VOGONS


Reply 200 of 213, by DevanWolf

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

There is another MIDI sound device with a battery backup that is the Casio LD-80 here which runs the internal RAM memory for the custom drum kit setup and drum song recording. Have a look at it:
bllLHrS.jpg
I did replace the battery with another good one I have and it should work better. The one that is in has a bump in the top and may not work correctly.

Last edited by DevanWolf on 2019-09-17, 15:34. Edited 1 time in total.

Reply 201 of 213, by Slot1

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I have removed the battery today, also upgraded the ROM thanks to keropi! Follow up is posted in this thread: Re: Update SC-55 ROM

roland-rom2.jpg
Filename
roland-rom2.jpg
File size
1.35 MiB
Views
577 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 202 of 213, by MaverickUK

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I've glad that I stumbled across this thread, as it's prompted me to check my SC-55.

I bought it a few years ago from Japan and it was listed as having "no battery"

However look what I found when I just opened it up...

SC-55 battery.jpg
Filename
SC-55 battery.jpg
File size
318.75 KiB
Views
524 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Thankfully it wasn't leaking, but I've removed it anyway.

http://www.strifestreams.com // Regular nuggets of retro gaming

Reply 203 of 213, by bifo78

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I've decided to try to finally get around to fixing my SC-55, but my knowledge of electronics is limited. The issue is a blown D1 diode, listed on the parts sheet in the service manual as 1sr35-100a t-93, which is listed on it's family datasheet as a DO-41 package here:
https://www.datasheets360.com/pdf/-2147230067271245127

These seem to be unobtanium now, but in the same family with the same rating and packaging is the 1N4002A, which are very common. The 1SR35 is glass packaged while the 1N4002A appears to be round molded plastic, should they work the same way or is there a major difference that will cause problems?

Korg AG-10 | Kawai XS-1 | Roland CM-32P | Yamaha FB-01 | Roland D-110

Reply 204 of 213, by DNSDies

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Here you go:
https://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Diodes-I … tSXSI%252B7A%3D

That should be a suitable replacement.
Mouser has a feature that cross-references and finds modern replacement parts for some components.

Reply 205 of 213, by imi

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

so shortly after getting my beige SC-55ST which doesn't have a battery I actually found a SC-55 mkI for a reasonable price as well and I'm glad I knew of this thread, thanks.

sc55_bat01.jpg
Filename
sc55_bat01.jpg
File size
188.82 KiB
Views
430 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

is that white gunk on the edge?

sc55_bat02.jpg
Filename
sc55_bat02.jpg
File size
127.77 KiB
Views
430 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

it sure is.

I blew out the unit with some air and there was really no dust in the rest of the unit but from the battery area I saw a bit of white-ish dust being blown away, so it did already leak onto the board ever so slightly.

I'm glad I caught it in time, the board still looks perfectly fine.

the power button needs some love though 😀

Reply 206 of 213, by bifo78

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
DNSDies wrote:
Here you go: https://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Diodes-I … tSXSI%252B7A%3D […]
Show full quote

Here you go:
https://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Diodes-I … tSXSI%252B7A%3D

That should be a suitable replacement.
Mouser has a feature that cross-references and finds modern replacement parts for some components.

Excellent, that's the type I was looking at and ordered a batch on ebay. I've had that SC-55 collecting dust since I bought it (ebay, naturally) non working and discovered that the diode had blown. Hopefully it saved the rest of the board, but $40 years ago and another dollar on some diodes is worth taking a punt on.

Now to wait until they get here, plenty of projects to do between now and then.

Korg AG-10 | Kawai XS-1 | Roland CM-32P | Yamaha FB-01 | Roland D-110

Reply 207 of 213, by MarcV

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I recently acquired a Roland D50 synthesizer. When I got home with it I opened it up to clean it a bit, and found a leaking CR2032 battery inside. Since I had a spare battery from the ones I bought for my SC-55 I decided to replace it right away. Much to my surprise I found out that after the battery replacement the D-50 no longer produced any sounds! 😳

It turned out that the standard patches of the D-50 are stored in battery backed up RAM memory, so after removing the battery all patches are gone! That was pretty scary, but luckily there's the internet. I downloaded the patches and was able to restore them via a midi tool. Now it works fine again! 😀

...but I might be wrong...

Reply 209 of 213, by SpeedySPCFan

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

I picked up two Roland synths over the past month - a JD-990 and M-OC1 - and those both had pretty nasty batteries. Not sure what was up at the time but I haven't had a single piece of Roland gear that DIDN'T have a totally screwed up CR2032 battery...

Musician & music gear/game reviewer.

MIDI hardware: Roland JD-990, M-OC1, SC-55 (2.00 ROM), Korg Trinity Plus, Yamaha VL70-m Patchman Turbo, Motif ES8

Reply 210 of 213, by yawetaG

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
MarcV wrote on 2019-11-04, 11:45:

I recently acquired a Roland D50 synthesizer. When I got home with it I opened it up to clean it a bit, and found a leaking CR2032 battery inside. Since I had a spare battery from the ones I bought for my SC-55 I decided to replace it right away. Much to my surprise I found out that after the battery replacement the D-50 no longer produced any sounds! 😳

It turned out that the standard patches of the D-50 are stored in battery backed up RAM memory, so after removing the battery all patches are gone! That was pretty scary, but luckily there's the internet. I downloaded the patches and was able to restore them via a midi tool. Now it works fine again! 😀

That's actually the case for quite a lot of professional audio gear with MIDI. Just be careful if you want to do that with certain Sony units, because their factory-reset is so convoluted that reloading the patches is next to impossible.

Reply 211 of 213, by Cyrix200+

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

When I got my SC-55 two weeks ago I remembered seeing this thread:

IMG_20200122_123615.jpg
Filename
IMG_20200122_123615.jpg
File size
1.47 MiB
Views
79 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception