OPL2LPT

Discussion about old sound cards, MIDI devices and sound related accessories.

Re: OPL2LPT

Postby noop » 2018-4-02 @ 23:37

pdw wrote:I've made a new release of the OPL2LPT software. Download it here.

New features:

- The "patching" optimization/hack now also works with QEMM and JEMM. Previously it only worked with EMM386.
(@noop: this should solve your problem without new command line switches :happy:)

Great news! But I don't have a problem, just tried to explain the situation to others and supply few more examples of software that implements its own delay code incorrectly.
When I wrote "I encountered the same problem" I meant my own utility that does not inject delay code.
I did not release it because it currently has no advantages over yours except executable size and slightly faster handler.
User avatar
noop
Member
 
Posts: 101
Joined: 2015-7-20 @ 15:42
Location: Belarus, Minsk

Re: OPL2LPT

Postby Megadisk » 2018-4-06 @ 02:49

Testing the OPL2LPT on a IBM PS/2 model 50Z with a 386sx module upgrade. Works great no problem!. I wonder what's the issue with other microchannel Ibm's.

DB25 splitter box for switching between OPL2LPT, Disney Sound source and/or anything else :-D

Image
Megadisk
Member
 
Posts: 101
Joined: 2013-12-19 @ 02:06

Re: OPL2LPT

Postby Beegle » 2018-4-15 @ 15:51

Hello!
I documented my assembly/soldering of the OPL2LPT here : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bRHedOQPP_M
Also shows test cases for the TSR, the Patch, 3D printing of a case, and a final review of the device. Enjoy :)

A few games tested :
- Galactix
- Dune II
- Space Quest V
- Indy and the Fate of Atlantis
- Simon the Sorcerer
- Ultima VI
- Dune
The more sound cards, the better.
AdLib documentary: Official Thread
User avatar
Beegle
Member
 
Posts: 416
Joined: 2013-12-01 @ 02:15
Location: Canada

Re: OPL2LPT

Postby dreamblaster » 2018-4-15 @ 20:05

Beegle wrote:Hello!
I documented my assembly/soldering of the OPL2LPT here : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bRHedOQPP_M

Thanks, great video!
Visit http://www.serdashop.com for retro sound cards, MIDI PCB's, and video converters
OPL2LPT, OPL3LPT, X2, S2, S2P, MCE2VGA, ... many projects ! Have a look, and thanks for your support !
dreamblaster
Oldbie
 
Posts: 584
Joined: 2015-1-18 @ 19:34
Location: Belgium

Re: OPL2LPT

Postby MadMax2023 » 2018-4-16 @ 09:33

Hi all ;)

I am encountering some troubles trying to get sound from various games.

First, i am using a vintage pentium 1 color laptop (100 mhz with 16 mo) and my os is dos 6.22 + windows 3.1.
Emm386 is set with few megs for EMS, without this many games don't launch.

I get sound with all games i tested that are designed to have native support of adlib card, for example i played with sound :
- Ultima underworld
- Doom2 (patched with adpatch)
- Alone in the dark 1 & 2
- Wolfenstein 3D
- Flight simulator 5
- Prince of persia

But with games that have a little more modern setup.exe program it is impossible to have something. Like :
- Arena : elder scrolls
- Daggerfall : elder scrolls
- Terminator rampage
- Terminator future shock
- Blood

=> adlib card is not listed with these games, so i tried following settings :
- sound fx : none (i expect to have at least buzzer)
- music : sound blaster
When i set sound blaster i try on various port : 378, 388, 389, but no music in game.

And i didn't have music too in Nascar racing and Indycar racing (the first from Papyrus).
There is a choice for OPL music but i don't have music in game.

The setup.exe of games like Future shock is interesting because you can play a sample to test, and i didn't found a setting that works.

