Sound Blaster LIVE! 5.1 Soundfont Question

Discussion about old sound cards, MIDI devices and sound related accessories.

Sound Blaster LIVE! 5.1 Soundfont Question

Postby hasnopants » 2017-11-06 @ 16:38

Maybe I am ignorant but I figured that the fact that Creative allowed me to modify the SoundFont banks on my sound blaster would allow me to modify the General MIDI output for DOS/Windows games that use General MIDI. Thus far whenever I load a sound font in the Audio HQ software I notice no change whatsoever to General MIDI output (testing with Warcraft 2 in DOS/Windows). Am I missing a crucial step? Id like to know maybe exactly what the soundfont capability of the sound blaster live 5.1 was used for and what it can/can't do. Maybe thats what I a missing.

Thanks!
User avatar
hasnopants
Newbie
 
Posts: 34
Joined: 2013-12-27 @ 09:46

Re: Sound Blaster LIVE! 5.1 Soundfont Question

Postby Stretch » 2017-11-07 @ 01:12

Windows 98 command.com cannot utilize the soundfont synth. It will use the Ensoniq based synth with only 3 official .ecw files. If you want to use soundfonts with Warcraft in Windows 98 you will have to use Dosbox.
PC1: Win98SE - Via Apollo Pro Mobo - Pentium II 233 - 256 MB - Voodoo 3 1000 - Soundblaster 32
PC2: Win98SE - ASRock 775i65G R3.0 - Celeron 2.2 GHz - 2048 MB - Geforce FX5700 - Vortex 2 - SBLive SB0100 - YMF744
Stretch
Member
 
Posts: 312
Joined: 2013-11-16 @ 00:57

Re: Sound Blaster LIVE! 5.1 Soundfont Question

Postby nebular » 2017-12-15 @ 08:13

You say that Win98 command.com can't use soundfont synth, however an older topic on here has a number of post talking about playing DOS games with changed soundfonts? Did these guys just not notice that the sound was always the same?
nebular
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2017-3-11 @ 10:12

Re: Sound Blaster LIVE! 5.1 Soundfont Question

Postby Falcosoft » 2017-12-15 @ 09:50

Under Win9x you can use either the VXD or the WDM drivers. The Vxd drivers can only use the Ensoniq based synth under Win9x's DOS sessions. But with WDM drivers SB HW midi/SF2 soundfonts should work.
User avatar
Falcosoft
Oldbie
 
Posts: 730
Joined: 2016-5-21 @ 13:46
Location: Pécs, Hungary


Return to Sound

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests