VOGONS


Reply 600 of 634, by matze79

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Ah sorry, quoted whole Text, i mean Sound Master should function directly with Custom DAC.
Voice Master and co also, also Rainbow Arts Soundman.

https://dosreloaded.de - The German Retro DOS PC Community
https://www.retroianer.de - under constructing since ever

Co2 - for a endless Summer

Reply 602 of 634, by FreddyV

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
genesis8bit wrote on 2020-10-25, 19:03:

I tried v22 on my PPC640, but the OPL3LPT doesn't seem to be detected.

It is normal, no software can detect an OPLLPT

Go in the Output menu to configure it.
Select the Synth "Tab", with the Tab key.

Reply 603 of 634, by genesis8bit

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I was using once again the covox 4 and it doesnt work well with modm.exe v22 : it starts ok and then a bit after slows to a crawl, comes back then usually a message computer too slow.

A file I have elysium.mod doesnt even play well right from the start, way too slowly.

Whereas modm and modml v21 are working fine. Elysium plays fine with v21 but screen output doesnt work, most part of the screen goes black (at 26/29 patterns, the screen was ok though).

Tests done as usual on my Amstrad PPC 640.

By the way I am now using a parallel ZIP drive with the driver PalmZIP by Klaus PEICHL (see https://www.genesis8bit.fr/archives/index.php?news_id=1495 for more informations) which uses less memory than the Iomega dos driver and also works with 8086 (official uses a 80816 opcode).

What would happen if I put the covox on the parallel port of the ZIP drive ? End of the universe, covox and zip drive ok, or zip/covox having a heart seizure ?

Reply 604 of 634, by FreddyV

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Hi. I changed a lot of things in the way the buffers are managed to add the Tandy DAC support.
It is possible that it broke something on covox.

Version 2.2 only add the tandy dac and opl3lpt (not tested)
Thanks for the info, I will test this.

Reply 605 of 634, by FreddyV

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Hi,

I don't see problem that can cause this in the code, What is the output frequency you use ?
Covox is really Slower, less than 16KHz for 4 channels on a PPC512

Edit: I just tested on my Amstrad PC1512 and the performance/Behaviour is the same between mod master b21 and b22, I have no problem with Covox.
(12 KHz)

Last edited by FreddyV on 2020-11-06, 06:39. Edited 1 time in total.

Reply 606 of 634, by matze79

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Covox also works fine for me.
Have no issues so far.
It plays 14Khz on Nec V20 9.54Mhz

https://dosreloaded.de - The German Retro DOS PC Community
https://www.retroianer.de - under constructing since ever

Co2 - for a endless Summer

Reply 607 of 634, by genesis8bit

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I was using the default 16k as I hadnt these problems before when the frequency was too high, the quality was affected but not the speed playing nor a message "computer too slow".

I will try at a lower frequency this week-end.

Reply 610 of 634, by matze79

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Depends on the 486 they range from 16 to 133 Mhz

https://dosreloaded.de - The German Retro DOS PC Community
https://www.retroianer.de - under constructing since ever

Co2 - for a endless Summer

Reply 612 of 634, by matze79

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

I have no trouble playing at 44Khz on 486DX2 66 😀

Freddy, could you please allow to set 64Khz ?

https://dosreloaded.de - The German Retro DOS PC Community
https://www.retroianer.de - under constructing since ever

Co2 - for a endless Summer

Reply 613 of 634, by thierry

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Question : I don't know if it will be valid, it is possible that in an XT Nec V20 installing an 8087 coprocessor it can improve the speed or it is something that has to be programmed to take advantage of the 8087?

Reply 614 of 634, by FreddyV

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
genesis8bit wrote on 2020-11-09, 22:23:

Maybe changing the default 16k of the Covox to something more suitable or adapting it to the processor being used ? With a 486 what frequency should be usable ?

I know, this was in the plan...
Mod Master test the CPU Speed at the begining, so it is not that complex to do.

Reply 615 of 634, by FreddyV

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
thierry wrote on 2020-11-16, 03:33:

Question : I don't know if it will be valid, it is possible that in an XT Nec V20 installing an 8087 coprocessor it can improve the speed or it is something that has to be programmed to take advantage of the 8087?

No, not used at all, It will be slower to use the FPU.

Reply 616 of 634, by thierry

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
FreddyV wrote on 2020-11-16, 09:28:
thierry wrote on 2020-11-16, 03:33:

Question : I don't know if it will be valid, it is possible that in an XT Nec V20 installing an 8087 coprocessor it can improve the speed or it is something that has to be programmed to take advantage of the 8087?

No, not used at all, It will be slower to use the FPU.

Ok, it's good to know, because I'm testing with a NEC V20 12mhz large modules and it works perfect (17khz) SBPRO 2.0, another question, is it possible that with a key I deactivate all the visual section? It's just because I'm testing the most demanding mods and the visual is blocked but the module continues to work

ps: everything works very well, even the VGM that I'm testing, for some reason it loads faster from the MODM than from the VGM player from DOS, thanks!

Reply 617 of 634, by FreddyV

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
thierry wrote on 2020-11-16, 12:23:

Ok, it's good to know, because I'm testing with a NEC V20 12mhz large modules and it works perfect (17khz) SBPRO 2.0, another question, is it possible that with a key I deactivate all the visual section? It's just because I'm testing the most demanding mods and the visual is blocked but the module continues to work

ps: everything works very well, even the VGM that I'm testing, for some reason it loads faster from the MODM than from the VGM player from DOS, thanks!

What kind of module do you play ? On Covox ?

Just reduce the frequency, the difference may not be big.
There is also the Max channel number to mix that you can configure in the options.

Reply 618 of 634, by FreddyV

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

To share my progress:

- Improved the Tandy DAC Output (It was stopping with the "Too Slow" Message sometimes)
- When you unselect EMS from the Option, it now still use EMS but use the DOS Memory in priority.
> Speedup the mixing on 16Bit Memory machines, with an 8Bit EMS Board.
- Tandy DAC Selected by default if detected (If no SB/GUS)
- Corrected the Pause for SB / Tandy DAC
- Gravis Ultrasound Notes precision improved. (More if Channels > 14)