New DreamBlaster S2 !

Discussion about old sound cards, MIDI devices and sound related accessories.

Re: New DreamBlaster S2 !

Postby gdjacobs » 2017-4-08 @ 11:53

dr.zeissler wrote:I am more in real hardware :) Emulation needs a much bigger amount of different cables and other hardware.
And newer hardware like USB interface etc. My Retro-Machines mostly do not have USB support because I don't need it,
what I need is network-support and that do indeed have all my machines from 286 on.

I thought about a different MIDI-Interface module.


Hey, no problem in my eyes. I certainly appreciate vintage hardware even if I'm way less hardcore in collecting than some.

I do want to correct a detail. The retro machine does not require USB to do this. You need a modern machine with a midi interface (USB to MIDI is the most flexible) to serve as the synthesizer. Everything on the side of the retro machine goes through your sound card or dedicated MPU-401 card, just like an external module.
User avatar
gdjacobs
l33t
 
Posts: 4920
Joined: 2015-11-03 @ 05:51
Location: The Great White North

Re: New DreamBlaster S2 !

Postby dreamblaster » 2017-6-14 @ 18:51

Some other use of S1/S2 :
Katod posted a video where he uses the DreamBlaster S1 module in a spectacular live performance at the Retro Computers Demoparty :
https://youtu.be/HheuYKSBX5g
Stellar guitar play, also ! :-) Like it !
dreamblaster
Oldbie
 
Posts: 512
Joined: 2015-1-18 @ 19:34
Location: Belgium

Re: New DreamBlaster S2 !

Postby keropi » 2017-6-14 @ 19:00

Very nice performance!
These kinds of events are the best :)
User avatar
keropi
l33t++
 
Posts: 6161
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 06:45
Location: Greece

Re: New DreamBlaster S2 !

Postby Hummtaro » 2017-8-11 @ 20:29

dreamblaster wrote:The first to have proof of a smaller waveblaster board, I will send him an S2 for free :lol: )
Dimensions are 24mm x 34mm.


This was my try to create a smaller wavetable board with a other synth chip. Produced just 2 weeks after your post. Sadly i did a little mistake in the layout and got demotivated..
:depressed:
Attachments
20170811_221526_BEST.jpg
Hummtaro
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2017-4-05 @ 03:37
Location: Germany

Re: New DreamBlaster S2 !

Postby dreamblaster » 2017-8-11 @ 20:35

Hummtaro wrote:
dreamblaster wrote:The first to have proof of a smaller waveblaster board, I will send him an S2 for free :lol: )
Dimensions are 24mm x 34mm.


This was my try to create a smaller wavetable board with a other synth chip. Produced just 2 weeks after your post. Sadly i did a little mistake in the layout and got demotivated..
:depressed:


What chip did you use ? VS1053 ? I did tests with this chip too, and must tell it does not sound good.
But yeah, your layout is very small ! DO you need some help ? I will pm you :-)
dreamblaster
Oldbie
 
Posts: 512
Joined: 2015-1-18 @ 19:34
Location: Belgium

Re: New DreamBlaster S2 !

Postby Hummtaro » 2017-8-11 @ 23:16

dreamblaster wrote:What chip did you use ? VS1053 ? I did tests with this chip too, and must tell it does not sound good.

I used a VS1103, basically a VS1053 without all the decoders.
I didn't found any acceptable sound reference on web, but crappy synths can also be charmful. :evil:
I also had the idea to make a board with the Crystal CS9236 but.. Yeah, i should finish something.. :blah:
Hummtaro
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2017-4-05 @ 03:37
Location: Germany

Re: New DreamBlaster S2 !

Postby dreamblaster » 2017-8-12 @ 07:47

Hummtaro wrote:Yeah, i should finish something.. :blah:

Yeah, I pm'd. :-)
dreamblaster
Oldbie
 
Posts: 512
Joined: 2015-1-18 @ 19:34
Location: Belgium

Re: New DreamBlaster S2 !

Postby Hummtaro » 2017-8-28 @ 22:57

dreamblaster wrote:Yeah, I pm'd. :-)


Thank you very much for your tips and motivation! :)
Today i finished my board.
To have some use from this small size, theres also a small Gameport adapter.. :evil:

And here are some recordings:
https://youtu.be/sT3MQPtlaRI
Attachments
20170828_221854_BEST.jpg
Hummtaro
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2017-4-05 @ 03:37
Location: Germany

Re: New DreamBlaster S2 !

Postby dreamblaster » 2017-8-28 @ 23:04

hey,
congratulations !! very very nice !!!
It has a unique retro sound, I like it.
Truly a new milestone to the history of small waveblaster cards !! :-)
I'll send you an S2, well deserved. (I'll PM).
dreamblaster
Oldbie
 
Posts: 512
Joined: 2015-1-18 @ 19:34
Location: Belgium

Re: New DreamBlaster S2 !

Postby sketchus » 2017-9-02 @ 08:54

Hiya,

I recieved my Dreamblaster S2 yesterday (only took 3 days to get delivered to the UK I couldn't believe it!)

I put it on my soundcard but I'm having a problem. I get sound to work, but for example Duke3D while testing it sounds very echo-y and for some reason it's way quieter than anything else my soundcard outputs. I have a brand new Audician 32 plus to try it with that I will do so shortly, but the one I'm using now is an Atrend 6631, which from what I understand is very similar.

Anyway, any idea as what could be causing it?

Thanks.
sketchus
Member
 
Posts: 171
Joined: 2017-2-15 @ 18:51

Re: New DreamBlaster S2 !

Postby dreamblaster » 2017-9-02 @ 19:18

sketchus wrote:I put it on my soundcard but I'm having a problem. I get sound to work, but for example Duke3D while testing it sounds very echo-y and for some reason it's way quieter than anything else my soundcard outputs. I have a brand new Audician 32 plus to try it with that I will do so shortly, but the one I'm using now is an Atrend 6631, which from what I understand is very similar.
Thanks.


Do you have any utility for your Atrend 6631, to change the mixer settings ?
--> volume of MIDI synth line in ?
--> very maybe even reverb effects on line in ?
dreamblaster
Oldbie
 
Posts: 512
Joined: 2015-1-18 @ 19:34
Location: Belgium

Re: New DreamBlaster S2 !

Postby sketchus » 2017-9-02 @ 19:27

Not to worry, I ended up swapping in the Audician 32 and it sounds perfect. In pure DOS at least. I haven't got it working in Windows yet, not sure why, but this is tons better already.

EDIT: Now working in Windows :)
sketchus
Member
 
Posts: 171
Joined: 2017-2-15 @ 18:51

Re: New DreamBlaster S2 !

Postby TimMer1981 » 2017-10-22 @ 00:10

I bought the DreamBlaster X2 a couple of months ago for my old DOS-games, love it. :)

Just one question, quoting from the manual:
Finally, we are working very hard on a conversion process of popular SoundFonts (.SF2) to Dream SoundBank format (.DXB). This is still work in process, but we are confident to make available alternative SoundBanks very soon.

How is this coming along? :)
Last edited by TimMer1981 on 2017-10-22 @ 11:51, edited 1 time in total.
"I will take your bones, still alive and in great pain, and make them into a chair. I will call it "My Screaming Chair". Every morning I will sit in it and listen to you scream. Any questions?"
User avatar
TimMer1981
Newbie
 
Posts: 64
Joined: 2017-10-05 @ 16:09
Location: The Netherlands

Re: New DreamBlaster S2 !

Postby dreamblaster » 2017-10-22 @ 11:24

Hi TimMer,
you have been reading the X2 user manual, not S2 ?
For S2, the soundbank is fixed in ROM, this cannot be updated.

For X2 : the first new GM bank was available since a few months : GUD :
available here : http://serdaco.com/downloads/X2/?dir=X2 ... ack/GM/GUD
You can hear it in action here : https://soundcloud.com/dreamblaster/sets/x3m
Working on more, there is still no conversion path from sf2 though, so it requires a lot of manual work.
dreamblaster
Oldbie
 
Posts: 512
Joined: 2015-1-18 @ 19:34
Location: Belgium

Re: New DreamBlaster S2 !

Postby TimMer1981 » 2017-10-22 @ 11:53

dreamblaster wrote:Hi TimMer,
you have been reading the X2 user manual, not S2 ?
For S2, the soundbank is fixed in ROM, this cannot be updated.

For X2 : the first new GM bank was available since a few months : GUD :
available here : http://serdaco.com/downloads/X2/?dir=X2 ... ack/GM/GUD
You can hear it in action here : https://soundcloud.com/dreamblaster/sets/x3m
Working on more, there is still no conversion path from sf2 though, so it requires a lot of manual work.

My bad: I bought the X2, corrected my message just now. ;) So yes: that's what I meant, the SF2 to DXB conversion. But you are still working on a converter? :)

Extracting SF2 instruments to WAV files isn't too hard, so I guess the part creating the DXB files is tough to do? Can't the guys at Dream help you somewhat with this, as they also promote a link to a translator package? http://www.chickensys.com/products2/tra ... ecial.html
"I will take your bones, still alive and in great pain, and make them into a chair. I will call it "My Screaming Chair". Every morning I will sit in it and listen to you scream. Any questions?"
User avatar
TimMer1981
Newbie
 
Posts: 64
Joined: 2017-10-05 @ 16:09
Location: The Netherlands

Re: New DreamBlaster S2 !

Postby dreamblaster » 2017-10-22 @ 12:39

yes actually I was the orginal requestor for these conversion routines, and have been working with chicken systems for more than 2 years
to test their successive updates and report issues. I bought that software (multiple licenses even), but progress is slow.
Only a few simple instruments work fine,also drum conversion is not yet supported, but I hope we will get there.
dreamblaster
Oldbie
 
Posts: 512
Joined: 2015-1-18 @ 19:34
Location: Belgium

Re: New DreamBlaster S2 !

Postby TimMer1981 » 2017-10-22 @ 13:25

dreamblaster wrote:yes actually I was the orginal requestor for these conversion routines, and have been working with chicken systems for more than 2 years
to test their successive updates and report issues. I bought that software (multiple licenses even), but progress is slow.
Only a few simple instruments work fine,also drum conversion is not yet supported, but I hope we will get there.

Wow! Quite the dedication! :)

Hope all your hard work will pay off in the end. :)
"I will take your bones, still alive and in great pain, and make them into a chair. I will call it "My Screaming Chair". Every morning I will sit in it and listen to you scream. Any questions?"
User avatar
TimMer1981
Newbie
 
Posts: 64
Joined: 2017-10-05 @ 16:09
Location: The Netherlands

Re: New DreamBlaster S2 !

Postby dr.zeissler » 2017-11-07 @ 12:12

How could I seperate S2 from SoftMPU ?
If I understood it correctly both are at 330, so both will play which means:

1. Audician32PLS Audio-Out has SB+MIDI
2. Audician32PLS Joystick-SoftMPU-MT32

If a game has SFX and MT32 support, I will get all three things at once... :(
CPU: PII 133-333 MOBO: SNI-D981 RAM: 512- FDD: Dualfloppy 3,5"HD/5,25"HD - 3,5"HD - 5,25"DD ISA-Catweasel HDD: 2x40GB - DVD
ISA(3): Audician32-S2Dreamblaster - GusACE PCI(3): Monster3D- Intel NW AGP(1): 3dfx V3-3000
dr.zeissler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1275
Joined: 2011-9-28 @ 15:33

Re: New DreamBlaster S2 !

Postby the Goat » 2017-11-07 @ 14:41

dr.zeissler wrote:How could I seperate S2 from SoftMPU ?
If I understood it correctly both are at 330, so both will play which means:

1. Audician32PLS Audio-Out has SB+MIDI
2. Audician32PLS Joystick-SoftMPU-MT32

If a game has SFX and MT32 support, I will get all three things at once... :(


Does the Yamaha Audician 32 Plus have a program to control the built in mixer? You should be able to mute the wave blaster input.
the Goat
Newbie
 
Posts: 85
Joined: 2017-7-15 @ 01:37

Re: New DreamBlaster S2 !

Postby jesolo » 2017-11-07 @ 15:13

dr.zeissler wrote:How could I seperate S2 from SoftMPU ?
If I understood it correctly both are at 330, so both will play which means:

1. Audician32PLS Audio-Out has SB+MIDI
2. Audician32PLS Joystick-SoftMPU-MT32

If a game has SFX and MT32 support, I will get all three things at once... :(

For games to communicate with any MIDI "device" (being it a sound module or synthesizer), they use the MPU-401 MIDI interface to communicate with the MIDI "device".
Based on my understanding, your DreamBlaster S2 is attached to your Wave Blaster connector on your sound card and your MT-32 is connected to your joystick/external MIDI port via a joystick/MIDI cable?

If you want to play an MT-32 based game, to prevent hearing any sounds coming from the S2, you can just mute the MIDI/FM volume slider in your sound card's mixer utility (many of these had a DOS based command line utility as well that you can just put in a batch file and run before you start up your game).
You can then route your MT-32's output to your sound card's line input (just make sure the Line In volume slider is not muted) and then mix it with your output again.
Alternatively, you can route your sound card's & MT-32's output via an external mixer.

When you want to play a General MID based game (via your S2), just switch off the MT-32 or, mute the Line In volume slider in your sound card's mixer utility.

Just be aware that some MT-32 based games requires your IRQ to be set at IRQ 2/9.
User avatar
jesolo
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1314
Joined: 2014-6-24 @ 19:04
Location: South Africa

PreviousNext

Return to Sound

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Jo22 and 1 guest