VOGONS

First post, by mil

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Hi.
(sorry for the long post)

I have been lurking around here for some time, and have been bitten (more like re-bitten) by the retro bug... thanks a lot Mau1wurf1977 😉
Recently I have been thinking about building/rebuilding the following two systems, and I could use some advice.
Mostly about the GUS and if the amount of sound cards is in any way realistic (IRQs, etc).
I do not need all of them to work at the same time, but would like to be able to switch between them without removing any cards. I will of cause add and test them one at a time over an extended period to test each before adding more cards. I will maybe try my hand at doing some recordings (I have little to no experience in this area).

IBM PS/1 486 system
Machine/Motherboard: IBM PS/1 2168 (8xISA) (can't remember the specific model)
486-DX4 100 @75Mhz
On board: Cirrus Logic 5430
RAM: 64MB (currently, will leave it unless it causes issues)
Storage: Currently a 249MB IDE drive (I also have a bunch of different CF to IDE adapters). 3.5" Floppy.
ISA: HardMPU
ISA: Sound Blaster 1.0/1.5/2.0 with CMS
ISA: Sound Blaster Pro 2
ISA: Gravis Ultrasound? (which model/version?)
ISA: Sound Blaster AWE64 (non Gold) (maybe, probably not, first to go in case of issues)
MIDI: Roland MT-32 (old) + Roland CM-32L + Roland SC-55 + Yamaha MU90R (all connected together with an MOTU MIDI express)
LPT: Disney Sound Source or OPL2LPT
Mixer: Behringer Eurorack Pro RX1602

Super Socket 7 system
Machine/Motherboard: Asus P5A (2xISA) (AOpen white/blue case)
(I got this system from vogons user brostenen with a Matrox G400 and an AWE64 (non-Gold), and I have been very happy with it)
CPU: K6-III+ 450Mhz (currently K6-II 500 Mhz, I think)
RAM: 384MB (currently 128MB)
Storage: I have a bunch of IDE drives (currently some 8.4 GB IDE drive, I think). 3.5" Floppy.
AGP: Matrox G400 Max (currently).