Bringing CT3670 AWE32 back to life?

Discussion about old sound cards, MIDI devices and sound related accessories.

Bringing CT3670 AWE32 back to life?

Postby assasincz » 2019-4-11 @ 08:34

Hi guys,

Some time ago, I got hold of Sound Blaster AWE32 CT3670 for a small fee, and some SIMM modules for it as well (1+1MB) → I thought it would be a great addition to my 486 build.
At a glance, the card seemsed to be spotless, no visible damage that I could find, even with magnifying glass. There are neither broken or corroded traces that I can see, nor bulged or blown caps.

Needless to say the card appears to be non-funcitonal - in the 486 (Shuttle HOT-419 DZ R2 mobo), I suspected IRQ conflicts and tried when I could think of (removing and swapping components, different I/O cards and settings etc.), but CTCM does not see the card.
I tried plugging in the card into few newer MB systems (VEXTREC GMB-486SPS, and PcChips M560 rev 3) that show detected PnP cards in boot-up screen reliably, but the CT3670 does not show up in either of the systems.

So I came to terms that the card may be actually broken, but I do not want to give up on it just yet - maybe this is a common issue some of your experienced that could be easily diangosed and repaired? One thing that gives me hope is that after being plugged to a system that is turned on, some of the onboard chips grow noticeably warm to the touch (observation I made wihtout noticing any specifics, yet) - can anyone here suggest what I can try to do to bring the card to life?

I would reserve recapping and/or oven baking as last ditch effort...
assasincz
Newbie
 
Posts: 24
Joined: 2019-1-30 @ 15:05

Re: Bringing CT3670 AWE32 back to life?

Postby Cyrix200+ » 2019-4-11 @ 09:35

Did you also try it with diagnose.exe / aweutil / mixerset? Still doesn't explain the card not showing up in the PnP list though.

There is another thread with a similar problem (not the same). viewtopic.php?t=57407&p=634645
User avatar
Cyrix200+
Oldbie
 
Posts: 862
Joined: 2015-5-11 @ 15:52
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Bringing CT3670 AWE32 back to life?

Postby The Serpent Rider » 2019-4-13 @ 05:42

Corrupted EEPROM most likely. Can be reflashed to AWE64 with Dell utility. It seems to be very common problem with CT3670. The card might work under Windows XP though.
User avatar
The Serpent Rider
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1308
Joined: 2017-3-25 @ 19:07
Location: Stagnant Demesne

Re: Bringing CT3670 AWE32 back to life?

Postby assasincz » 2019-4-13 @ 09:36

The Serpent Rider wrote:Corrupted EEPROM most likely. Can be reflashed to AWE64 with Dell utility.


Following discussion in this thread https://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?f=62&t=59042 I ran that eeprom flash utility with my CT3670 plugged in the PcChips + Pentium 166 system a moment ago.
The results being that the flashing utility wrote: "No PnP card detected, operation aborted"....
I tried removing RAM chips and swapping the ISA slot for the other were the card would go without colliding with the CPU cooler, and the same.

I am tinking about trying again on a different MB, but I suspect the result will be the same...

UPDATE

So I whipped out my cheap multimeter and got cracking. I checked all traces that appear the tiniest bit susiptious (slighthly scratched, for example) and it was all good. Then I checked the capacitors and found after some fiddling that maybe 8 caps of overall 31 are dead, or poorly charging. So I desoldered them, and Im gonna get replacements on Monday.

Stay tuned, maybe that will bring the old CT3670 back to life....

UPDATE 14/04/2019 dreary evening

Ok so in preparation for the repair of my AWE32 CT3670, I got and mapped out the caps on the PCB, see picture below. Getting to buy full stock for the board tommorow and repair it through the week's evenings...
awe32 kolaz.jpg
assasincz
Newbie
 
Posts: 24
Joined: 2019-1-30 @ 15:05

Re: Bringing CT3670 AWE32 back to life?

Postby assasincz » 2019-4-15 @ 20:11

assasincz wrote:Stay tuned, maybe that will bring the old CT3670 back to life


Replacing bad capacitors did not help, thinking about what to try text ...
assasincz
Newbie
 
Posts: 24
Joined: 2019-1-30 @ 15:05

Re: Bringing CT3670 AWE32 back to life?

Postby cyclone3d » 2019-4-15 @ 20:56

Have you tried cleaning the edge connector with a pencil eraser? Could be that there is just too much oxidation or other contaminants for it to get a good connection.
User avatar
cyclone3d
l33t
 
Posts: 2739
Joined: 2015-4-08 @ 06:06
Location: Huntsville, AL USA

Re: Bringing CT3670 AWE32 back to life?

Postby assasincz » 2019-4-16 @ 08:32

cyclone3d wrote:Have you tried cleaning the edge connector


Oh yes, I cleaned them and ruled the edge connectors out as being the soruce of the issue....
assasincz
Newbie
 
Posts: 24
Joined: 2019-1-30 @ 15:05

Re: Bringing CT3670 AWE32 back to life?

Postby Ozzuneoj » 2019-4-19 @ 17:41

Make sure none of the legs on the AWE chip are bent and touching each other. If any look even slightly "off" try poking them gently to see if the leg has broken free of the solder pad. This happens fairly easily.

Also, get a high powered magnifier and check the solder joints on the back of the card. If any look like the pin has separated from the solder, it will need reflowed.

Just to check... if you retest the capacitors on the board that you checked before, do you get the expected result? If you're still get strange readings there could be another failed component on the board (or measuring them in circuit may have given some false readings in the first place).
Time Machine = FIC PA-2013 2.1 - K6-2 500 - 256MB PC-100 - TNT2 Pro 16MB AGP - Labway Yamaha YMF719-E - Midiman MM401
Amibay For Sale Threads
I have lots of PC stuff for sale on Mercari! Get $10 off your first purchase with my invite link!
User avatar
Ozzuneoj
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1458
Joined: 2016-3-16 @ 21:33


Return to Sound

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests