List of roland mt-32 compatible hardware?

Discussion about old sound cards, MIDI devices and sound related accessories.

List of roland mt-32 compatible hardware?

Postby shiozaki » 2017-1-28 @ 15:23

seems to be a few different models that work and im unsure what are the ones i should be keeping an eye out for.

mt-100 cm-32l, cm-32p sc-55, sc-55t, sc-55mk2? do these work, what ones are worth buying?
shiozaki
Newbie
 
Posts: 34
Joined: 2017-1-14 @ 09:02

Re: List of roland mt-32 compatible hardware?

Postby Dominus » 2017-1-28 @ 15:38

The CM64 is also worth it. CM-32l and CM-64 have extra sfx that some few games (Ultima Underworld - flowing water sfx) use. The SC-55 and the CM-32p are *NOT* fully compatible if at all.
User avatar
Dominus
DOSBox Moderator
 
Posts: 7939
Joined: 2002-10-03 @ 09:54
Location: Ludwigsburg

Re: List of roland mt-32 compatible hardware?

Postby shiozaki » 2017-1-28 @ 15:43

thanks for the help what about the SC-88/ST PRO? there are so many.
Last edited by shiozaki on 2017-1-28 @ 15:45, edited 1 time in total.
shiozaki
Newbie
 
Posts: 34
Joined: 2017-1-14 @ 09:02

Re: List of roland mt-32 compatible hardware?

Postby firage » 2017-1-28 @ 15:45

Don't forget the ISA card, LAPC-I.
User avatar
firage
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1082
Joined: 2013-1-06 @ 21:43
Location: Finland

Re: List of roland mt-32 compatible hardware?

Postby Dominus » 2017-1-28 @ 15:46

Yeah, I always omit that because I'm not interested in those legacy isa things :)
http://www.marshalltradecorp.com/coDe/o ... cm32l.html
User avatar
Dominus
DOSBox Moderator
 
Posts: 7939
Joined: 2002-10-03 @ 09:54
Location: Ludwigsburg

Re: List of roland mt-32 compatible hardware?

Postby elianda » 2017-1-28 @ 15:57

You should consider adding the Roland RA-50 as well.
Retronn.de - Vintage Hardware Gallery, Drivers, Guides, Videos. Now with file search
Youtube Channel
FTP Server - Driver Archive and more
DVI2PCIe alignment and 2D image quality measurement tool
User avatar
elianda
l33t
 
Posts: 2420
Joined: 2006-4-21 @ 16:56
Location: Halle / Germany

Re: List of roland mt-32 compatible hardware?

Postby gdjacobs » 2017-1-28 @ 17:51

The RA-50 uses LA, but does it have compatible waveforms?
User avatar
gdjacobs
l33t++
 
Posts: 6492
Joined: 2015-11-03 @ 05:51
Location: The Great White North

Re: List of roland mt-32 compatible hardware?

Postby CHiLL72 » 2017-1-31 @ 10:38

And what about the CM-500?
Looking for Roland MIDI modules or cards? http://members.home.nl/c.kersten
User avatar
CHiLL72
Member
 
Posts: 114
Joined: 2008-8-05 @ 18:50
Location: Netherlands

Re: List of roland mt-32 compatible hardware?

Postby jheronimus » 2017-1-31 @ 10:41

elianda wrote:You should consider adding the Roland RA-50 as well.


I would love to see some confirmation on this. I've been looking for a good deal on MT-32 for almost a month now. RA-50 seems to be almost 3x cheaper.

Edit: So far have only seen one person comment on the issue here and here.
Pentium III 800, 512 MB RAM, Voodoo 5 5500 AGP, SB Live 5.1 Platinum, SB AWE32 CT3990, Gravis Ultrasound Max rev 2.1
User avatar
jheronimus
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1000
Joined: 2015-12-10 @ 00:09
Location: Moscow

Re: List of roland mt-32 compatible hardware?

Postby bjt » 2017-1-31 @ 11:29

As you saw in the other threads, the RA-50 doesn't support the All Notes Off command which leads to hanging notes in some games.
You can work around it using SoftMPU, but only for real-mode games.
I guess most games that are best on MT-32 are real-mode.
User avatar
bjt
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1435
Joined: 2013-2-06 @ 10:40
Location: UK

Re: List of roland mt-32 compatible hardware?

Postby Dominus » 2017-1-31 @ 11:30

So, please consider the RA-50 :)
User avatar
Dominus
DOSBox Moderator
 
Posts: 7939
Joined: 2002-10-03 @ 09:54
Location: Ludwigsburg

Re: List of roland mt-32 compatible hardware?

Postby gdjacobs » 2017-1-31 @ 14:50

bjt wrote:As you saw in the other threads, the RA-50 doesn't support the All Notes Off command which leads to hanging notes in some games.
You can work around it using SoftMPU, but only for real-mode games.
I guess most games that are best on MT-32 are real-mode.


Would the HardMPU card also support that feature?
User avatar
gdjacobs
l33t++
 
Posts: 6492
Joined: 2015-11-03 @ 05:51
Location: The Great White North

Re: List of roland mt-32 compatible hardware?

Postby RJDog » 2017-2-01 @ 00:43

gdjacobs wrote:Would the HardMPU card also support that feature?

Yup sure is... ab0tj is obviously thr authority on that, but it has 3 or 4 options (via command line config utility) one of which is the all-notes-off RA-50 fix. The code is actually shared with SoftMPU...
RJDog
Member
 
Posts: 364
Joined: 2016-9-28 @ 01:14
Location: East Coast Canada


Return to Sound

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BloodyCactus, dr.zeissler and 4 guests