Sound Blaster 16 Clones

Discussion about old sound cards, MIDI devices and sound related accessories.

Re: Sound Blaster 16 Clones

Postby Intel486dx33 » 2018-5-30 @ 07:37

What about the Terratec ewx 24/96 24-bit ?
Any good ?
Where is the best place to buy Terratec cards ?
Intel486dx33
Member
 
Posts: 293
Joined: 2018-5-17 @ 01:17

Re: Sound Blaster 16 Clones

Postby appiah4 » 2018-5-30 @ 08:14

Intel486dx33 wrote:What about the Terratec ewx 24/96 24-bit ?
Any good ?
Where is the best place to buy Terratec cards ?


Not a card or chipset I'm familiar with but googling returns absolutely nothing about Sound Blaster compatibility and it also seems to be a mastering sound card that is professionally oriented so I would say it's even worse..

I wish I knew where to find them for a good price, I have several Terratec cards I need in my collection as well.
1989:A500R6|+512K/RTC|ACA500+|HxC/df1:|C1084S
1992:HIPPO-VL+|DX2ODPR66|8M|GD5428|CT2290
1995:PCI597-1|P133|32M|Trio64|Voodoo1|CT3980/2M|DreamS2
1998:S1573S|K6-2/400|64M|VirgeDX|Voodoo2/SLI|CT4500/32M
2000:GA-BX2000|PIII-700E|512M|GF2GTS|MX300
User avatar
appiah4
l33t
 
Posts: 2041
Joined: 2017-2-19 @ 07:36

Re: Sound Blaster 16 Clones

Postby oohms » 2018-5-30 @ 08:29

Those terratec cards use the Via Envy24 chipset.. good windows cards but no dos support whatsoever
DOS/w3.11/w98 | K6-III+ 400ATZ @ 550 | FIC PA2013 | 128mb SDram | Voodoo 3 3000 | Avancelogic ALS100 | Roland SC-55ST
DOS/w98/XP | Core 2 Duo E4600 | Asus P5PE-VM | 512mb DDR400 | Ti4800SE | ForteMedia FM801
oohms
Newbie
 
Posts: 52
Joined: 2018-5-30 @ 08:27
Location: Australia

Re: Sound Blaster 16 Clones

Postby gdjacobs » 2018-5-30 @ 15:47

Fantastic for audio fidelity but not as strong in gaming.
User avatar
gdjacobs
l33t++
 
Posts: 5338
Joined: 2015-11-03 @ 05:51
Location: The Great White North

Re: Sound Blaster 16 Clones

Postby Kamerat » 2018-5-30 @ 16:31

oohms wrote:Those terratec cards use the Via Envy24 chipset.. good windows cards but no dos support whatsoever

The original Envy24 has DOS support but only when coupled with an AC97 codec chip which the EWX 24/96 lacks.
User avatar
Kamerat
Oldbie
 
Posts: 793
Joined: 2014-3-14 @ 19:09
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: Sound Blaster 16 Clones

Postby Intel486dx33 » 2018-5-31 @ 03:24

What about Media Vision Pro Audio Spectrum 16 cards? Or Turtle beach.
These where really big back in the day ( 1990's )
Intel486dx33
Member
 
Posts: 293
Joined: 2018-5-17 @ 01:17

Re: Sound Blaster 16 Clones

Postby badmojo » 2018-5-31 @ 03:57

Intel486dx33 wrote:What about Media Vision Pro Audio Spectrum 16 cards? Or Turtle beach.
These where really big back in the day ( 1990's )


This thread is about SB16 clones! Stay focussed people!
If it's broke, then fix it!
User avatar
badmojo
l33t
 
Posts: 2854
Joined: 2011-10-11 @ 04:14
Location: Australia

Re: Sound Blaster 16 Clones

Postby Intel486dx33 » 2018-5-31 @ 19:25

I just installed this Diamond Audio ISA Sound card in my Gateway 2000 486dx-33
It is SB-16 compatible. I used this card because this is all I had on hand with a CDROM controller.
Works great and easy to setup.
Works okay, Audio is okay, A little heavy on base and no way to adjust tones.
These where selling for cheap back in 1995/96 about $10 each. at electronics stores.
Comes with a music program that looks like a home stereo.
Buttons function the same as a home stereo.
They later came out with Sound Origins 128-bit card.
with Yamaha XG 128-bit chip.
Attachments
pci128.jpg
Diamond-MJ-013R00-16-Bit-ISA-Audio-Sound-Card-_1.jpg
Diamond-MJ-013R00-16-Bit-ISA-Audio-Sound-Card-_1.jpg (35.26 KiB) Viewed 1495 times
dtsound.jpg
IMG_0501.JPG
Intel486dx33
Member
 
Posts: 293
Joined: 2018-5-17 @ 01:17

Re: Sound Blaster 16 Clones

Postby oohms » 2018-6-01 @ 04:49

Looks like you have an ALS007 or ALS100 based card, same as the one discussed on page 5/6 of this thread. These cards are probably some of the best dos sound cards out there in terms of compatibility - just add a wavetable card or external synth
DOS/w3.11/w98 | K6-III+ 400ATZ @ 550 | FIC PA2013 | 128mb SDram | Voodoo 3 3000 | Avancelogic ALS100 | Roland SC-55ST
DOS/w98/XP | Core 2 Duo E4600 | Asus P5PE-VM | 512mb DDR400 | Ti4800SE | ForteMedia FM801
oohms
Newbie
 
Posts: 52
Joined: 2018-5-30 @ 08:27
Location: Australia

Re: Sound Blaster 16 Clones

Postby gdjacobs » 2018-6-01 @ 17:02

Any compatibility issues, like reversed stereo, glitches, etc?
User avatar
gdjacobs
l33t++
 
Posts: 5338
Joined: 2015-11-03 @ 05:51
Location: The Great White North

Re: Sound Blaster 16 Clones

Postby oohms » 2018-6-03 @ 02:06

gdjacobs wrote:Any compatibility issues, like reversed stereo, glitches, etc?


On my ALS100, none yet. No hanging notes (with an external SC-55ST), no single cycle DMA bugs, works in DN3D with both high and low DMA and every other game I have thrown at it. In some games you have to adjust the volume of the music to effects, but the sound quality remains decent

I haven't noticed any reverse stereo issues yet
DOS/w3.11/w98 | K6-III+ 400ATZ @ 550 | FIC PA2013 | 128mb SDram | Voodoo 3 3000 | Avancelogic ALS100 | Roland SC-55ST
DOS/w98/XP | Core 2 Duo E4600 | Asus P5PE-VM | 512mb DDR400 | Ti4800SE | ForteMedia FM801
oohms
Newbie
 
Posts: 52
Joined: 2018-5-30 @ 08:27
Location: Australia

Re: Sound Blaster 16 Clones

Postby gdjacobs » 2018-6-03 @ 02:43

I'll have to keep my eyes open for one.
User avatar
gdjacobs
l33t++
 
Posts: 5338
Joined: 2015-11-03 @ 05:51
Location: The Great White North

Re: Sound Blaster 16 Clones

Postby oohms » 2018-6-03 @ 03:42

This is the card i'm using. I know that the LS262 is supposed to be genuine OPL3 but I have several less useful cards with a genuine YMF262 so i thought i would transplant it across anyway. I also upgraded the opamp as the LM324 isn't really good enough for audio

IMG_0628.jpg
ALS100 stock


IMG_0634.jpg
ALS100 with genuine opl3 and upgraded opamp
DOS/w3.11/w98 | K6-III+ 400ATZ @ 550 | FIC PA2013 | 128mb SDram | Voodoo 3 3000 | Avancelogic ALS100 | Roland SC-55ST
DOS/w98/XP | Core 2 Duo E4600 | Asus P5PE-VM | 512mb DDR400 | Ti4800SE | ForteMedia FM801
oohms
Newbie
 
Posts: 52
Joined: 2018-5-30 @ 08:27
Location: Australia

Re: Sound Blaster 16 Clones

Postby oohms » 2018-6-03 @ 03:49

For those people with ALS100 issues, try different driver versions and make sure that your ATX power supply has a -5v rail. This rail was made optional around the time when ISA motherboards stopped existing and the opamp in this sound card uses the +5v and -5v rails to operate. If you are good at electronics you can add a regulator to get -5v from the -12v rail but you need to know what you're doing
DOS/w3.11/w98 | K6-III+ 400ATZ @ 550 | FIC PA2013 | 128mb SDram | Voodoo 3 3000 | Avancelogic ALS100 | Roland SC-55ST
DOS/w98/XP | Core 2 Duo E4600 | Asus P5PE-VM | 512mb DDR400 | Ti4800SE | ForteMedia FM801
oohms
Newbie
 
Posts: 52
Joined: 2018-5-30 @ 08:27
Location: Australia

Re: Sound Blaster 16 Clones

Postby gdjacobs » 2018-6-03 @ 04:23

The illegal clones of the YMF262 are usually 99-100% accurate, but I'm curious if the ALS100 has the companion DAC built in or if that's also a clone chip (maybe the 74F244)?
User avatar
gdjacobs
l33t++
 
Posts: 5338
Joined: 2015-11-03 @ 05:51
Location: The Great White North

Re: Sound Blaster 16 Clones

Postby oohms » 2018-6-03 @ 06:07

gdjacobs wrote:The illegal clones of the YMF262 are usually 99-100% accurate, but I'm curious if the ALS100 has the companion DAC built in or if that's also a clone chip (maybe the 74F244)?


It seems that the digital output of the YMF262 is directly fed into the ALS100
DOS/w3.11/w98 | K6-III+ 400ATZ @ 550 | FIC PA2013 | 128mb SDram | Voodoo 3 3000 | Avancelogic ALS100 | Roland SC-55ST
DOS/w98/XP | Core 2 Duo E4600 | Asus P5PE-VM | 512mb DDR400 | Ti4800SE | ForteMedia FM801
oohms
Newbie
 
Posts: 52
Joined: 2018-5-30 @ 08:27
Location: Australia

Previous

Return to Sound

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests