VOGONS

First post, by DaveJustDave

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank

I picked up a giant box of sound cards recently. Lots of 2xxx and 4xxx series sound blasters, and then some of these that I can't identify...

one has an ESS chipset that seems to have OK OPL3 from what i've read, and one has an XG chip, which i have zero experience with.

are all of these "value" boards? anything worth keeping?

f2vsq8Rl.jpg
0ftob38l.jpg
CqgitA6l.jpg
a9lE8vIl.jpg
N5w6HBvl.jpg
pIAeLYNl.jpg
Urm4lZHl.jpg

I have no clue what I'm doing! If you want to watch me fumble through all my retro projects, you can watch here: https://www.youtube.com/user/MrDavejustdave

Reply 1 of 5, by Jo22

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

It depends on your definition of value. 😉
ISA cards are generally becoming scarce. The XG card is interesting, though.
I heard it sounds similar to SYXG-50 softh synth or so.

"Time, it seems, doesn't flow. For some it's fast, for some it's slow.
In what to one race is no time at all, another race can rise and fall..." - The Minstrel

//My video channel//

Reply 2 of 5, by gdjacobs

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

The "XG" card uses a Yamaha YMF724 chipset. This is one of the few cards with a genuine OPL3 core that can output SPDIF, so definitely a keeper. The Audiodrive and YMF719 (red) based cards are one's I'd keep as well.

All hail the Great Capacitor Brand Finder

Reply 3 of 5, by elod

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank

These OPTIs are a bit strange. Aren't they supposed to have opl3 clones? Besides the 931 that has it built in of course...
As someone else already said: ISA cards are becomming scarce... I generally pick up all of them.

Reply 5 of 5, by calvin

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank