!


Little problem, Wikipedia clones list was written by me :-) .
User avatar
peklop
Member
 
Posts: 156
Joined: 2016-11-17 @ 02:38
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Interwave GUS PnP Clone Ultrasound 32 Pro / STB Soundrage 32 Pro not working :-(

Postby ExTneicsol » 2017-9-13 @ 13:43

This sound card work with the right compaq driver. I've made a post here somewhere about it. Just for information, this card was dont work on some old pnp motherboard ... (not detected, but if you reboot ... it is)

I will check if I still have my tweaked driver that make it work with the GUS environment. If you need it PM me.
ExTneicsol
Newbie
 
Posts: 98
Joined: 2015-6-10 @ 20:40


Return to Sound

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests