I de-CQMed my AWE32 PnP CT3990...!

Discussion about old sound cards, MIDI devices and sound related accessories.

Re: I de-CQMed my AWE32 PnP CT3990...!

Postby Ozzuneoj » 2018-1-03 @ 13:59

Would be really cool to be able to A\B test CQM and OPL3 on the same card. Since this is the first OPL3 transplant that I've ever seen done online, I would imagine there have never been any straight A\B tests like this before either since no cards have BOTH. The closest would be similar cards that come in OPL3 or CQM models (I have a couple CT2940 SB16s with CQM and one with OPL3), but even then things are bound to be somewhat different.
Time Machine = FIC PA-2013 2.1 - K6-2 500 - 256MB PC-100 - TNT2 Pro 16MB AGP - Labway Yamaha YMF719-E - Midiman MM401
Amibay For Sale Threads
I have lots of PC stuff for sale on Mercari! Get a $10 sign up credit with invite code VBGQMM.
User avatar
Ozzuneoj
Oldbie
 
Posts: 988
Joined: 2016-3-16 @ 21:33

Re: I de-CQMed my AWE32 PnP CT3990...!

Postby gdjacobs » 2018-1-03 @ 14:30

Hmm, yes, a CS pin will be perfect.
User avatar
gdjacobs
l33t
 
Posts: 4891
Joined: 2015-11-03 @ 05:51
Location: The Great White North

Re: I de-CQMed my AWE32 PnP CT3990...!

Postby carlostex » 2018-1-03 @ 15:46

Great project, congratulations!!
User avatar
carlostex
l33t
 
Posts: 2009
Joined: 2010-4-03 @ 21:39
Location: Portugal

Re: I de-CQMed my AWE32 PnP CT3990...!

Postby gerwin » 2018-1-03 @ 16:31

Impressive soldering there, and good to hear that it functions as intended. I had the same idea years ago for a CT3600. But whenever I see the small legs of the OPL3-L, I feel sure they will short out with my soldering. I can solder SMD resistors a little, but this OPL3-L is another matter.
User avatar
gerwin
l33t
 
Posts: 2446
Joined: 2004-5-07 @ 19:21
Location: NL

Re: I de-CQMed my AWE32 PnP CT3990...!

Postby Eep386 » 2018-1-03 @ 18:08

Thank you all for your kind feedback! :D You guys got me interested in a dual CQM/OPL3 switched setup, it'd be perfect for FM comparisons. No more trying to get two or three Sound Blasters running together coherently!

When I get my next paycheck, my next mission would be to acquire a (non-destroyed) CT2900 or something with YMF289 or YMF262 already on it but with empty pads for a CT1978 CQM, and try adding a CQM and TDA1387 chips to the board, and wiring up a chip select switch.

Or, if I get lucky enough to snag a YMF289B-S and YAC516-S at a reasonable price, maybe add them to a CT3600 and do my switchwork on that. I'd rather add a CQM chip to be honest as the CT1978 and TDA1387 have these relatively widely pitched pins that are no problem to work with, while the YMF289B-S's tiny pins were a royal PITA to keep clean. (SRA Fast Chip is awesome stuff, but even then there's simply no replacement for a hot-air station sometimes.)
My synthesizer hierarchy: Novachord > DX-7 > YM2151 > YM3812 > CT1747/YMF262/YMF289 > CQM > PC Speaker > AudioPCI "FM" (retch)
User avatar
Eep386
Newbie
 
Posts: 47
Joined: 2012-9-14 @ 05:25
Location: Not far from Sacramento, CA

Re: I de-CQMed my AWE32 PnP CT3990...!

Postby CkRtech » 2018-1-05 @ 05:44

Awesome.

I started reading datasheets out of curiousity, but am sadly dead tired at the moment. The YMF289B typically recommends a YAC513 or YAC516, but is is possible that the data and clocks could be instead run to a CS8406 rather than the YAC516? I know you can't just mount a CS8406 on the card, but it made me wonder if you could use something like that CS8406 in order to add spdif output from the YMF289B (essentially just moving FM of the card to a digital transport for use with an external DAC).

Aside from the usual LRCK, SCLK, Data, etc., I got as far as checking on the YMF289B output (Most significant bit first) and checking CS8406 flags for input and suddenly felt tired. Ha.

(I stopped short of knowing if the CS8406 can take the MSB first) Maybe the TC9231N can do it?

You suddenly get to thinking about analog mixing, Creative Labs Noise Blaster, grabbing digital audio and bypassing internal, Creative Labs mixing...

I know... I know... scope creep.
User avatar
CkRtech
Oldbie
 
Posts: 575
Joined: 2014-8-23 @ 00:54
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: I de-CQMed my AWE32 PnP CT3990...!

Postby Eep386 » 2018-1-05 @ 06:18

Not sure if a CS8406 would work at all. I get the feeling the serial data format is a bit different somehow.
My synthesizer hierarchy: Novachord > DX-7 > YM2151 > YM3812 > CT1747/YMF262/YMF289 > CQM > PC Speaker > AudioPCI "FM" (retch)
User avatar
Eep386
Newbie
 
Posts: 47
Joined: 2012-9-14 @ 05:25
Location: Not far from Sacramento, CA

Previous

Return to Sound

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests