The way to detect OPL3 clone

Discussion about old sound cards, MIDI devices and sound related accessories.

Re: The way to detect OPL3 clone

Postby Jo22 » 2017-8-26 @ 20:15

You're welcome, it has been a privilege. :)
Edit: I've just found an ES1370 in the garage and so I made an effort to test a few more cards.
I've also tested CQM (CT3620/SB32) and YMF-262 (PAS16), as suggested by Stretch.
Hope that's okay. I'm out of odd sound cards for now.
Attachments
oplsilicon_ymf262.mp3
(294.64 KiB) Downloaded 30 times
oplclone_ct1749_cqm.mp3
(300.76 KiB) Downloaded 23 times
oplsilicon_ym3812.mp3
(293.63 KiB) Downloaded 21 times
oplclone_es1370.mp3
Creative/Ensoniq ES1370 (SB PCI 64, AudioPCI 3000);
features an OPL3 parody (provided via TSR)
(293.63 KiB) Downloaded 47 times
"Time, it seems, doesn't flow. For some it's fast, for some it's slow.
In what to one race is no time at all, another race can rise and fall..." - The Minstrel

//My video channel//
User avatar
Jo22
l33t
 
Posts: 2627
Joined: 2009-12-13 @ 07:06
Location: Europe

Re: The way to detect OPL3 clone

Postby nukeykt » 2017-8-27 @ 15:49

Thanks again :)
It's interesting that OPL2 has this bug. I wonder does any other Yamaha FM chip family has this bug.
nukeykt
Newbie
 
Posts: 97
Joined: 2013-8-28 @ 11:11
Location: Russia

Re: The way to detect OPL3 clone

Postby datajake1999 » 2017-8-28 @ 14:56

I have a friend who has a Crystal sound card on there Windows 98 machine, and he ran the program on the machine in dos mode, and it turns out the card has a clone. I am not sure of the exact model of the card, but I remember it is a cs42 something.
Edit: My friend didn't make a recording because he didn't have a patch cable at the time.
datajake1999
Newbie
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 2016-4-17 @ 17:04

Re: The way to detect OPL3 clone

Postby Jo22 » 2017-8-31 @ 00:21

Thanks a lot for your reply, datajake1999!
When you said Windows 98 machine, I got a flashback and remembered my Armada laptop.
- It is running Win98SE and I totally forgot it also has an internal AudioDrive.

@nukeykt No problem, I'm happy to support this project. ^_^
I also wonder about the other Yamahas, too. OPL1, OPNA and OPN2 (YM2612) in particular.
The OPN2 was often considered the Sega Genesis' counterpart to the OPL3, or so I heard.
Attachments
oplclone_es1878.mp3
(285.47 KiB) Downloaded 27 times
"Time, it seems, doesn't flow. For some it's fast, for some it's slow.
In what to one race is no time at all, another race can rise and fall..." - The Minstrel

//My video channel//
User avatar
Jo22
l33t
 
Posts: 2627
Joined: 2009-12-13 @ 07:06
Location: Europe

Re: The way to detect OPL3 clone

Postby nukeykt » 2017-8-31 @ 01:31

OPN2 has this bug too.(YMF276 variant at least)
Here's my test code:
Code: Select all
  for(int i = 0; i < 0x200; i++)
  {
   writereg(i,0);
  }
  writereg(0x34,0x03);
  writereg(0x3c,0x01);
  writereg(0x44,0x0f);
  writereg(0x4c,0x06);
  writereg(0x5c,0x02);
  writereg(0x64,0x00);
  writereg(0x6c,0x00);
  writereg(0x74,0x00);
  writereg(0x7c,0x00);
  writereg(0x84,0x00);
  writereg(0x8c,0x00);
  writereg(0xa4,0x24);
  writereg(0xa0,0x0e);
  writereg(0xb0,0x00);
  writereg(0xb4,0xc0);
  writereg(0x54,0x00);
  writereg(0x28,0xc0);
  delay(1);
  writereg(0x54,0x1f);

EDIT: Tested both YM2612 and YM3438. These chips also have this bug.
Attachments
opn2bug_ym3438.mp3
YM3438
(317.29 KiB) Downloaded 15 times
opn2bug_ym2612.mp3
YM2612
(202.88 KiB) Downloaded 14 times
opn2bug.mp3
YMF276
(308.27 KiB) Downloaded 12 times
nukeykt
Newbie
 
Posts: 97
Joined: 2013-8-28 @ 11:11
Location: Russia

Re: The way to detect OPL3 clone

Postby Jo22 » 2017-9-02 @ 06:18

Wow, thank you very much for testing! :D
"Time, it seems, doesn't flow. For some it's fast, for some it's slow.
In what to one race is no time at all, another race can rise and fall..." - The Minstrel

//My video channel//
User avatar
Jo22
l33t
 
Posts: 2627
Joined: 2009-12-13 @ 07:06
Location: Europe

Re: The way to detect OPL3 clone

Postby datajake1999 » 2017-9-10 @ 22:31

I ran this program on Microsoft virtual PC, which has the worst OPL3 emulator ever.
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B7Sxo ... TNtcHNQOUk
datajake1999
Newbie
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 2016-4-17 @ 17:04

Re: The way to detect OPL3 clone

Postby nukeykt » 2017-9-11 @ 09:09

Thanks
nukeykt
Newbie
 
Posts: 97
Joined: 2013-8-28 @ 11:11
Location: Russia

Re: The way to detect OPL3 clone

Postby datajake1999 » 2017-9-30 @ 22:57

datajake1999
Newbie
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 2016-4-17 @ 17:04

Re: The way to detect OPL3 clone

Postby Stojke » 2017-10-01 @ 06:02

Sorry to interrupt, but what kind of an OPL does an CMI8738 have (Specs)? Is it usable under DOS, are there modern Windows OPL players that suport it (Theres an PCIE version of CMI8738-MX chip)?
Note | LLSID | "Big boobs are important!"
User avatar
Stojke
l33t
 
Posts: 2080
Joined: 2012-3-23 @ 14:51
Location: Serbia

Re: The way to detect OPL3 clone

Postby betamax80 » 2017-12-26 @ 15:08

Hmm the 8738 did have DOS and 9x drivers back in the day. I've got hold of the older files (I call it the build 639 hiatus, as they stayed on that build for years until they started doing updates and the PCIe budget variants) - I've done an upload on vogonsdrivers including the DOS installer and the 9x/2k/earlier XP drivers.
betamax80
Newbie
 
Posts: 59
Joined: 2016-5-30 @ 22:00

Re: The way to detect OPL3 clone

Postby Jo22 » 2017-12-26 @ 15:29

Hmm the 8738 did have DOS and 9x drivers back in the day.

There were some DOS drivers for CMI8x38, uploaded by tikbalang..
The thread is over here at viewtopic.php?p=164650#p164650
Personally, I also wrote something little about CMI cards a long time ago (link).
I don't know if it's still useful, though, since it was never finished.
"Time, it seems, doesn't flow. For some it's fast, for some it's slow.
In what to one race is no time at all, another race can rise and fall..." - The Minstrel

//My video channel//
User avatar
Jo22
l33t
 
Posts: 2627
Joined: 2009-12-13 @ 07:06
Location: Europe

Re: The way to detect OPL3 clone

Postby datajake1999 » 2018-3-05 @ 09:44

I modified oplclone to write to my CMI8738 at address 0xE050 and use inpout32.dll, so I could test it for myself. My CMI8738 produced a sine wave, so that tells me it has a real OPL3, or at the very least a very accurate clone.
I thaught I would post my modified program here, if anyone is interested.
Edit: I added a recording of my CMI8738.
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1xukPp ... -0qkoH7RvK
Edit 2: You can now set the fm port that the program looks at with the OPL3PORT environment variable. If this variable isn't set the program looks at port 0x388.
Attachments
oplclone_inpout32.zip
(56.84 KiB) Not downloaded yet
datajake1999
Newbie
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 2016-4-17 @ 17:04

Previous

Return to Sound

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Srandista, Tiido and 4 guests