VOGONS

First post, by Vrrr64

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Hi everyone, I’m just getting into playing old DOS / Windows games from the Win98 era and would like Mt32/sc sound etc.

I’ve seen some great setups online - I want to configure a windows 10 tablet to run all the synth emulation and then pipe the midi music output from the headphone out of the tablet back to the T42 line in/mic in to mix with the SFX on the T42.

The question I have is how do I get the midi music out of the T42? I’ve bought the Roland um-one midi USB interface to connect to the tablet. To get midi out of the T42 I think I have a few options:

1: buy the expensive IBM dock ii with pci slot and populate with a PCI sound card with joystick DB15 port. I can then connect to the um-one using a db15 to midi cable with a midi coupler. This solution will cost the most and won’t be portable so it’s not ideal.

2: get a pcmcia joystick game port card? These are not available new and I’m not sure whether midi music will play out of the db15 port since it’s not a music pcmcia card. Windows would need to magically pipe the t42 music out through the pcmcia db-15 port?

3: get a Rockport USB to gameport adapter. Again I’m not sure this would work since there is no audio chip on the game port adaptor but I do see the word MIDI on the eBay listings for the rock port device so maybe windows 98 will automatically pipe onboard T42 music through the rock port device?

4: get another Um-one USB interface for the T42 and connect to the um-one from the tablet using a midi coupler. Not sure this would work since it’s win98 host and no drivers (unless it can use the built in win 98 drivers) but again I don’t know whether win 98 will pipe out the inbuilt T42 midi music through the um-one?