Is SB Vibra16s good enough ?

Discussion about old sound cards, MIDI devices and sound related accessories.

Is SB Vibra16s good enough ?

Postby Intel486dx33 » 2019-1-07 @ 22:23

Is the Sound blaster Vibra 16s ISA with onboard Yamaha OPL 262 good enough for playing DOS games or do I need a Sound Blaster Pro 2.0 ?

How does it compare to the following ?

1) Vibra 16s
2) AWE 64
3 ) Sound blaster Pro 2.0
Attachments
SB Pro 20.jpg
Sound Blaster AWE 64.jpg
Sound Blaster 16s.jpg
Last edited by Intel486dx33 on 2019-1-07 @ 22:34, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Intel486dx33
Oldbie
 
Posts: 880
Joined: 2018-5-17 @ 01:17
Location: U.S.A.

Re: Is SB Vibra16s good enough ?

Postby BeginnerGuy » 2019-1-07 @ 22:32

Intel486dx33 wrote:Is the Sound blaster Vibra 16s ISA with onboard Yamaha OPL 262 good enough for playing DOS games or do I need a Sound Blaster Pro 2.0 ?

How does it compare to the following ?

1) Vibra 16s
2) AWE 64
3 ) Sound blaster Pro 2.0


Of course it's good enough for DOS games. In fact, the 16S is one of my favorite creative cards out there. Also when considering the price differences, Vibras can be had for almost nothing due to overwhelming cargo cult against them :P

1) I would say a Vibra16S is the same as a Vibra16S
2) Assuming we're talking about the Awe64s OPL3, refer to the ancient CQM vs Genuine Yamaha debate. I would go with the Awe64 for the additional midi capabilities of course, due to not being overwhelmingly concerned with clinical accuracy. If you want all sounds to be perfectly genuine, then get the 16S or Pro 2.0
3) I prefer vibra16S over the pro 2.0 (sacrilege, I know) due to having much much less line noise, and me not particularly caring for any issues with stereo. I've yet to run into any compatibility issues that have actually been noticeably annoying to me, even though I'm told regularly how much better the Pro II is.

The point of my response is to just try the card and if you like it, great. Otherwise, you'll get overwhelmed with opinions.
Sup. I like computers. Are you a computer?
User avatar
BeginnerGuy
Oldbie
 
Posts: 747
Joined: 2016-12-19 @ 08:32
Location: North Carolina, US

Re: Is SB Vibra16s good enough ?

Postby Tenorman » 2019-1-08 @ 01:58

BeginnerGuy wrote:The point of my response is to just try the card and if you like it, great.


Hear, hear!

I've messed with a lot of sound cards and I've only come across a couple that I thought were horrible enough that they weren't at least workable.

Think about what capabilities you want for the computer you are working on, pick something out that looks like it might work, and try it.

Three pet peeves:
-Sound Blaster Pro: Yawn. There are a ton of cards that do an acceptable job at SB Pro compatibility. Almost of all of them are way cheaper than a real one.
-OPL vs. ESFM vs. CQM: People act like your ears will explode if you listen to anything other than a real Yamaha chip. I've only come across a couple things that I thought were really terrible: Analog Devices and the emulation on Soundscape and GUS cards.
-Hanging Note Bug: Are you going to actually drive anything with the MPU-401 interface? A lot of beginners aren't, but still get hung up on this.

I'm done now :).
User avatar
Tenorman
Newbie
 
Posts: 55
Joined: 2017-12-24 @ 15:47

Re: Is SB Vibra16s good enough ?

Postby chinny22 » 2019-1-08 @ 13:57

Vibra 16 is as good as a SB16, does anyone really use the Bass/Treble settings on their SB16's? (as thats the only real difference)
AWE is a SB16 with the EMU chip, so really this is the better choice if you already have it. but if your games don't support the AWE as a music device it'll be no different.

Am I remembering wrong but I thought the Vibra's didn't suffer from the hanging not bug (also agree over hyped and not a problem for majority of people) but that could be +1 for the Vibra
User avatar
chinny22
l33t
 
Posts: 2065
Joined: 2011-8-26 @ 12:02
Location: Australian but living in the UK for now

Re: Is SB Vibra16s good enough ?

Postby badmojo » 2019-1-08 @ 20:20

The Vibras do suffer from the hanging note bug, both types, but yeah as mentioned if you’re not using the MPU401 then who cares? I think they’re a great option, super simple setup and sound nice.
If it's broke, then fix it!
User avatar
badmojo
l33t
 
Posts: 3012
Joined: 2011-10-11 @ 04:14
Location: Australia

Re: Is SB Vibra16s good enough ?

Postby The Serpent Rider » 2019-1-08 @ 20:24

Vibras can be had for almost nothing due to overwhelming cargo cult against them

Actually some Vibras like the one from ASUS or with FM tuner are valued somewhat high. Not AWE32/AWE64 of course.
User avatar
The Serpent Rider
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1166
Joined: 2017-3-25 @ 19:07
Location: Stagnant Demesne

Re: Is SB Vibra16s good enough ?

Postby appiah4 » 2019-1-08 @ 20:43

It's a good OPL3 card in my book.
1989:A500|+512K|ACA500+|C1084S
1992:HIPPO-VL+|DX2-66|8M|GD5428|CT2290|S2
1995:PCI597-1|P133|32M|Trio64|V1|CT3980/2M
1998:S1573S|K6-2/400|64M|RagePro|V2/SLI|CT4500/32M
2001:GA-6OXT|PIII-1200|512M|GF3Ti200|MX300
2004:K8V-D|3700+|2G|X1950P|SB0350
User avatar
appiah4
l33t
 
Posts: 2692
Joined: 2017-2-19 @ 07:36


Return to Sound

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DonutKing, reignofchaos and 3 guests