Sound Blaster Issue - works but no sound

Discussion about old sound cards, MIDI devices and sound related accessories.

Sound Blaster Issue - works but no sound

Postby fluxrez » 2017-10-27 @ 17:49

I have a 486 Unisys computer. I grabbed a Sound Blaster 16 on ebay (CT4170). I installed the creative labs PnP manager. I installed the sound blaster drivers. Everything seems to work perfectly. No errors. Games detect the everything fine and tell me everything is good, but no sound is coming out of the speakers. I took the audio cable out of the sound card and plugged it into my phone to make sure the wires and speaker setup were fine. The mixer software didnt show anything muted. There are no volume controls that I could find. No weird jumpers.

Does anyone have any ideas? Not sure what else to try. It might just be a bad card.
fluxrez
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2017-10-27 @ 17:42

Re: Sound Blaster Issue - works but no sound

Postby Jo22 » 2017-10-27 @ 18:21

Hi, is the audio missing for both FM and samples (sound effects) ?
AdLib (FM) is sometimes not enabled by that PnP utility.
"Time, it seems, doesn't flow. For some it's fast, for some it's slow.
In what to one race is no time at all, another race can rise and fall..." - The Minstrel

//My video channel//
User avatar
Jo22
l33t
 
Posts: 2910
Joined: 2009-12-13 @ 07:06
Location: Europe

Re: Sound Blaster Issue - works but no sound

Postby fluxrez » 2017-10-27 @ 18:43

Yes, I setup several games with sound blaster settings for FX and music. Nothing came out of the speakers. There is a slight pop when Is hut down the system.
fluxrez
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2017-10-27 @ 17:42

Re: Sound Blaster Issue - works but no sound

Postby collector » 2017-10-28 @ 16:19

Wrong forum. Ask old hardware and driver/configuration questions in Marvin. This forum is for DOS games on modern systems. viewforum.php?f=60
User avatar
collector
l33t
 
Posts: 4229
Joined: 2003-1-15 @ 10:39

Re: Sound Blaster Issue - works but no sound

Postby chinny22 » 2017-10-29 @ 10:17

the drivers should create a directory called SB16.
in here is a program called mixerset.exe that controls the volume.
You could also try the line out rather the speaker out.

Or install WIn95 as a test if you don't want to mess round with dos drivers at first.
User avatar
chinny22
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1914
Joined: 2011-8-26 @ 12:02
Location: Australian but living in the UK for now

Re: Sound Blaster Issue - works but no sound

Postby Stiletto » 2017-10-30 @ 16:39

Moved.
"I see a little silhouette-o of a man, Scaramouche, Scaramouche, will you
do the Fandango!" - Queen

Stiletto
User avatar
Stiletto
l33t
 
Posts: 4106
Joined: 2002-7-01 @ 21:57

Re: Sound Blaster Issue - works but no sound

Postby TimMer1981 » 2017-10-31 @ 01:57

Using the correct output port? How does the card look near its outputs? No funny looking stuff?
"I will take your bones, still alive and in great pain, and make them into a chair. I will call it "My Screaming Chair". Every morning I will sit in it and listen to you scream. Any questions?"
User avatar
TimMer1981
Newbie
 
Posts: 64
Joined: 2017-10-05 @ 16:09
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Sound Blaster Issue - works but no sound

Postby fluxrez » 2017-10-31 @ 04:19

Yeah ports look normal. Well labeled. I tried all the ports. I dont have a cd-rom drive on this. I am just going to be running DOS.

Mixer program looks fine. Nothing muted.

Again, games say everything is detected fine...

I did run "diagnose.exe" from the SB16 folder. It gave an error: "Failure setting Low DMA CHannel at 1"
fluxrez
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2017-10-27 @ 17:42

Re: Sound Blaster Issue - works but no sound

Postby CkRtech » 2017-10-31 @ 09:10

fluxrez wrote:I did run "diagnose.exe" from the SB16 folder. It gave an error: "Failure setting Low DMA CHannel at 1"

What does CTCM report for the sound card's resources used upon execution?
User avatar
CkRtech
Oldbie
 
Posts: 603
Joined: 2014-8-23 @ 00:54
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: Sound Blaster Issue - works but no sound

Postby fluxrez » 2017-10-31 @ 14:16

successfully configured 2 of 2 creative plug and play devices
BLASTER environment is set at: A220 I5 D1 H1 P330 T6
fluxrez
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2017-10-27 @ 17:42

Re: Sound Blaster Issue - works but no sound

Postby TimMer1981 » 2017-10-31 @ 14:59

The problem, I think, is the H1, which is the high DMA channel: it's identical to the low DMA channel, which cannot be.
"I will take your bones, still alive and in great pain, and make them into a chair. I will call it "My Screaming Chair". Every morning I will sit in it and listen to you scream. Any questions?"
User avatar
TimMer1981
Newbie
 
Posts: 64
Joined: 2017-10-05 @ 16:09
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Sound Blaster Issue - works but no sound

Postby bjwil1991 » 2017-10-31 @ 15:05

There's your issue. Check to see if there are any ports using DMA 1 (Parallel port might use that if the port is set to ECP/EPP mode) by going into the CTCU program (CTCU.EXE), go to the resources by going to the menu and click the first option, and it'll say what conflict there are.

Also, use the MSD program (Microsoft Diagnostics) to check for conflicts and which ports are using DMA 1.
C64, WheelWriter 10 Series II QuietWriter 8, Pack-Mate 28 Plus, K6-2/300, Pavilion N3350, iMac G3 & G4, Socket 370, 2x Inspiron 600m, Athlon 64, Dimension 4550 & E510, ThinkPad R40, Presario C700, ASUS X54C, Raspberry Pi B+, 2B-3B+, Custom FX-6300
User avatar
bjwil1991
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1710
Joined: 2013-8-14 @ 03:10
Location: SE Michigan, USA

Re: Sound Blaster Issue - works but no sound

Postby fluxrez » 2017-10-31 @ 15:34

Interesting. So I went into CTCU.exe. It said no conflicts. When I hit the "test" button though it tested DMA 1 and 3. instead of 1 twice. Saved out and rebooted.

It changed the BLASTER environment to: BLASTER environment is set at: A220 I5 D1 H3 P330 T6

I ran the DIAGNOSE.exe and still "Failure setting low DMA CHannel at 1"

Ran doom sound setup, ran doom, no errors, but no sound.

Plugged it into my phone again to be sure speaker setup is good.

Darn, thought we had something there

also, just so you guys feel the pain, I ordered a second cheapo card... a CT2770... it is about 1 CM too long to fit in this case. =(
fluxrez
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2017-10-27 @ 17:42

Re: Sound Blaster Issue - works but no sound

Postby TimMer1981 » 2017-10-31 @ 15:37

Check your BIOS, maybe you can reserve the DMA channel for it.
"I will take your bones, still alive and in great pain, and make them into a chair. I will call it "My Screaming Chair". Every morning I will sit in it and listen to you scream. Any questions?"
User avatar
TimMer1981
Newbie
 
Posts: 64
Joined: 2017-10-05 @ 16:09
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Sound Blaster Issue - works but no sound

Postby derSammler » 2017-10-31 @ 15:39

Try ICU (Intel Configuration Utility) instead of CTCU.
derSammler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1779
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: Sound Blaster Issue - works but no sound

Postby skitters » 2017-11-01 @ 22:19

Not being able to set a high DMA is actually normal for a ct4170.
Here's one site that mentions it.
http://www.faqs.org/docs/Linux-HOWTO/So ... tml#AEN882

I used to have one of those ct4170 cards that I used in Windows 95 and 98.
Not having high DMA didn't affect sound in Windows or DOS.
I may not have played any DOS games that required high a DMA.

In order to get sound in DOS mode, I had to put this line at the very beginning of my autoexec.bat

C:\WINDOWS\CTCM.EXE /t /b /p

Keep in mind this was on a Windows 95 computer and CTCM would be in a different folder in DOS 6.22.
But I think adding that line (pointing to wherever CTCM is located on your computer) is worth a try.

Putting this CTCM /t /b /p line at the beginning of the autoexec.bat was the suggestion of a Creative tech back around 1999 or 2000, when Creative newsgroups were still active. I don't remember the explanation of why it worked, but it made the difference between no sound at all in DOS and all sounds in DOS with my ct4170.
User avatar
skitters
Member
 
Posts: 389
Joined: 2004-11-17 @ 20:08
Location: US

Re: Sound Blaster Issue - works but no sound

Postby fluxrez » 2017-11-03 @ 04:05

skitters wrote:
C:\WINDOWS\CTCM.EXE /t /b /p


Unfortunately, that didn't help me. No changes.

I did however manage to get another sound card in there. Sound effects work fine now. But for some reason, it isn't playing music. The synthesized music test in the "diagnose" program doesnt work either.

No errors again, just no sound =/ I'll do some lurking and troubleshooting and start a new thread if it comes to that.

Thank you for all your help.
fluxrez
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2017-10-27 @ 17:42

Re: Sound Blaster Issue - works but no sound

Postby fluxrez » 2017-11-05 @ 03:18

Woo, the midi works too. Ill just play games that support general midi or mt-32 (i have both)
fluxrez
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2017-10-27 @ 17:42

Re: Sound Blaster Issue - works but no sound

Postby dr.zeissler » 2017-12-21 @ 15:54

are we talking about These small CWD models? I do not get any! soundcard working on that thing!
It has to do with the onboard-lan that I really need. It would be the best Little machine if I get Sound and Lan working on it.

Pictures: https://www.flickr.com/photos/94839221@ ... 3681646872
Problems: viewtopic.php?f=25&t=55212&start=20

Greetings
Doc
Last edited by dr.zeissler on 2017-12-21 @ 16:08, edited 1 time in total.
CPU: PII 133-333 MOBO: SNI-D981 RAM: 512- FDD: Dualfloppy 3,5"HD/5,25"HD - 3,5"HD - 5,25"DD ISA-Catweasel HDD: 2x40GB - DVD
ISA(3): Audician32-S2Dreamblaster - GusACE PCI(3): Monster3D- Intel NW AGP(1): 3dfx V3-3000
dr.zeissler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1435
Joined: 2011-9-28 @ 15:33

Re: Sound Blaster Issue - works but no sound

Postby dr.zeissler » 2017-12-21 @ 15:58

an OPL2LPT could be a working solution, the ISA Slot can then be quipped with a MPU-Interface...but then no SB-effects (speech etc.)
CPU: PII 133-333 MOBO: SNI-D981 RAM: 512- FDD: Dualfloppy 3,5"HD/5,25"HD - 3,5"HD - 5,25"DD ISA-Catweasel HDD: 2x40GB - DVD
ISA(3): Audician32-S2Dreamblaster - GusACE PCI(3): Monster3D- Intel NW AGP(1): 3dfx V3-3000
dr.zeissler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1435
Joined: 2011-9-28 @ 15:33

Next

Return to Sound

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests