Missing capacitor on Typhoon Media Sound Advanced 16

Discussion about old sound cards, MIDI devices and sound related accessories.

Missing capacitor on Typhoon Media Sound Advanced 16

Postby derSammler » 2017-10-28 @ 11:02

Just noticed that the Typhoon Media Sound Advanced 16 Multi-CD (82C924) in my collection does not output sound on the left channel when it plays FM music. On closer inspection of the FM part, I found one capacitor (C5) got lost somehow. Anyone knows which values that one should have, so I can replace it?

IMG_20171028_125402176.jpg
derSammler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1779
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: Missing capacitor on Typhoon Media Sound Advanced 16

Postby dreamblaster » 2017-10-28 @ 11:24

Hey,
I'm currenlty working on opl2 and opl3 projects ;-)
maybe I can help.

It should be the same value as C7.
And I think this will be 2.7nF (maybe you can measure C7 to be sure).
LS-215 is a clone of the yamaha DAC yac-512m -- see pinout here :
YAC512m-pinout.jpg
YAC512m pinout
YAC512m-pinout.jpg (20.8 KiB) Viewed 169 times


If I see it right on the photo, your missing cap (C5?) is connected to CH2
and C7 is connected to CH1.

The missing C5 goes to ground (at the other side).
As you can see on the datasheet of the YAC512M, this is the sample-hold capacitor Csh :
CSH.jpg
CSH


Recommended value for the yamaha chip is 2700pF = 2.7nF
So probably this is what they used as well.
If you can, measure C7 :
if this is 2.7nF, assumptions should be correct.
if C7 is not 2.7nF, and the other side is connected to ground (I cannot see on your photo), then just take the same value as C7
good luck !
Visit http://www.serdashop.com for retro sound cards, MIDI PCB's, and video converters
OPL2LPT, OPL3LPT, X2, S2, S2P, MCE2VGA, ... many projects ! Have a look, and thanks for your support !
dreamblaster
Oldbie
 
Posts: 603
Joined: 2015-1-18 @ 19:34
Location: Belgium

Re: Missing capacitor on Typhoon Media Sound Advanced 16

Postby derSammler » 2017-10-28 @ 19:24

Thanks. Have to order these; smallest ones I have are 1nF and 10nF. :(
derSammler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1779
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: Missing capacitor on Typhoon Media Sound Advanced 16

Postby derSammler » 2018-1-09 @ 20:27

Fixed the missing cap today. :)
derSammler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1779
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany


Return to Sound

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest