Some questions regarding roland hardware and using it on a modern system

Discussion about old sound cards, MIDI devices and sound related accessories.

Re: Some questions regarding roland hardware and using it on a modern system

Postby BloodyCactus » 2019-2-08 @ 21:14

I really dont see need for AV switch at al.

Mixer doesnt need an AV switch. But the AV switch needs a mixer.

So just user a mixer and forget the av switch, its not needed.

So what if the midi module has a volume. you set it to half and just the volume on the mixer.
--/\-[ Stu : Bloody Cactus :: http://kråketær.com :: http://mega-tokyo.com ]-/\--
User avatar
BloodyCactus
Oldbie
 
Posts: 775
Joined: 2016-2-03 @ 13:34
Location: Lexington VA

Re: Some questions regarding roland hardware and using it on a modern system

Postby Cbb » 2019-2-09 @ 08:48

it depends on what you gonna get
different solutions for different tasks
User avatar
Cbb
Newbie
 
Posts: 35
Joined: 2017-8-09 @ 13:07
Location: Saint Petersburg

Re: Some questions regarding roland hardware and using it on a modern system

Postby zarkon » 2019-2-09 @ 20:07

Interim update to this thread:

My RX1602, MT-32OLD, SC-8820 and CM-64 have all arrived, as well as all the bits and bobs to connect them. So far I have listened to DOTT on the SC-88 and Space Quest 3 (Which sounds fantastic!) on the MT-32. Just trying to clear some space for the CM-64 at the moment, then I'm going to whack in Lure of the Temptress, which I understand is great on that, and then I'll see if I can get XM6 outputting to it.

Again, thanks for all the help given to me, especially for the mixer.
zarkon
Newbie
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2019-1-26 @ 09:30

Re: Some questions regarding roland hardware and using it on a modern system

Postby davesedg » 2019-2-10 @ 04:03

Cbb wrote:av switch comes very, very handy when comparing differences in sounding of different devices or when you ”browsing” through bunch of games which use different music standards (mt32 or GM for example).
I'm using 2 switches: one for GM and one for LA standard, that's handy.


Could you tell me which AV switch you're using for this purpose? I have a mixer, but next time I set up my retro MIDI PC system(s), I'd like to experiment with the different music options in my DOS games... :-)
davesedg
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2010-3-08 @ 23:46

Re: Some questions regarding roland hardware and using it on a modern system

Postby Kaminari » 2019-2-10 @ 21:49

For your info, Gemini Wing is the only known game to use the U110-07 and U110-10 cards (which are not mandatory, as the game is also compatible with a plain CM-64 and of course a MT-32).
Core 2 Quad Q9600 3.4 GHz | Radeon R9 280X 3 GB | DDR2 8.0 GB | Win7-64 SP1
User avatar
Kaminari
Oldbie
 
Posts: 778
Joined: 2002-12-06 @ 01:54

Re: Some questions regarding roland hardware and using it on a modern system

Postby zarkon » 2019-2-10 @ 22:07

Kaminari wrote:For your info, Gemini Wing is the only known game to use the U110-07 and U110-10 cards (which are not mandatory, as the game is also compatible with a plain CM-64 and of course a MT-32).


Yup, I have the rock drums and electric guitar cards. Choujin supports them too.
zarkon
Newbie
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2019-1-26 @ 09:30

Previous

Return to Sound

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Zero_sugar and 4 guests