R.I.P. SoundBlaster AWE32

Discussion about old sound cards, MIDI devices and sound related accessories.

Re: R.I.P. SoundBlaster AWE32

Postby alexsydneynsw » 2018-3-17 @ 11:34

I have a similar issue with a a 2.0. There is a topic somewhere on vogons. So far my plan was to use assembler and the SDK docs to try to send some diag bytes to the card but I haven’t got that far yet..

Did you try playing fm music? My fm chip works, it’s just driver detection and digital sound fx that don’t work properly.
User avatar
alexsydneynsw
Newbie
 
Posts: 58
Joined: 2017-1-04 @ 05:37
Location: Sydney, NSW

Re: R.I.P. SoundBlaster AWE32

Postby Pabloz » 2018-3-20 @ 19:01

ok got another idea

i can buy a cheap Ct4500 Isa card
then i have soldering skills, i remove the rom chip from both cards
i insert the rom chip from the Ct4500 Isa to the ct3670

would that even work? would the card even boot thinking its a Ct4500 ?
Pabloz
Member
 
Posts: 217
Joined: 2017-4-22 @ 22:36

Re: R.I.P. SoundBlaster AWE32

Postby cyclone3d » 2018-3-21 @ 01:49

I think that would work. No harm in trying.
User avatar
cyclone3d
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1724
Joined: 2015-4-08 @ 06:06
Location: Huntsville, AL USA

Re: R.I.P. SoundBlaster AWE32

Postby CkRtech » 2018-3-21 @ 01:55

I have been doing a small bit of guesswork with my responses in your thread - but I believe the eeprom just holds configuration information. If flashing the AWE64 information doesn't stick - it could be either a pathway/logic/programming issue independent of the chip - or the chip is just shot.

If the chip is shot, just order another one, replace it, and try the AWE64 firmware flash to see if it takes. Saves you sacrificing another card as well as having to desolder two chips (old and replacement).
User avatar
CkRtech
Oldbie
 
Posts: 588
Joined: 2014-8-23 @ 00:54
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: R.I.P. SoundBlaster AWE32

Postby Pabloz » 2018-5-21 @ 15:40

guys you wont belive this

Now i have TWO broken ct3670 cards
both of them give a ERROR BAD SERIAL ID CHECKSUM ( VENDOR ID 0) error upon boot on different PCs.

what is wrong this this model i can´t belive it.
and again the dell flashing tool does not work with any of these two cards, it doesnt flash.


the only hope then is to take this chip from another card and put it on the ct3670?

Image
Pabloz
Member
 
Posts: 217
Joined: 2017-4-22 @ 22:36

Re: R.I.P. SoundBlaster AWE32

Postby cyclone3d » 2018-5-21 @ 17:41

Weird. I've got one definitely working CT3670 and another that I haven't tested.

Something smells fishy though. I haven't seen any other complaints about dead CT3670 cards on here.
User avatar
cyclone3d
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1724
Joined: 2015-4-08 @ 06:06
Location: Huntsville, AL USA

Re: R.I.P. SoundBlaster AWE32

Postby dionb » 2018-5-21 @ 22:27

Working CT3670 here too. Agree that one card could be fluke, but two cards showing same error suggest problem isn't in the cards themselves.
User avatar
dionb
Oldbie
 
Posts: 659
Joined: 2017-12-23 @ 15:35
Location: Amsterdam

Previous

Return to Sound

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests