DaemonTools No CD Audio

Discussion about old sound cards, MIDI devices and sound related accessories.

DaemonTools No CD Audio

Postby Vicxar27 » 2017-1-29 @ 00:34

Hello anyone reading this.

I've recently installed Daemon Tools 3.4.7 to simulate CDs (MY Half Life disc is scratched to hell and I'm not sure it will hold up anymore)
and have tried to play games with CD Audio, like Half Life and Quake, for example. Music works fine in CD player, but doesn't work in-game.
I have a hardware CD-ROM drive, and music comes out fine through it.

I suspected that the hardware CD-ROM was considered "First, and after trying out, it did play music, but only when the CD-ROM drive was first in letter arrangement compared to Daemon Tools. But changing the letters so that the virtual drive pops up first doesn't solve my problem.

If it helps, I have a CD-ROM cable connecting the CD-ROM drive to the soundcard

*Edit*: I have Windows 98SE, and installed drivers and some games, but not much else
Last edited by Vicxar27 on 2017-1-29 @ 17:02, edited 1 time in total.
Vicxar27
Newbie
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 2016-11-22 @ 04:27

Re: DaemonTools No CD Audio

Postby Neco » 2017-1-29 @ 00:44

Some games are weird in that if you change drive letters after installing them, they can't see the proper drive anymore.

Try reinstalling the game from your disc image.
Neco
Member
 
Posts: 117
Joined: 2007-6-02 @ 10:55

Re: DaemonTools No CD Audio

Postby Joey_sw » 2017-1-29 @ 00:55

And try toggling the "Analog Audio" in Daemon Tools Options.
-fffuuu
User avatar
Joey_sw
Oldbie
 
Posts: 547
Joined: 2011-8-17 @ 12:03

Re: DaemonTools No CD Audio

Postby Vicxar27 » 2017-1-29 @ 03:35

I actually have "analog audio" turned on. The problem is that the music doesn't appear in-game. it only appears in the cd player included in windows 98 accessories
Vicxar27
Newbie
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 2016-11-22 @ 04:27

Re: DaemonTools No CD Audio

Postby Vicxar27 » 2017-1-29 @ 03:36

I'll also try reinstalling. I have already finished Half Life on my 2 year-old laptop
Last edited by Vicxar27 on 2017-1-29 @ 17:02, edited 1 time in total.
Vicxar27
Newbie
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 2016-11-22 @ 04:27

Re: DaemonTools No CD Audio

Postby firage » 2017-1-29 @ 06:49

98SE, I presume? If installing WDM drivers for your sound card is an option, that would allow you to enable digital audio extraction without analog cables or any kind of analog emulation by Daemon Tools.

If it's a game specific problem, make sure you're using the lowest optical drive letter and that it matches the game installation source drive.
Last edited by firage on 2017-1-29 @ 07:19, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
firage
Oldbie
 
Posts: 949
Joined: 2013-1-06 @ 21:43
Location: Finland

Re: DaemonTools No CD Audio

Postby PhilsComputerLab » 2017-1-29 @ 07:18

firage wrote:98SE, I presume? If installing WDM drivers for your sound card is an option, that would allow you to enable digital audio extraction without analog cables or any kind of analog emulation by Daemon Tools. If it's a game specfic problem, make sure you're using the lowest optical drive letter and that it matches the game installation source drive.


That should do the trick!
User avatar
PhilsComputerLab
Hardware Mod
 
Posts: 6180
Joined: 2014-9-28 @ 03:33
Location: Western Australia

Re: DaemonTools No CD Audio

Postby Deksor » 2017-1-29 @ 11:23

I've got Carmageddon that is badly scratched too. While running it with daemon tools, music doesn't work. However if I put the CD in the drive and start the game with the image loaded in daemon tools, the game will load music from the CD. I discovered that if you happen to have two cd drives with only one wired to the sound card, then if you put another game in the CD drive that have analog audio wired up and the wanted game in the other drive, it will read the game's data from the correct drive, however the music will be read from the other CD drive :lol:

And also another odd fact : on my computers my sound card doesn't use WDM drivers, and on most games I don't have music. But here's the thing : when I run RE-Volt, the music plays ! Why ? I have absolutely no idea ! Maybe because mine is in some sort of nero's format, but I've never tried that
Deksor
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1040
Joined: 2016-6-07 @ 14:37

Re: DaemonTools No CD Audio

Postby Vicxar27 » 2017-1-29 @ 16:51

Now that I think about it, I installed the VxD drivers because the WDM drivers from the Windows 98SE CD didn't work with Doom's music and only produced sound effects. I can try to find a more recent version of the WDM driver
Vicxar27
Newbie
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 2016-11-22 @ 04:27

