VOGONS

DB9 Serial to DIN-5 MIDI OUT Pinout?

Topic actions

First post, by Zuon

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

I'm creating my own makeshift midi cable as an experiment, and it's my first time soldering/rewiring. I have a DB9 Female to DIN-5 Male adapter that I am attempting to rewire into a functional MIDI OUT cable, for use with General MIDI support in old PC game soundtracks.

I found this schematic online, but I've noticed the genders of the connectors are reverse from mine. This means when rewiring, I should flip/mirror the pinouts, right? And is this schematic even correct? I cannot find another one for comparison.

mq-pinout_zps7c497937.png

Here's the source article of that image.

http://nerdlypleasures.blogspot.com/2010/03/t … land-mt-32.html

Reply 1 of 25, by keropi

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

the above schematic is for the Music Quest PC MIDI card : Music Quest PC MIDI Card MPU IH9MQ9 : info , drivers and tests , do you have one and miss the dongle?

🎵 🎧 PCMIDI MPU , OrpheusII , Action Rewind , Megacard and 🎶GoldLib soundcard website

Reply 2 of 25, by Zup

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

That schematic is from a specific sound card, and it's useless unless you have that sound card.

On PCs, DE9 connectors usually are for RS232 connections and pinouts are different. Even if you rewire it, speeds are incompatible and the computer would be using different ports (0x300 vs 0x3F8).

If you need a MIDI connection, you should use a DB15 to MIDI cable (provided you have a sound card with MIDI/game port) or a USB to MIDI adapter.

I have traveled across the universe and through the years to find Her.
Sometimes going all the way is just a start...

I'm selling some stuff!

Reply 3 of 25, by gdjacobs

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

Plus RS232 is electrically incompatible with MIDI, then you need a driver which can set the UART to proper MIDI encoding and provide the appropriate driver interface to Windows (or whatever).