VOGONS


Reply 140 of 209, by Dominus

User metadata
Rank DOSBox Moderator
Rank
DOSBox Moderator

Do they hold settings through a power cycle? Volume and whatever else you can set. If yes, then there must be a battery

Windows 3.1x guide for DOSBox
60 seconds guide to DOSBox
DOSBox SVN snapshot for OS X (10.4-10.14 ppc/intel 32/64bit) codesigned for gatekeeper
DOSBox SVN with SDL2 snapshot for OS X (10.7-10.14 intel 64bit) codesigned for gatekeeper

Reply 141 of 209, by m5215tx

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
Dominus wrote:

Do they hold settings through a power cycle? Volume and whatever else you can set. If yes, then there must be a battery

Well, I am wondering if these may have memory that can hold it's data even after a power cycle. That would be nice as there would be no worry about any battery issues over time.

Roland MT-32 (old), CM-32LN, SC-55, SC-88VL, MT-120, SD-35, SD-20, SD-80, SD-90
Yamaha TG100, TG300, MDF2, MU15, MU100, MU2000EX + PLG150-DR + PLG150-PF + PLG150-VL
KORG NS5R, X5DR
AKAI SG01k
KAWAI GMega
KETRON SD2

Reply 143 of 209, by m5215tx

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
Cloudschatze wrote:

Per its service manual, the Yamaha MU2000(EX) has a standard, holder-mounted CR2032.

Thanks Cloudschatze! It would be great to find a copy of the service manual as I did not locate a free download of one in my search.

Roland MT-32 (old), CM-32LN, SC-55, SC-88VL, MT-120, SD-35, SD-20, SD-80, SD-90
Yamaha TG100, TG300, MDF2, MU15, MU100, MU2000EX + PLG150-DR + PLG150-PF + PLG150-VL
KORG NS5R, X5DR
AKAI SG01k
KAWAI GMega
KETRON SD2

Reply 146 of 209, by blackmasked

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

What's your experience with power supplies for Roland SC and Yamaha MU modules? Have you experienced any failures? I recently purchased a genuine Yamaha PA-130 PSU for my MU80 as I no longer trust the 20 year old PSU that came with it, but it's a bit of a struggle to find a decent replacement PSU for a SC-55. Looks like Roland has not released a newer version of ACB-240 and I don't really trust all these third party compatible PSUs available on ebay.

DOS build: Gigabyte GA-586T2, P200 MMX, 64MB RAM, Tseng ET6000 4MB, Sound Blaster AWE64 Gold, Roland SC-55mkII, Yamaha MU-80
98SE build: MSI MS-6163 Pro, PIII 650MHz, 256MB RAM, Voodoo3 3000, Sound Blaster Live! 5.1 Platinum, Yamaha SW1000XG

Reply 147 of 209, by elod

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
blackmasked wrote:

I don't really trust all these third party compatible PSUs available on ebay. [/color]

Don't. Just get something branded that outputs the same voltage then change the connector.
Or get a decent universal PSU (should be >10 dollars/euros).

Reply 148 of 209, by derSammler

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
blackmasked wrote:

I recently purchased a genuine Yamaha PA-130 PSU for my MU80 as I no longer trust the 20 year old PSU that came with it, but it's a bit of a struggle to find a decent replacement PSU for a SC-55.

Personally, I trust a 20-year old transformer-based PSU much more than a new switching-mode PSU made in China...

retro-net.de/blog.html

Reply 149 of 209, by bjwil1991

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
derSammler wrote:
blackmasked wrote:

I recently purchased a genuine Yamaha PA-130 PSU for my MU80 as I no longer trust the 20 year old PSU that came with it, but it's a bit of a struggle to find a decent replacement PSU for a SC-55.

Personally, I trust a 20-year old transformer-based PSU much more than a new switching-mode PSU made in China...

Speaking of newer PSUs, I have 2 RCA universal PSUs that are rated for up to 2.5A and 12V (either DC or AC, can't recall) for a Yamaha TG-100 and Delco radio from 1996 that was pulled out of the 96 Safari that we had, which does work.

Discord: https://discord.gg/U5dJw7x
Systems from C64 to FX-6300.

Reply 150 of 209, by blackmasked

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
derSammler wrote:
blackmasked wrote:

I recently purchased a genuine Yamaha PA-130 PSU for my MU80 as I no longer trust the 20 year old PSU that came with it, but it's a bit of a struggle to find a decent replacement PSU for a SC-55.

Personally, I trust a 20-year old transformer-based PSU much more than a new switching-mode PSU made in China...

I think all these C64 users who saw their beloved machines go up in flames would disagree, myself included. ;]

DOS build: Gigabyte GA-586T2, P200 MMX, 64MB RAM, Tseng ET6000 4MB, Sound Blaster AWE64 Gold, Roland SC-55mkII, Yamaha MU-80
98SE build: MSI MS-6163 Pro, PIII 650MHz, 256MB RAM, Voodoo3 3000, Sound Blaster Live! 5.1 Platinum, Yamaha SW1000XG

Reply 151 of 209, by voodoo5_6k

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
blackmasked wrote:

What's your experience with power supplies for Roland SC and Yamaha MU modules? Have you experienced any failures? I recently purchased a genuine Yamaha PA-130 PSU for my MU80 as I no longer trust the 20 year old PSU that came with it, but it's a bit of a struggle to find a decent replacement PSU for a SC-55. Looks like Roland has not released a newer version of ACB-240 and I don't really trust all these third party compatible PSUs available on ebay.

Oh yes, they did release a replacement unit.

The Roland PSB-230 (or PSB-1U if bundled with a Roland device) can replace, among others, any Roland ACB or ACI PSU (the PSUs bundled with e.g. MT-32, CM-32L, SC-55 and many, many other devices). I use these for all my Roland devices (UM-550, CM-32L, SC-55) for several years now. Shouldn't be too hard to find one, it is a current product.

END OF LINE.

My retro systems:
1: E4700 2.6|512MB|P5PE-VM|Voodoo5|SB0240|UM-1>UM-550>CM-32L+SC-55
2: P3-S 1.4|512MB|D815EEA2|Voodoo5+Voodoo5 6000|SB0350
3: P4 3.4EE|4GB|P4C800-E|FX 5900 Ultra+Ti4600|SB0466
4: X5470 3.33|8GB|P5Q-E|GTX 580 3G|SB0886

Reply 152 of 209, by derSammler

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
blackmasked wrote:

I think all these C64 users who saw their beloved machines go up in flames would disagree, myself included. ;]

But that's because those PSUs are simply cheap sh*t and have no protection whatsoever. Also, these supply higher voltage than needed which is then regulated down. If the regulator goes short, the much too high voltage goes directly to the device. This is not how you would normally build a PSU.

retro-net.de/blog.html

Reply 154 of 209, by badmojo

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

I bought a replacement PSU for my MT-32 recently - insanely cheap from China but it appeared identical to another one that I'd had an used for years. It arrived and looked the goods, but it was so light that I was moved to open it up and see if there was anything in there - there was, but I chucked it all the same.

I've since remembered that I have a spare Sega Mega Drive PSU here which people have said are workable - 10V instead of 9V tho.

If it's broke, then fix it!

Reply 155 of 209, by keropi

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

Yeah 10v will work just fine, the SC-55s do regulate again to 5v internally so it's no big deal. Even higher would work but I'd put a limit to 12v since the internal heatsinks/design is not made for more and the unit could overheat.

cT89QGt.gif Amstrad PC7486SLC-33 wanted , click me for AmiBay ad!

Reply 156 of 209, by blackmasked

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Thanks for the tip voodoo5_6k, that's exactly what I was after ;]

Last edited by blackmasked on 2017-11-22, 17:38. Edited 1 time in total.

DOS build: Gigabyte GA-586T2, P200 MMX, 64MB RAM, Tseng ET6000 4MB, Sound Blaster AWE64 Gold, Roland SC-55mkII, Yamaha MU-80
98SE build: MSI MS-6163 Pro, PIII 650MHz, 256MB RAM, Voodoo3 3000, Sound Blaster Live! 5.1 Platinum, Yamaha SW1000XG

Reply 157 of 209, by badmojo

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
keropi wrote:

Yeah 10v will work just fine, the SC-55s do regulate again to 5v internally so it's no big deal. Even higher would work but I'd put a limit to 12v since the internal heatsinks/design is not made for more and the unit could overheat.

Good to know - what about MT-32s? Do they regulate too do you know?

Thanks again.

If it's broke, then fix it!

Reply 158 of 209, by keropi

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

yep both mt-32 and cm-32L that I have opened do use a 7805 regulator since they are 5v devices 😀

cT89QGt.gif Amstrad PC7486SLC-33 wanted , click me for AmiBay ad!