Please don't tell me that OPL2LPT can only work with the little list of native adlib games :
http://www.vgmpf.com/Wiki/index.php?tit ... _For_Music

thanks in advance for your replies
MadMax2023
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2018-4-16 @ 09:08

Re: OPL2LPT

Postby noop » 2018-4-16 @ 11:07

MadMax2023 wrote:But with games that have a little more modern setup.exe program it is impossible to have something. Like :
- Arena : elder scrolls
- Daggerfall : elder scrolls
- Terminator rampage
- Terminator future shock
- Blood

These games will work only if supported by patcher.
User avatar
noop
Member
 
Posts: 101
Joined: 2015-7-20 @ 15:42
Location: Belarus, Minsk

Re: OPL2LPT

Postby Scali » 2018-4-16 @ 12:15

I suppose if the game lists "Sound Blaster" instead of "AdLib", there is a chance that it actually tries to detect a Sound Blaster card via the DSP. This will fail with the Adlipt TSR, because it doesn't try to emulate the DSP.
If it is a common problem, perhaps it would make sense to add some basic DSP emulation, enough to pass autodetection in games. It should be possible to make the game think there's a Sound Blaster installed, so that it enables its OPL2 music. Any samples it might send to the DSP would just not work.
Scali
l33t
 
Posts: 3456
Joined: 2014-12-13 @ 14:24

Re: OPL2LPT

Postby pdw » 2018-4-16 @ 19:33

@MadMax2023 The non-working games in your list seem to all be protected mode games. Protected mode became common in DOS games starting from 1994 or so -- a telltale sign is that the system requirements include a 386 and 4MB RAM. And of course the iconic DOS/4GW startup banner.

Protected mode games can't be handled the TSR and need to be patched. And it's true, for most games there won't be a patch. But version 0.7 of ADPATCH added support for patching the Miles Audio Interface Library, which is used by several games in your list. See the documentation here.

BTW, that vgmpf list is woefully incomplete. The Mobygames list is a bit better.
pdw
Newbie
 
Posts: 33
Joined: 2016-12-26 @ 18:45

Re: OPL2LPT

Postby Megadisk » 2018-4-17 @ 02:33

One of the list describes the game "Jill of the Jungle" V1.2 (trilogy I presume) as compatible with the "Adpatch". Which file needs to be patched exactly? I have the game but just keeps telling me the file can't be found.
Megadisk
Member
 
Posts: 101
Joined: 2013-12-19 @ 02:06

Re: OPL2LPT

Postby MadMax2023 » 2018-4-17 @ 11:17

Thanks for your replies.

I didn't read this page about adpatch :
pdw wrote:But version 0.7 of ADPATCH added support for patching the Miles Audio Interface Library, which is used by several games in your list. See the documentation here.


I was always trying to patch the main exe of the game (it failed of course). So, i manage to get sound in Arena as i can see it is in the list of successfuly patched games. I patched SBFM.ADV without issue, then i set music to "sound blaster or 100% compatible" in the install setup of the game, but still no music!
What are the settings i am supposed to select : port 388, irq ?, DMA ?
I tried IRQ 7 DMA 1, IRQ 0 DMA 0, ...
MadMax2023
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2018-4-16 @ 09:08

Re: OPL2LPT

Postby pdw » 2018-4-17 @ 20:21

@Megadisk Works for me with Jill of the Jungle shareware version 1.2 downloaded here.

@MadMax2023 In the INSTALL program, "Select Sound Card" -> "No Sound" and "Select Music Card" => "Sound Blaster or 100% Compatible". The hardware settings don't matter.
pdw
Newbie
 
Posts: 33
Joined: 2016-12-26 @ 18:45

Re: OPL2LPT

Postby matze79 » 2018-4-25 @ 12:24

dreamblaster wrote:here's the STL file for the OPL2LPT with text logo on it.


Is this only this part ? or is there a ground part also ?
matze79
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1039
Joined: 2014-12-12 @ 14:25
Location: Germany, Frankonia

Re: OPL2LPT

Postby dreamblaster » 2018-4-25 @ 16:33

matze79 wrote:
dreamblaster wrote:here's the STL file for the OPL2LPT with text logo on it.


Is this only this part ? or is there a ground part also ?

This is both parts, right ?
(if I load it in 3dhubs)
Visit http://www.serdashop.com for retro sound cards, MIDI PCB's, and video converters
OPL2LPT, OPL3LPT, X2, S2, S2P, MCE2VGA, ... many projects ! Have a look, and thanks for your support !
dreamblaster
Oldbie
 
Posts: 584
Joined: 2015-1-18 @ 19:34
Location: Belgium

Re: OPL2LPT

Postby agent_x007 » 2018-5-17 @ 16:04

This is a Madman's idea (don't worry I know I am one ;))...

I would like to have OPL2 and OPL3 plugged in at the same time (don't ask why, I'm mad :D)
How I think, this MIGHT work :
Using this dual PCI-e to LPT adapter : LINK and remaping LPT ports to OPL2 and OPL3 IRQ/port settings (remapping LPT ports on PCI/PCI-e cards is possible in DOS : LINK], I do not know though, if it can remap them to default Adlib/SB settings...).
Assuming a remap could be done, would this make TSR driver/patching not necessary ?
I don't know if using two OPL-type devices on two LPT ports (at different IRQ/adress) is even possible, however it is interesting idea.

Any thoughts is this possible ?
User avatar
agent_x007
Oldbie
 
Posts: 938
Joined: 2016-1-19 @ 11:06

Re: OPL2LPT

Postby derSammler » 2018-5-17 @ 16:21

You can use two "OPL-type devices" on two LPT ports, as the ports don't care what is connected to them and hence the devices won't conflict. However, you can *not* map the LPT to the OPL2/3 port, since the way data is send to the LPT port is different to driving a OPL2/3 directly. The TSR or a patch is always needed.
derSammler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1594
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: OPL2LPT

Postby agent_x007 » 2018-5-17 @ 16:38

So, even if I can force LPT to Adlib/SB IRQ and port, it will not work because "bridge" connecting LPT port to OPL2 chip can't understand OPL2 raw data from game as input (it will try to "translate" it for OPL2, and not "pass it along").
Do I understand this correctly ?
User avatar
agent_x007
Oldbie
 
Posts: 938
Joined: 2016-1-19 @ 11:06

Re: OPL2LPT

Postby Scali » 2018-5-17 @ 18:19

agent_x007 wrote:So, even if I can force LPT to Adlib/SB IRQ and port, it will not work because "bridge" connecting LPT port to OPL2 chip can't understand OPL2 raw data from game as input (it will try to "translate" it for OPL2, and not "pass it along").
Do I understand this correctly ?


That is correct.
The LPT has only one data port. The OPL2 requires 2 data ports. On an AdLib/SB these are 388h and 389h (IRQ is not used for AdLib).
The OPL2LPT uses some of the control lines on the LPT to simulate a simple ISA-like bus, with an address selection bit and a write enable bit.
Scali
l33t
 
Posts: 3456
Joined: 2014-12-13 @ 14:24

Re: OPL2LPT

Postby matze79 » 2018-5-18 @ 04:27

I only see one Part in the STl File with Cura.

or do i jut have to print it twice and screw togehter ?
matze79
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1039
Joined: 2014-12-12 @ 14:25
Location: Germany, Frankonia

Re: OPL2LPT

Postby dreamblaster » 2018-5-18 @ 05:41

matze79 wrote:I only see one Part in the STl File with Cura.
or do i jut have to print it twice and screw togehter ?


what file are you using ?
Normally there are 2 parts in there, and if I load it on 3dhubs, I can see both.
Visit http://www.serdashop.com for retro sound cards, MIDI PCB's, and video converters
OPL2LPT, OPL3LPT, X2, S2, S2P, MCE2VGA, ... many projects ! Have a look, and thanks for your support !
dreamblaster
Oldbie
 
Posts: 584
Joined: 2015-1-18 @ 19:34
Location: Belgium

Re: OPL2LPT

Postby matze79 » 2018-5-18 @ 06:38

This one
Attachments
opl2lptcasewithtextdone.zip
(145.77 KiB) Downloaded 9 times
matze79
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1039
Joined: 2014-12-12 @ 14:25
Location: Germany, Frankonia

PreviousNext

Return to Sound

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dr.zeissler and 5 guests