Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Discussion about old sound cards, MIDI devices and sound related accessories.

Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Postby yawetaG » 2017-12-04 @ 15:53

voodoo5_6k wrote:
blackmasked wrote:What's your experience with power supplies for Roland SC and Yamaha MU modules? Have you experienced any failures? I recently purchased a genuine Yamaha PA-130 PSU for my MU80 as I no longer trust the 20 year old PSU that came with it, but it's a bit of a struggle to find a decent replacement PSU for a SC-55. Looks like Roland has not released a newer version of ACB-240 and I don't really trust all these third party compatible PSUs available on ebay.

Oh yes, they did release a replacement unit.

The Roland PSB-230 (or PSB-1U if bundled with a Roland device) can replace, among others, any Roland ACB or ACI PSU (the PSUs bundled with e.g. MT-32, CM-32L, SC-55 and many, many other devices). I use these for all my Roland devices (UM-550, CM-32L, SC-55) for several years now. Shouldn't be too hard to find one, it is a current product.


And if you want noise-free sound output, getting an original Roland-branded power supply apparently is the better choice, as cheap no-name Chinese units are known to cause interference issues on synths...
yawetaG
Oldbie
 
Posts: 824
Joined: 2016-6-14 @ 14:36
Location: Netherlands

Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Postby Elia1995 » 2017-12-04 @ 22:12

I hope I'll get a Roland SC-55 and/or an MT-32 one day... and the first thing I'll do will certainly be to check the battery, after seeing this thread :)
Currently assembled vintage computers I own: 11

Most important ones:
A "modded" Olivetti M4 434 S (currently broken).
An Epson El Plus 386DX running MS-DOS 6.22 (currently broken).
Celeron Coppermine 1.10GHz on an M754LMRTP motherboard
User avatar
Elia1995
Oldbie
 
Posts: 621
Joined: 2016-4-21 @ 12:45
Location: Italy

Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Postby bjwil1991 » 2017-12-05 @ 01:37

Elia1995 wrote:I hope I'll get a Roland SC-55 and/or an MT-32 one day... and the first thing I'll do will certainly be to check the battery, after seeing this thread :)

The MT-32 doesn't use a battery unless it's the 2nd version (headphone jack), or not at all, I believe. The SC-55 and higher use them to keep the soundbank data (if my memory serves me right).
C64, WheelWriter 10 Series II, Pack-Mate 28 Plus, K6-2/300, Pavilion N3350, iMac G3/600, Socket 370, HP Socket 478, 2x Inspiron 600m, Athlon 64, Dimension 4550 & E510, ThinkPad R40, Presario C700, ASUS X54C, Raspberry Pi B+, 2-3, Custom FX-6300
User avatar
bjwil1991
Oldbie
 
Posts: 759
Joined: 2013-8-14 @ 03:10
Location: United States of America

Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Postby static- » 2017-12-05 @ 04:34

Just opened my SC-55mkII (bought 7 years ago for $140) and battery was in perfect shape. I removed it anyway.

PS. holy crap Tyrian sounds amazing on an SC-55. Run the setup.exe to access the Jukebox.
static-
Newbie
 
Posts: 65
Joined: 2005-5-26 @ 04:29

Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Postby Elia1995 » 2017-12-07 @ 07:16

What is that battery for anyway? I think SC-55 and MT-32 use electrical plugs, but not owning either YET, I can't really point my fingers at that, as they could also use batteries, as much as I know...
Currently assembled vintage computers I own: 11

Most important ones:
A "modded" Olivetti M4 434 S (currently broken).
An Epson El Plus 386DX running MS-DOS 6.22 (currently broken).
Celeron Coppermine 1.10GHz on an M754LMRTP motherboard
User avatar
Elia1995
Oldbie
 
Posts: 621
Joined: 2016-4-21 @ 12:45
Location: Italy

Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Postby derSammler » 2017-12-07 @ 07:24

To keep user settings, just like the CMOS battery in a PC.
derSammler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 751
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Postby keropi » 2017-12-07 @ 09:31

No mt-32 revisions use batteries or store settings after power-off , there are mods to add a battery though in order to keep settings and that's the reason SC-55 does have a battery: to keep settings/setup according to the artist's setup/wishes. Unless there is a very specific setup issue a common user like a gamer can remove the battery all together and the unit will startup with the default settings every time, something that is actually desirable for gaming reasons.
User avatar
keropi
l33t++
 
Posts: 5727
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 06:45
Location: Greece

Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Postby fitzpatr » 2017-12-15 @ 04:30

Well, as expected the SC-88Pro also had a battery. I needed to remove the screws holding the main, upper board before I could access the battery to remove it.

I should add that the battery was showing very early signs of corrosion. No issue now, but as always, it is better to take the precaution.
Attachments
20171205_165255.jpg
Roland SC-88Pro Main Board
20171205_165236.jpg
Roland SC-88Pro internals.
MT-32 Old, CM-32L, CM-500, SC-55mkII, SC-88Pro, SC-D70, MU2000EX
P4EE 3.4GHz/P4C800-E/4GB Ballistix Tracer DDR-500/HD3850/Audigy 2ZS Platinum
PIII-1.4S/TUSL2-C/Voodoo5 5500/MX300
K6-III+/450/GA-5AX/G400 Max/Voodoo2 SLI/CT1750/MPU-401AT/Audigy 2ZS
fitzpatr
Member
 
Posts: 161
Joined: 2016-10-30 @ 06:50
Location: Canada

Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Postby cheesemaun » 2017-12-19 @ 00:45

I popped open my SC-55 and yes, the battery was just staring to have residue leaking out.

I'd recommend a quick 5 min check :)
User avatar
cheesemaun
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2017-12-06 @ 02:57

Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Postby derSammler » 2017-12-19 @ 19:38

Just had another SB-55 with severe damage due to leaking caps on the interface board. This makes a rate of 100% so far (two checked, two damaged). In both cases, traces were completely gone. Fortunately, it's easy to fix. But still, check your SB-55 if you got one!
derSammler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 751
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Postby Cga.8086 » 2017-12-25 @ 03:19

you should, i once opened one
and one side of the battery was completely white
removing the battery it was a dust kind of particle, all white. but it did not ruin the pcb.
Cga.8086
Newbie
 
Posts: 75
Joined: 2017-4-16 @ 22:38

Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Postby SpeedySPCFan » 2018-1-09 @ 02:55

I know this thread is about the SC-55, but this is about another SC so I guess it fits here. How exactly are you supposed to take the battery out of an SC-88 Pro? I feel like I'm gonna snap the plastic off the battery holder every time I pull on the battery and try to pry it out upwards. If I can't get it out then it's not the biggest deal; I couldn't find any signs of corrosion on it (the top, battery holder, and area around the holder were completely clean, and nothing came off the bottom of the battery when I pressed it with a pair of tweezers), but I'd like to replace it just to be safe if I can.
User avatar
SpeedySPCFan
Member
 
Posts: 127
Joined: 2014-10-30 @ 20:34

Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Postby fitzpatr » 2018-1-09 @ 04:44

SpeedySPCFan wrote:I know this thread is about the SC-55, but this is about another SC so I guess it fits here. How exactly are you supposed to take the battery out of an SC-88 Pro? I feel like I'm gonna snap the plastic off the battery holder every time I pull on the battery and try to pry it out upwards. If I can't get it out then it's not the biggest deal; I couldn't find any signs of corrosion on it (the top, battery holder, and area around the holder were completely clean, and nothing came off the bottom of the battery when I pressed it with a pair of tweezers), but I'd like to replace it just to be safe if I can.


I used two thin blades: one to pry up the front, and the other to push from behind. Be gentle and it will be fine.
MT-32 Old, CM-32L, CM-500, SC-55mkII, SC-88Pro, SC-D70, MU2000EX
P4EE 3.4GHz/P4C800-E/4GB Ballistix Tracer DDR-500/HD3850/Audigy 2ZS Platinum
PIII-1.4S/TUSL2-C/Voodoo5 5500/MX300
K6-III+/450/GA-5AX/G400 Max/Voodoo2 SLI/CT1750/MPU-401AT/Audigy 2ZS
fitzpatr
Member
 
Posts: 161
Joined: 2016-10-30 @ 06:50
Location: Canada

Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Postby SpeedySPCFan » 2018-1-09 @ 16:32

I didn't do exactly that but I got it to work, thanks! I propped the battery up with my finger, and then wiggled it back-side to back-side with a super tiny screw driver. Eventually it slid right out, and I was able to replace it with a new battery. The old one was just barely starting to leak, so I'm glad I did that. Ironically though the new battery I put in (which is an Energizer I've had laying around for years) has LESS battery than the old one so I'll have to get a replacement for that tomorrow. It's not all bad though, because I needed to record some footage of me replacing the battery for a review :)
User avatar
SpeedySPCFan
Member
 
Posts: 127
Joined: 2014-10-30 @ 20:34

Previous

Return to Sound

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BSA Starfire, Phreeze and 2 guests