Re: DaemonTools No CD Audio

Postby Vicxar27 » 2017-1-29 @ 18:21

Also I removed the CD-ROM drive from the PC and still have the problem
Vicxar27
Newbie
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 2016-11-22 @ 04:27

Re: DaemonTools No CD Audio

Postby Jorpho » 2017-1-29 @ 18:28

Deksor wrote:I've got Carmageddon that is badly scratched too. While running it with daemon tools, music doesn't work. However if I put the CD in the drive and start the game with the image loaded in daemon tools, the game will load music from the CD. I discovered that if you happen to have two cd drives with only one wired to the sound card, then if you put another game in the CD drive that have analog audio wired up and the wanted game in the other drive, it will read the game's data from the correct drive, however the music will be read from the other CD drive :lol:
As has been noted: the game may be looking for audio CD tracks in the lowest optical drive letter. If you have the disc in drive D, for example, but your Daemon Tools drive is E, then it may only look for the audio tracks in drive D. The game originates from a time when it was not expected that people would have multiple optical drives.

You might be able to edit the executable to fix the detection routine (sort of like in http://punkrockhacker.blogspot.ca/2014_ ... chive.html ). Or you can just change your drive letters so your Daemon Tools drive is D and your real optical drive is E.
User avatar
Jorpho
l33t++
 
Posts: 7043
Joined: 2003-2-14 @ 19:50
Location: Canada

Re: DaemonTools No CD Audio

Postby Vicxar27 » 2017-1-29 @ 18:44

I removed the hardware CD-ROM drive from the PC, so the only CD-Rom drive is the Daemon Tools one. There's something about having to use WDM drivers I heard of...
Vicxar27
Newbie
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 2016-11-22 @ 04:27

Re: DaemonTools No CD Audio

Postby Vicxar27 » 2017-1-29 @ 20:23

I'm trying an experiment. I'm installing a Sb Live 5.2 into Windows 98, and linking to the ISA SB that I have. The SB Live will have WDM drivers and the ISA card will have VxD drivers. I want to see how bad I can mess up my system. :)
Vicxar27
Newbie
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 2016-11-22 @ 04:27

Re: DaemonTools No CD Audio

Postby Jo22 » 2017-1-30 @ 00:57

I could be wrong, but I remember from my early days of Visual Basic programming
that some applications did use MCI commands to control the CD drive (which often was the first and only one).
When this happened, the audio was played by the drive itself (thus an audio cable was required).
No idea, if there do exist some wrappers now to "fix" that or if some CD emulators can handle that.
The last time I heard of MCI was when it already was considered deprecated.
"Time, it seems, doesn't flow. For some it's fast, for some it's slow.
In what to one race is no time at all, another race can rise and fall..." - The Minstrel

//My video channel//
User avatar
Jo22
l33t
 
Posts: 2345
Joined: 2009-12-13 @ 07:06
Location: Europe

Re: DaemonTools No CD Audio

Postby Vicxar27 » 2017-3-05 @ 18:48

After fiddling around with the cards. I managed to install two sound cards, one PCI WDM card, and an ISA VxD card. That problem's solved.
Vicxar27
Newbie
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 2016-11-22 @ 04:27

Re: DaemonTools No CD Audio

Postby dr.zeissler » 2017-11-06 @ 23:24

Is using a WDM-Driver the only way? That means no Win95?
I have tested it and the mounted audio-cd with deamon-tools 3.47 plays fine under win95, but only if I switch back to the windows-desktop while running the game,
going back to the game, cd-audio is instantly muted. could that not be fixed by hacking a mixer-setting?
I checked everything, but I can't find a way to de-mute the playing cd-audio.

If there is no chance for that, I have to check out what this can do for me, but I expect nothing, because there are not really much games supported,
mostly the are unkown to me... I would love to play POD, OUTCAST, etc. with CD-Audio from a mounted ISO other my NAS within Win95b.

https://www.play-old-pc-games.com/compa ... -tutorial/
CPU: PII 133-333 MOBO: SNI-D981 RAM: 512- FDD: Dualfloppy 3,5"HD/5,25"HD - 3,5"HD - 5,25"DD ISA-Catweasel HDD: 2x40GB - DVD
ISA(3): Audician32-S2Dreamblaster - GusACE PCI(3): Monster3D- Intel NW AGP(1): 3dfx V3-3000
dr.zeissler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1275
Joined: 2011-9-28 @ 15:33


Return to Sound

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests