Awe64 Gold with SimmConn

Discussion about old sound cards, MIDI devices and sound related accessories.

Awe64 Gold with SimmConn

Postby Viserion » 2017-11-11 @ 13:46

Have a bit off an off problem with the AWE 64 Gold I have.

I'm using it with a 200MHz Pentium MMX, and with Freedos 1.2.
Burned a CD with drivers from this site, and installed those.

Spent quite some time on this, so won't bore with all details, but as it is now I have the following issue.

On all the games I have tried(they are all GOG versions) I can't get it to play music. It is just silence.

Soundeffects works fine.

The thing is that when running diagnose I also could not hear anything, but when installing the SimmConn with 32mb ram I ran CTCM and then diagnose would detect the ram, and play synthesized music,
and a new option for AWE syntesized music. Both test fine, and I can hear the music, but when loading games, I get no music again.

It looks like it plays, but no sound is coming out the speakers.

In Duke3d, I hear sound effects when testing, and silence when testing music.

So I think there is a problem when loading CTCM, but unsure wether it should load in autoexec.bat, config.sys or fdconfig.sys.

Another thing is that when running diagnose, and I try to save the settings, the computer will always freeze, and I need to push CTRL - ALT - DELETE to restart it.
Looks like it saves settings however.
Viserion
Newbie
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 2017-8-27 @ 21:04

Re: Awe64 Gold with SimmConn

Postby dreamblaster » 2017-11-11 @ 14:45

is this the original simmconn gold ?
dreamblaster
Member
 
Posts: 332
Joined: 2015-1-18 @ 19:34
Location: Belgium

Re: Awe64 Gold with SimmConn

Postby Viserion » 2017-11-11 @ 18:27

dreamblaster wrote:is this the original simmconn gold ?


No, it's the one I got from you.

Have the same problem whitout the SimmConn, so lilkey not to have anything to do with this problem.
Viserion
Newbie
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 2017-8-27 @ 21:04

Re: Awe64 Gold with SimmConn

Postby Viserion » 2017-11-11 @ 19:54

Solved it, reinstalled drivers from the CD, looks like not everything was installed last time, and that was the problem.

renamed config sys to config.old, and copied what was there to fdconfig.sys .

Now the only thing is if there is anything to optimize this, as Tiefighter complains about too little EMS memory.

I have 128mb on the system. Not added Phils menu system yet, only standar Freedos options.

Second is how to load soundfonts, so I can use the 28mb the SimmConn provides.
Viserion
Newbie
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 2017-8-27 @ 21:04

Re: Awe64 Gold with SimmConn

Postby Viserion » 2017-11-12 @ 10:37

Needs win9x to load soundfonts, what a bummer, think I put the Audican with a dreamblaster in the dos machine, and the AWE64 Gold in the Win98 machine.
Viserion
Newbie
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 2017-8-27 @ 21:04


Return to Sound

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests