Roland MT-32 power supply.

Discussion about old sound cards, MIDI devices and sound related accessories.

Re: Roland MT-32 power supply.

Postby Baoran » 2018-4-02 @ 15:42

I was looking at roland PSB-230 EU at one site, but it didn't list MT-32 in the list of devices it is compatible with. Perhaps it isn't listed just because it is so old though.
Baoran
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1409
Joined: 2017-4-01 @ 08:39
Location: Finland

Re: Roland MT-32 power supply.

Postby Dominus » 2018-4-02 @ 16:36

As far as my research went, it (psb-230) is compatible.
User avatar
Dominus
DOSBox Moderator
 
Posts: 7932
Joined: 2002-10-03 @ 09:54
Location: Ludwigsburg

Re: Roland MT-32 power supply.

Postby TheMobRules » 2018-4-02 @ 17:12

If I'm not mistaken both the PSB-120 and PSB-230 accept an input range of 100-240V AC despite their name (at the very least the PSB-120 does), the only difference being the plug type.

And yes, they're compatible with the MT-32.
TheMobRules
Member
 
Posts: 447
Joined: 2016-1-19 @ 23:29

Re: Roland MT-32 power supply.

Postby Mikity » 2018-7-30 @ 10:39

Just for the sake of posterity...
Here is the official list from Roland regarding which devices should use which power supplies (US only). Most of the ones we're interested in take 9 V and 1 or 1.2 A, meaning the PSB-120 is the best choice.
Interestingly enough for the MT-32 they recommend the smaller PSA-120S, which can only supply 0.5 A.
Attachments
Roland US AC Adapter Guide.pdf
(216.6 KiB) Downloaded 20 times
User avatar
Mikity
Newbie
 
Posts: 43
Joined: 2004-2-11 @ 21:47
Location: HI

Re: Roland MT-32 power supply.

Postby Dr. D » 2019-6-02 @ 03:11

I have a need to run my MT-32 where there is no mains supply. I'm wondering if anyone has tried running it on 5V (USB)? I can't test right now, unfortunately. Thanks!
Dr. D
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2019-6-02 @ 03:07

Re: Roland MT-32 power supply.

Postby Jo22 » 2019-6-02 @ 04:28

Dr. D wrote:I have a need to run my MT-32 where there is no mains supply. I'm wondering if anyone has tried running it on 5V (USB)? I can't test right now, unfortunately. Thanks!

Uh, USB power sources aren't the most reliable ones, I'm afraid.
If the MT-32 has a 9v DC input (please double check), then why not using a a pair of 4,5v batteries instead (3LR12) ?

Running it directly off 5v, maybe requires bypassing the internal voltage regulator (which also protects the MT-32).
Personally, I would hesitate doing that, cheap USB power sources may have lots of noise/ripple etc. or can't keep the voltage fully stable.
Especially these USB rechargeable battery packs (or in new English speech "power bricks") are of variyng quality.
Some are very good, some aren't quite so good. Brands are no help either, since these devices are rebranded very often, I believe.

Anyway, maybe it is possible to use a generic 13,8v rechargeable battery with built-in solar charger ("power station" ?), not sure.
Since I haven't studied the MT-32 schematic yet, I can't recommend this. General speaking, though, a LM7805 voltage regulator can handle from ca. 7v up to ca. 35v input,
depending on other factors (heat sinks, power draw of the target device etc). Again, this is no recommendation. It's just my personal thought.
So better check the datasheets closely before trying this.
"Time, it seems, doesn't flow. For some it's fast, for some it's slow.
In what to one race is no time at all, another race can rise and fall..." - The Minstrel

//My video channel//
User avatar
Jo22
l33t
 
Posts: 3712
Joined: 2009-12-13 @ 07:06
Location: Europe

Re: Roland MT-32 power supply.

Postby Dr. D » 2019-6-02 @ 04:51

Thanks Jo22 -- schematics don't seem to help. I wonder how long 2 4.5 v would last? Or one 9V?? I need 2 hours. None of my portable power bricks have 9v outputs, only 5, but according to the scope it's pretty good quality.
Dr. D
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2019-6-02 @ 03:07

Re: Roland MT-32 power supply.

Postby Jo22 » 2019-6-02 @ 06:45

Hi, not sure how long they last, I'm sorry. :( I don't know how much Ampere (A) the MT-32 draws, either.
I have to check, but I believe an 3LR12 battery has got a capacity of 2,2Ah to ~6Ah (Ampere per hour) depending on the type (zinc, alkaline etc).
By cotrast, the average 9v battery has got 0,6Ah (expensive lithium models have got 1,2Ah or so).

Generally speaking, if you need a long battery life, you can also add lead-gel batteries to the list.
These are very stable and have a high capacity (ca. 7Ah to 15Ah). The gel types are also relatively service friendly
(they don't gas out so easily and can lay in a wrong position for a while without taking damage).
Me and my father used to use them to power CB and amateur radios (for charging, he has got a solar cell panel in the garden and a charger in the house)..
The downside is, that these batteries are very strong (extremely high short-circuit current) and can cause a house fire if shorted. ;)
"Time, it seems, doesn't flow. For some it's fast, for some it's slow.
In what to one race is no time at all, another race can rise and fall..." - The Minstrel

//My video channel//
User avatar
Jo22
l33t
 
Posts: 3712
Joined: 2009-12-13 @ 07:06
Location: Europe

Re: Roland MT-32 power supply.

Postby yawetaG » 2019-6-02 @ 08:41

Be careful using lithium batteries (especially lithium-polymer), unless you add some circuitry that cuts the circuit when the voltage gets too low. They can be damaged (leading to risks of fire or explosion and a shorter lifespan) if they are discharged too far.
yawetaG
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1417
Joined: 2016-6-14 @ 14:36
Location: Netherlands

Re: Roland MT-32 power supply.

Postby Salient » 2019-6-02 @ 09:51

Or do what I once did. :)
Working for 8+ years and counting now:

ImageOr do what I did :)
MIDI comparison website: << Wavetable.nl >>
(Always) looking for: Any Wavetable daughterboard, MIDI Module (GM/GS/XG)
User avatar
Salient
Member
 
Posts: 141
Joined: 2009-1-27 @ 19:24
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Roland MT-32 power supply.

Postby bjwil1991 » 2019-6-04 @ 00:16

That mod is pretty good. Does it charge with the cord plugged in the back, or am I incorrect on there?
Discord: https://discord.gg/U5dJw7x
Systems from C64 to FX-6300.
User avatar
bjwil1991
l33t
 
Posts: 2492
Joined: 2013-8-14 @ 03:10
Location: SE, MI USA

Re: Roland MT-32 power supply.

Postby CrossBow777 » 2019-6-04 @ 13:30

bjwil1991 wrote:That mod is pretty good. Does it charge with the cord plugged in the back, or am I incorrect on there?


Looks like his mod was to take the transformer out of the adapter and wire it inside the MT-32 connected directly to the 7805 +5 regulator. This way he can just use an infinity "8" shaped power cord to power it with and not rely on a separate adapter at all. Nice for ease of use...

But this isn't any more reliable than using the adapter was to begin with since the transformer can still burn out over time. I did try and use a DC-DC switching regulator in place of the 7805 inside mine, but it wouldn't even power on with one? So odd too because I've used these Traco DC-DC regulators in most of my classic consoles without any issues. But yeah, the MT32 refused to power on with the DC-DC switching regulator in place.
User avatar
CrossBow777
Member
 
Posts: 209
Joined: 2018-2-06 @ 03:30
Location: Ivory Tower, Fantasia - Tulsa, OK

Re: Roland MT-32 power supply.

Postby Salient » 2019-6-04 @ 15:13

Its not more, or less, reliable, but it's way more convenient indeed with just an 8-shaped power lead. :)
MIDI comparison website: << Wavetable.nl >>
(Always) looking for: Any Wavetable daughterboard, MIDI Module (GM/GS/XG)
User avatar
Salient
Member
 
Posts: 141
Joined: 2009-1-27 @ 19:24
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Roland MT-32 power supply.

Postby darry » 2019-8-11 @ 17:11

Mikity wrote:Just for the sake of posterity...
Here is the official list from Roland regarding which devices should use which power supplies (US only). Most of the ones we're interested in take 9 V and 1 or 1.2 A, meaning the PSB-120 is the best choice.
Interestingly enough for the MT-32 they recommend the smaller PSA-120S, which can only supply 0.5 A.


Is anybody actually using an MT-32 with a PSA-120S ? I was thinking of replacing my thirty+ year old ACB-120 with a modern switching PSU for safety and efficiency purposes, so I bought a PSA-120S because it is the suggested Roland/BOSS replacement, but I not sure anymore as the packaging for the PSA-120S makes a deal out its 500mA overcurrent protection cutoff and the MT-32 is, after all, rated at 650mA .

Is it worth trying to ping Roland about a thirty+ year old product ?

EDIT : Am I excessively panicky about the old ACB-120 ?
darry
Member
 
Posts: 358
Joined: 2014-1-20 @ 06:27
Location: Canada

Previous

Return to Sound

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MMaximus and 3 guests