Help to Identify Aztech ISA Sound Card

Discussion about old sound cards, MIDI devices and sound related accessories.

Re: Help to Identify Aztech ISA Sound Card

Postby gdjacobs » 2018-6-16 @ 05:03

Most Aztech installers needed to be unpacked in Windows.
User avatar
gdjacobs
l33t++
 
Posts: 5696
Joined: 2015-11-03 @ 05:51
Location: The Great White North

Re: Help to Identify Aztech ISA Sound Card

Postby Ozzuneoj » 2018-6-29 @ 01:43

Since all the Aztech people are here, I'm going to throw this question out there...

According to this page, the MMSN843 has onboard wavetable, but I have one and I don't see it anywhere. Some posts have stated that other cards with the AZT2316R like mine also have onboard wavetable. My card is identical to this one:
https://ssli.ebayimg.com/images/g/fcIAA ... -l1600.jpg

It seems odd to me that an OEM card with a built in modem, OPL3 synth and no obvious extra chips would have onboard wavetable. There is the AZT2316R, Analog Devices AD1845JP CODEC, YMF262 OPL3 and a bunch of tiny components that don't look like much. The rest at the top of the board appears to be all Rockwell modem parts, plus an SEC km62256clg-7 32KB RAM chip, which I doubt has anything to do with wavetable and an MX 128KB EPROM chip.

I'd just like to have a definitive answer one way or the other as to whether this card has built in wavetable in the AZT2316R (or anywhere else) or if this is simply a mistake that's been reposted a few different places.
Time Machine = FIC PA-2013 2.1 - K6-2 500 - 256MB PC-100 - TNT2 Pro 16MB AGP - Labway Yamaha YMF719-E - Midiman MM401
Amibay For Sale Threads
I have lots of PC stuff for sale on Mercari! Get a $10 sign up credit with invite code VBGQMM.
User avatar
Ozzuneoj
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1232
Joined: 2016-3-16 @ 21:33

Re: Help to Identify Aztech ISA Sound Card

Postby Tiido » 2018-6-29 @ 06:21

The site shows MMSN843 with only a modem.
Also the ebay image doesn't work, but from the chip list there definitely is no ROMpler or something else. AZT2316 has no synths in it.
User avatar
Tiido
Member
 
Posts: 454
Joined: 2018-1-14 @ 04:40
Location: Estonia

Re: Help to Identify Aztech ISA Sound Card

Postby jesolo » 2018-6-29 @ 09:06

Ozzuneoj wrote:Since all the Aztech people are here, I'm going to throw this question out there...

According to this page, the MMSN843 has onboard wavetable, but I have one and I don't see it anywhere. Some posts have stated that other cards with the AZT2316R like mine also have onboard wavetable. My card is identical to this one:
https://ssli.ebayimg.com/images/g/fcIAA ... -l1600.jpg

It seems odd to me that an OEM card with a built in modem, OPL3 synth and no obvious extra chips would have onboard wavetable. There is the AZT2316R, Analog Devices AD1845JP CODEC, YMF262 OPL3 and a bunch of tiny components that don't look like much. The rest at the top of the board appears to be all Rockwell modem parts, plus an SEC km62256clg-7 32KB RAM chip, which I doubt has anything to do with wavetable and an MX 128KB EPROM chip.

I'd just like to have a definitive answer one way or the other as to whether this card has built in wavetable in the AZT2316R (or anywhere else) or if this is simply a mistake that's been reposted a few different places.

I believe it's an error that this card has onboard wavetable synthesis. I think the simple reason why it doesn't have a header is due to cost savings and the fact that the modem section of the card already takes up the space where a header should be.
The game port, however, MPU-401 compatible and you could use that for any external MIDI synthesis.
User avatar
jesolo
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1493
Joined: 2014-6-24 @ 19:04
Location: South Africa

Re: Help to Identify Aztech ISA Sound Card

Postby Ozzuneoj » 2018-6-29 @ 11:47

Tiido wrote:The site shows MMSN843 with only a modem.
Also the ebay image doesn't work, but from the chip list there definitely is no ROMpler or something else. AZT2316 has no synths in it.


I think you're misreading the chart. It clearly has "onboard" listed in the wavetable column for this card. I'm not sure why the pic isn't working for you either, it was from Google images and works fine here.
Thanks for confirming that the AZT2316 doesn't have a built in synth.
jesolo wrote:I believe it's an error that this card has onboard wavetable synthesis. I think the simple reason why it doesn't have a header is due to cost savings and the fact that the modem section of the card already takes up the space where a header should be.
The game port, however, MPU-401 compatible and you could use that for any external MIDI synthesis.

Yeah it definitely looks like an error. I just needed someone else to verify this.
Time Machine = FIC PA-2013 2.1 - K6-2 500 - 256MB PC-100 - TNT2 Pro 16MB AGP - Labway Yamaha YMF719-E - Midiman MM401
Amibay For Sale Threads
I have lots of PC stuff for sale on Mercari! Get a $10 sign up credit with invite code VBGQMM.
User avatar
Ozzuneoj
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1232
Joined: 2016-3-16 @ 21:33

Re: Help to Identify Aztech ISA Sound Card

Postby dionb » 2018-6-29 @ 21:06

I used to have one of these and certainly don't remember any wavetable on it. But a Google image search on the MMSN843 shows some pretty diverse layouts, including some that have a chip on the edge of the board with some RAM next to it - which looks suspiciously wave-like.

Here's one layout:
Image
Obscured chips, but nothing immediately wave-like.

And another:
Image
Can't read any numbers on that Macronix chip, but if it's not doing wave, why the RAM chip next to it?
User avatar
dionb
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1284
Joined: 2017-12-23 @ 15:35
Location: Amsterdam

Re: Help to Identify Aztech ISA Sound Card

Postby Ozzuneoj » 2018-6-30 @ 02:06

That's exactly what I have on mine. Its a 32Kbyte RAM chip and a 128Kbyte ROM. Not really enough for wavetable I don't think.
Time Machine = FIC PA-2013 2.1 - K6-2 500 - 256MB PC-100 - TNT2 Pro 16MB AGP - Labway Yamaha YMF719-E - Midiman MM401
Amibay For Sale Threads
I have lots of PC stuff for sale on Mercari! Get a $10 sign up credit with invite code VBGQMM.
User avatar
Ozzuneoj
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1232
Joined: 2016-3-16 @ 21:33

Re: Help to Identify Aztech ISA Sound Card

Postby Tiido » 2018-6-30 @ 05:39

That RAM and ROM are for the DSP that deals with modem stuff.
User avatar
Tiido
Member
 
Posts: 454
Joined: 2018-1-14 @ 04:40
Location: Estonia

Previous

Return to Sound

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests