AWE64 Gold and MT-32 = Exc Checksum Error

Discussion about old sound cards, MIDI devices and sound related accessories.

AWE64 Gold and MT-32 = Exc Checksum Error

Postby tpowell.ca » 2017-12-26 @ 15:40

Hi guys, so I've amassed a decent collection of ISA soundcards and recently upgraded to an AWE64 Gold from various versions of an AWE32. Now I keep getting the dreaded EXC CHECKSUM ERROR when loading older games such as Wing Commander or Dune 2.
I used SoftMPU with the DELAYSYSEX option, and even tried clocking down my PC to super low speeds, to no avail.
Put an AWE32 back in, no problem. Even without a cpu slow down tsr.

My machine is an AMD K6-3+ 400.
I usually clock it down to 200MHz with L1 and L2 caches disabled.

Anyone have this problem before with specifically an AWE64?

Thanks
tpowell.ca
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2017-12-13 @ 21:57

Re: AWE64 Gold and MT-32 = Exc Checksum Error

Postby the Goat » 2017-12-27 @ 01:38

tpowell.ca wrote:Anyone have this problem before with specifically an AWE64?


I have used my MT-32 through an AWE64 Gold in my 486DX4 100Mhz without issue.
the Goat
Newbie
 
Posts: 63
Joined: 2017-7-15 @ 01:37

Re: AWE64 Gold and MT-32 = Exc Checksum Error

Postby tpowell.ca » 2017-12-27 @ 15:16

the Goat wrote:
tpowell.ca wrote:Anyone have this problem before with specifically an AWE64?


I have used my MT-32 through an AWE64 Gold in my 486DX4 100Mhz without issue.


What I don't understand is that it doesn't seem to be a speed issue since even if I slow down my CPU to an absolute crawl I still have the same problem. I even tried two different AWE64 Gold cards and both exhibited this issue.
I will concede to having only tried on an AMD K6-III with a 100MHz bus speed.
tpowell.ca
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2017-12-13 @ 21:57


Return to Sound

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests